We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande? No, Casa Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach to your Saves list
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   834 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Grande? No, Casa Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

These are individually owned condos and there must be great disparity between the units, judging by previous reviews and a friend's strong recommendation to stay in a one bedroom suite with a terrace, which I tried to book but was denied on arrival because Casa Grande messed up my reservation. But they told me I was in an ocean view, so I didn't make a big deal about it, at least not until I saw the garbage they were trying to pass off for over $340/night.

For starters, my room (204) was damaged and badly in need of repair (holes in the wall, paint peeling, leaking faucets, etc.). The air conditioning unit sounded like a diesel engine. If your shower was longer than 2 minutes, you were standing in ankle deep water. The coffee table rocked like a hammock and seemed like it was ready to fall over at any minute. The silverware was simply on a paper towel in the drawer. The mattress was perhaps the worst I've slept on since college. You get the point.

Aside from the room itself, there were a few things I didn't like about the hotel in general, including: there is poor ventilation in the lobby area, which had a musty smell most of the time; the stairwell also smelled like a cross between bad food and urine; the towels ranged from sandpaper to ones that were so new they left a white cotton coat on my hands and body; a front desk staff that didn't seem to care too much about anything and blamed my incorrect reservation on the "new girl."

Yes, the location is great, but there are a bunch of nicer looking hotels along Ocean Drive, and for $1500+ for 4 ngihts, I'd rather spend the extra $$$ somewhere else (Loews?) or else be sure which room you are reserving. I doubt I could give this place a second chance.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    67
    35
    19
    38
See reviews for
50
72
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

The hotel was excellent. Great location, great staff and beautiful suites with full kitchens and some good ocean views. Its really more like a condo than a hotel room. Will stay here again next time in Sobe.

  • Liked — Staff and facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

I've just returned from a wonderful week in Miami. When I read the review complaining about the staff at the Casa Granda, I didn't recognise it. My experience of Casa Grande was of 'smiling faces' who looked out for you and your needs. This, combined with the most wonderful location and home from home feel, made for a rich experience. I'd also recommend the Pelican restaurant for an exquisite dinner, News Cafe for a people watching breakfast and a little coffee shop called Pinocchios for your beach picnic - all on the doorstep.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

We visited the Fox Cafe, the separate restaurant on the sea front, and
I noticed an entrance to the Casa Grande.

On impulse, I peeked inside and asked to be shown some rooms. I was astonished! The rooms would be good sized apartments!

We chose a smaller one, with 42" TV, full kitchen, two queen - sized four poster beds, dining table and settee. There was no view, except for a wall across an alley. Free WI-FI works great.

We invited friends round for cocktails, and they were shocked at the size of the room - they were staying at the Hotel Astor round the corner.

This is a fine hotel, with location, location, location. Just walk out the front door and all that South Beach has to offer is there.

Only drawback is a lack of pool, but you can always rent beds and umbrellas on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

Huge well equipped rooms, very reasonable, perfect location, best staff of any hotel. Ronnie and Enrique were so friendly and all the staff were of an excellent standard. I would stay here again and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The fact all hotels aren't like this
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

This was the worst hotel ever!! The hot water was VERY limited so if you are with a party of more than one, you better take a 30 second shower. The face/hand/body towels were non-existent and when we asked for more, the "staff" replied by saying they were all out and did nothing to try to find more. Isn't it great to come from the beach and have to shower with your hands... NOT!! The customer service was extremely poor. The only PRO was the space but I'd rather pay more for a true hotel experience. I will NEVER stay here again and hope this finds others before hard earned money is wasted.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — No hot water; No towels; Not great room service; Poor Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach

Address: 834 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great 2 bedroom plus a den Condo Hotel in South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.