We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Croydon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3720 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel. The beach is just across the street from the beach. The hotel had just been renovated. We booked a queen room. Wonderful beds and great looking bath. Room has a fridge but no coffeemaker. We found the room to be clean and quiet. Hotel staff was very courteous. The hotel has a great pool and rooftop sun area. Currently no restaraunt in the hotel and breakfAst can be a little hectic. Would sat again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good Afternoon Joel R,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us, and all of our guests! We are located just a block away from the beach. We are fully renovated so everything you experienced is brand new. :) It seems like you enjoyed your time spent with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    17
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked two rooms for a family of 2 teens, a baby and two adults for
Four
Nights. We took advantage of the grand opening special which included breakfast every morning, and rooms at a very interesting low price. We were well received by the entire staff at the hotel, from the valet to the bellboy to reception staff. Dolores at reception was extremely helpful and exceeded our expectations when we asked to change one of the rooms we had booked due to the fact that it was smaller than we had expected. The breakfast is light but plentiful. The hotel is newly renovated, the bar and restaurant are not yet operational, but the hotel gives us the opportunity to visit other hotels of their group for the nightly complementary happy hour. I have read certain reviews which state their disappointment and or the poor service they received and I must say that up to now, the service is excellent through out the entire hotel, the staff is helpful and Dolores is simply the best. The rooms are nice, the hotel is located one block from the beach and close to a liquor store and a convenient store. The breakfast is perfect for those who like it light and simple and yet satisfying and there was no fightclub at breakfast and refills were done regularly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent visit to Hotel Croydon and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from Dolores. Dolores is indeed a rock star and but one of many who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To start off with the hotel is ok. We have never been to Miami Beach so we relied heavily on Trip Advisor reviews to help us pick our hotel. We were blown away by all of the amazing reviews that Hotel Croydon was getting, so we went to their website to book a room. They were offering grand opening (1/2 price) deals for the month of June, with one option being Top Floor Only Please. We saw the picture on their site and we were sold. When registering online I noted that we were arriving on a later flight so we wouldn't be checking in until late the evening of our arrival and that we desired a King bed. We got our reservation and we were all set to go.

My wife and I were very excited to get down there and when we did, things weren't quite as Awesome as the reviews made this place seem to be. As indicated by the room we booked we expected to be on the 7th floor so we could appreciate the view that they were offering, but upon check in we were offered a 5th floor room. After several minutes of discussion we were given a room on the 7th floor. On our way up to the hotel we were informed that the hotel had only opened a week or so before our arrival and that they had a soft opening for family and friends. (I suddenly understood all the amazing reviews since nearly all of them were written before the hotel had opened to the public.) We were taken to our rooms and all I can say is "What a let down." The room was ok, but absolutely nothing like the picture on their website. Our room was easily half the size of that picture. If the picture had been realistic I would have been ok with the room.

As mentioned in some of the other reviews, breakfast is a bit of a hassle. We routinely got down there around 8 am and it was a crap shoot on what you would find there.

My only other comment is about the staff, while some have said the staff was rude, I won't agree with that. I found them to be friendly, from the valet, to the doormen to the front desk staff. I believe they are up to full prices now so I doubt I'll stay there on my next trip to Miami, but it wasn't a terrible hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good Afternoon Mike H,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with a room on the 7th floor. The reviews that have been written were from guests that stayed with us, and all provided their honest opinions. We do serve a complimentary continental breakfast, and first come first served guests. We are terribly sorry that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice place to stay. Quiet and out of the way. Very helpful staff. Within walking distance of the beach. Transportation to and from airport is available. They have a sister hotel right on South beach. Has a roof top lounge. Very clean hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Susann H, you are the best! Thank you for the wonderful acknowledgements. Can’t wait to see you again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Croydon hotel the weekend of June 13th for my first time visiting florida. To be totally honest, its been the first hotel I've ever stayed in who has knowledgeable, friendly, caring staff. From the wonderful ppl at the front desk who recommended great place to eat and hang out at to the ladies from room service who would bring us fresh towel and chocolate. It was only there third week open so the had a little construction going on but not a bother. This place was definitely worth it. I cant wait for them to have full service bar and running kitchen. Coming back for sure

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello there tania r,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first visit to Florida! :) Our staff all work hard to make sure that each and every guest is having a splendid time! We are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was awesome to stay here. Good pool, good staff, great room. It was very neat and fresh. Great manager Daniel, and the front desk agents Suly and Yaritsa. Very nice hotel and I recommend this place to everyone!! Love the free breakfast and the rooftop.

Room Tip: Good spot very easy to get around and its just by the beach! Taxi costs 6 dollars from the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
What a great review, nilghon b! Thank you for the fantastic shout out! Can’t agree with you more that Daniel, Suly and Yaritsa are amazing and I am so glad you were well taken care of throughout your time with us. Hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights at Croydon. They have a long way to go to even reach for 3 star quality service. When we arrived the valet parking guy was not very welcoming when we wanted to park the car by the entrance to check in and unload the bags. He said we couldn't park the car there and he kept on asking if we should use valet or not.
Inside it took forever to check in - no room was yet available. And it was around 4 pm.
We had to wait 30 more minutes after finishing check in before the room was ready.
At check in they asked for ID of all the persons in the room. They took a copy of it and said it was just for safety reasons, in case we had lost our room key.
The rooms are very nice but the door into it is not soundproof at all. You can hear everything people say in the hallway and in the other rooms. And when the cleaners start vacuuming outside the room 7 am, there is no point trying to sleep anymore.
Breakfast can best be described as fightclub. Shortage of everything all the time. If there is bread, jam or eggs are missing. If there is jam or eggs, bread is missing. And if there is both bread and jam, plates are missing. It could take over an hour to fill your plate with an ok breakfast because of all the waiting. A lady on the table next to us said she had waited 1 hour for coffee.
The sun deck however, is a very nice place to enjoy the Miami sun.
In our bathroom there was nothing stopping the water from flooding outside the shower area. It also flooded the hallway of the room, so we had to use all our towels to stop the water.
When checking out we wanted the copy of our ID returned, but now they said it was hotel policy to file these. They also said that all hotels in the US has this policy. We had to raise our voice and demand to get it back before they talked to the manager and he said we could get it back.
The staff need, as others also has mentioned, hospitality training. Not many smiles to see.
We will never go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Happy Friday Erontravel,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! We strive on providing outstanding service to all of our guests. We just opened some weeks ago so we are working on providing an outstanding product for everyone to enjoy! We wish that you would give us another chance in the future. We will make sure that your time spent with us is an all-out success!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: 3720 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Croydon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.