We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrison Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harrison Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harrison Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small, but very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Went with a friend on a groupon packaged deal. Stayed 8 nights.

Pros:
great location.quite close to the beach (literally 5 min walk), but still hidden from both - the roads and the noisy ocean drive. Not far from clubbing part of Miami beach, all good restaurants - but a bit of a bus/taxi ride (30$) from the shopping mall. Small shops are all very very close.

Great little garden made it all! Very comfortable and felt quite private! Spent almost every night some time in the garden - just talking, chilling - there is music and always helpful staff - which is the next positive

Awesome people work at this hotel: nice, friendly, helpful at all times - always with a smile, joke, and helpful little things - starting from having everything you need - two towels per person if you ask, scissors, or just a cup of Cuban coffee! Thanks guys (and Tatiana) for everything!

Cons: no fridge in the room - but we should probably have read or inquired about it. But if you need to cool your wine - there is a bucket in the room and tons of ice downstairs all the time
So we didn't have a problem after all.

Cleaners: they do just the basics, I.e. bed and towels - they never touched the glasses or some stuff around ( empty shopping bags etc)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    60
    22
    19
See reviews for
17
91
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Prior to our cruise, my daughter & I stayed at the Harrison Hotel. I chose this place because it was within walking distance to everywhere in South Beach. When we got to the hotel, we were greeted by a pleasant, very nice looking young man very neatly dressed. He checked us in and told us that our room was on the third floor but there were no elevators. Not a problem because I don't mind using the stairs...however...we had our luggage and the stairwell was very narrow. It took us a while to navigate our luggage through those narrow stairwells but we made it!!! I wasn't real impressed with the room...it could have used a coat of paint, there were "nicks" in the wall and the light in the bathroom was not flush with the wall. Those were just a few minor things but the room was clean and the air conditioner worked well. We were able to walk around, get something to eat & there were a number of gelato places in the area. All in all, it was a great stay and I would stay there again. If you're looking for a 4 star hotels with the ammenities...this is not the place for you but if you're just simple folks with no high expectations then this will work for you. Also, the patio area is beautiful and there is even an iguana who visits frequently.

Room Tip: You might want to request a room on the 1st floor (especially if you are elderly or have luggage)!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

i was pleasantly surprised by the caliber of customer service i received during my stay at the Harrison. From the front desk to the parking staff to the ladies that serviced my room, I found everyone courteous and friendly, with a genuine interest in making my stay memorable. The room was adequate for the price range (clean, but stark with very little counter space), and I loved the bathroom with it's stand alone shower. The outdoor seating area (prior to going in to the reception desk) had comfortable seating and felt as if I was sitting in a garden. The price was good, and especially for being less that two blocks from the beach, All in all, I would definitely return, and don't forget to snap a picture of the red chandelier in the lobby, it was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

yes it is'nt a five star but we though the staff was friendly and the valet servicemen were great. we were very suprize when my friend and i came back that monday night from Key West around 1 a.m. and they told us at the front desk that the were told by the valet that we had driving down there and were still out. so we were very appreicated their concern for us since we were 2 women traveling along.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

First of all let me say I was not expecting a 5 star hotel but please take heed don't stay here! First of all when we got there they gave us keys to someone else's room ...my friends room smelled and the air didnt work in MIAMI! When we finally got to our actual room it was filthy the walls looked like they hadn't been painted in years! Dirty floors dirty bathroom and the room smelt like mildew ! All I can say Is if you're spring breakers looking for a place to shower and sleep stay here .. But if you're an adult and would like to spend some time in your room relaxing and not feel like things are crawling on you pay a few more dollars and stay somewhere nicer !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is it's position! Close to the beach, nice restaurants and bars. Also the room was spacious which can be very convenient if you plan to stay for longer.
The worst thing about the hotel is that it was dirty, dirty, dirty. Dirty everywhere, starting from the corridors, our room and bathroom. We asked a cleaning lady to clean better, no help. We spoke with the staff, no change at all. We received dirty towels for the room and for the beach. They apologized when we asked to change for the clean ones, but are we suppose to ask??? Dirty walls, floor in the bathroom, lamp (see pictures).
The staff was not very helpful (except one Turkish guy who was very nice and attentive). Usually the staff pretended to be always very busy and not willing to ask our questions. We had to ask 3 times for a help with a safe.
All in all, not worth its price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.A
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

For what it is, this hotel meets the mark. It's very affordable and offers a great location -- you can walk to the beach and all the nearby restaurants/bars very easily. It's not a luxury hotel, so it's important to know that going in. But the rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful, so if you're looking to have a nice trip on a budget in Miami, this place is a good choice. Nice and quiet, too, which is a plus compared to a lot of the Ocean Drive hotels.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison Hotel

Address: 411 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harrison Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.