We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Unique Setup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #4 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
portland, oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Unique Setup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We loved this hotel from the moment we pulled up. James at the front desk was courteous and one of the handsome young men took us to our 2 story room and walked us thru the setup. The small living room was great for hanging out. We really enjoyed the two large flat screen TVs in the LR and one in the Bedroom.

  • Liked — The unique hotel accomodations of a two story unit
  • Disliked — We had major wifi connecting issues they were unable to resolve...macbooks beware
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    330
    85
    30
    9
See reviews for
186
904
60
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman Islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Angler's Resort rightly earns the No 1 spot in Trip Advisor. My husband, 5mth old baby and I stayed there for 1 week in Sept and it exceeded our expectations. We read extensive reviews on this and the surrounding hotels and having been to South Beach a few times before, were familiar with the area and wanted to find a hotel we could frequent in the future which was of high quality and value for money as we come to South Beach every 2-3 months. This will be our 'home away from home' when in Miami.

From the exceptional service received from Marc at the Front Desk when we turned up early in the morning after a long flight (before our official check-in) and throughout our stay, to the fantastic large ground floor suite over-looking the pool (perfect for us and our baby with his stroller), to the very friendly groundspeople and housekeeping staff who you have more involvement with given the boutique nature of the Angler's compared to the large brand hotels we usually stay at, access to a great gym just down the road and last but not least the personal touch provided by one of the owners Marc; the Angler's Resort is the place to stay in South Beach.

We are a couple in our 30's who enjoy a very comfortable lifestyle and like to get out and about during the day and night but having a baby, do not want to be surrounded by constant noise and bass from the music on Ocean Drive, therefore the Angler's provides the perfect blend of comfort and the personal touch in a great location just a stone's throw away from the beach and the shopping district by day and the bars and restaurants by night.

  • Liked — Size of room and its amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights in October as part of our honeymoon (we had been to Vegas and Key West also).
We booked a room with a balcony overlooking the pool, we were given a room on the 3rd floor which was lovely, the in room check in was quick and easy.
Our room was next to a lift and also had an A/C cupboard in the hallway next to it. The noise from the lift and a/c meant we didn't sleep too well the first night so the next day we mentioned this to reception and we were moved to a duplex room with our own hot tub at no extra charge.
The pool is small but was empty most days and the loungers are very comfortable. We had breakfast in the hotel a couple of times and the food was very good.

The staff are very friendly and efficient and a special mention to Stefanie who organised our room move and booked up Prime112 and got us on the the Florida rooms guest list for my Husbands birthday.

The hotel is only 2 blocks from the ocean, a short walk, they give you a beach bag at reception with water to take with you to the beach.

The rooms were cleaned well and the bed was very comfortable. The iPod dock worked well, the tv's were great and I loved the little chocolates and the weather report given to us every evening.

They gave us a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon and even gave my husband a small cake on his birthday.

Loved the hotel and would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Stayed at the Anglers for 4 nights from 25.9.08, in a King Studio. All the good reviews on the site are correct. The value for money is excellent. The rooms are spacious, good quality furnishings & Aveda comp toilettries. The staff are polite & helpful.
The only reason I have rated 4/5 is our room was on the ground floor, with no view other than someone elses room so you couldn't really sit out on the terrace & the Ipod gadget/in room entertainment system wasn't working 100% & it didn't get fixed, although they did try!
I would recommend this hotel no problem but request a room on a higher floor!

  • Liked — SIZE & QULAITY OF THE FURNISHINGS
  • Disliked — LOCATION OF ROOM
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

My wife and I have been to Miami Beach probably a dozen times over the past 6 years and stayed someplace different each time. From the dumpy places like The Clay to the high-end places like The Delano and The National. Hands down, the Angler's is the best bang for your buck.

We did stay in the middle of hurricane season when everything is a little less expensive (we paid $170 per night). But we were literally blown away when we walked into our room. It spanned two floors with a spiral staircase. The place is setup to host a great party. A huge wall-mounted flat screen TV, a customizable sound system in a wall cabinet, a wet bar, and a full bath on the first floor. The second floor is the bedroom with its own full batch, another wall mounted flat screen TV, a small balcony and tons of space.

Front desk was very friendly and helpful. The wireless internet access did not have a strong enough signal to reach our room. The front desk gave me a super long cable and I was able to patch my laptop in using a hard-wired port in our room.

Some reviewers have complained the pool is too small but I think it was perfect. It's rare to even find a pool in the SoBe hotels, rarer still to find a nice one. So while it is small it was great just to cool off and swim around a bit.

As for location, it is a bit far south in South Beach but still easily walkable to many of the shops, restaurants, clubs, etc.

  • Liked — Room, pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

When we arrived we were so impressed with our room. We had booked a studio suite with a balcony and were led to a wonderful duplex room which was beautifully styled and decorated. No balcony and next door to the pool room but we were really pleased with it.

We had a couple of problems in the room which we reported to the front desk on our way out one morning. One of the speakers in the main room was hissing and also the fridge wasn't working hence the drinks weren't getting cold. On returning we found that they had disconnected the speaker which obviously stopped the hissing but left the room with only one speaker. And the fridge never did work our whole holiday and we were never contacted as to why.

We had dinner one evening at the hotel, we'd walked past on a couple of evenings and it looked lovely - and so it was. We sat outside and really enjoyed the music and atmosphere. The food was really good but the service wasn't great and at the end of the evening when we got the check we realised that they had only charged us for one bottle of wine so we pointed this out. A new check came but not one of the staff thanked us for pointing this out, I felt that I'd have been better not to tell them and go away without paying for it.

One other grudge I had was that we accepted when doing our research that the pool was going to be small but we were going to be out and about and thought we would only be sat beside for small amount of times, but we never even got this chance. The hotel allowed guests to reserve their recliners and then disappear, on one occasion I noticed that towels had been moved and personal possessions put on 2 recliners which weren't used for half a day. Now I know I should probably have gone and moved them and used the space but I don't feel comfortable doing that but do think the hotel should watch out for this especially as the pool is so small and has only approx 8 recliners.

Overall, loved the hotel style and decoration, the location was great and the valet parking was brilliant. Service and staff weren't great though.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

We did a lot of our research for a recent trip to America on Trip Advisor, and were impressed by the high rating of the Angler's Boutique which is why decided to go for it. Angler's really is a super lovely hotel, very nice staff, and I had a particularly fabulous room - it was like two rooms in one, just massive! - and the bed and linens were soooo lovely!! The swimming pool is rather on the small side, but we were prepared for that, and I don't think the hotel was particularly busy so we didn't have too many problems on that score. We loved the poolside iced lemon water - nice touch on a hot day - and the sunbeds were very comfy aswell.

There are probably only a couple of negatives, and one was the location. In retrospect I think we would have preferred something a little nearer the beach - not necessarily on Ocean Drive, but just a bit closer to the ocean itself. We felt that there was just not that much going on on Washington Avenue, altho we know this was partly due to the fact that hurricane season meant Miami was quieter than usual.

Secondly, we felt that the in-room check-in service was a bit of a long-winded process. I understand the principal behind doing it this way, it seems like it should be more convenient for guests, but it really doesn't work out like that when the check-in man has to run back to reception anyway to run your credit card through before coming back and giving you all the final paperwork etc. If there was a more efficient way of doing the in-room check-in, I'm sure it would be more of a benefit, but at the moment, I think it's a slightly annoying experience when you just want to get everything sorted and get into your room as soon as possible.

Overall, it really was a lovely hotel, the staff were very helpful and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.