We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Upgrade!
Ranked #3 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed just one night following a cruise. The hotel was charming, not a huge impersonal stop over! The staff were lovely and were pleased to help, they bought me an english t bag for my cuppa. Jessica on reception was most helpful and handled the task of on line flight registration for me and even printed out my boarding card. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed and more!
Thankyou to the entire staff for a lovelly stay.

Room Tip: we noticed pool view rooms which may suit people staying longer than an overnighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
sunqueen44
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our sanctuary ambience and our genuine and personalized service. Jessica is amazing - we are happy she took good care of you.
We hope you will be selecting us as your home away from home when visiting Miami again. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    887
    291
    76
    27
    7
See reviews for
151
796
51
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room/apartment was fabulous, very spacious and comfortable. The pool area was great, comfy sunbeds and a nice shaded seating area with sofas, tables and magazines.

We enjoyed Happy Hour, the mojitos were sooo nice. We also liked the wine tasting, free glasses of wine were given for u to try. (A very nice touch) We ordered a few plates of the tapas and each plate of food was delicious and was served very hot and fresh

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - many thanks to the staff for making our stay so special.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
warrior24Bedford
Thanks for sharing such great comments. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fun and relaxing vacation. We are glad you appreciated our hosted wine hour and enjoyed our Chef’s tapas selection.
We hope your travels will bring you back to Miami again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in April, 2014 before taking a cruise. It's location is a short walk to the beach. Wonderful boutique ambiance, the staff was accommodating and the service was excellent. Enjoyed the food and complimentary wine hour. The room was spacious, only downside - the mattress was a little soft.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Chris24464
Thanks for your excellent feedback. We are glad you enjoyed everything about your stay, from our comfy and spacious rooms to our evening wine hour. We are looking forward to having you back as our guests soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Overall, a good experience. Room was a good size, but didn't have a desk even though there was plenty of space. Shower head pointed in wrong direction on narrow side. Check-in was a bit hectic, likely a symptom of being under-staffed. On check-out car was not ready as scheduled and had to wait another 15 min while they tracked it down. Ironing out these minor issues would make this a better place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Jim G
Thanks for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and ensure your concerns being addressed. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013. The hotel is centrally located in Miami Beach. It’s only a 5 minutes walkt o Ocean Drive and you can easily reach all the Art Deco sights by foot, so this was fine.

But…..! Upon arrival, nobody found our booking: neither the guy responsible for the valet parking („sorry, what was your name again?“) , nor the front desk staff („sorry, what and when did you book?“). We were told that the hotel’s management changed some months before and that this might be the reason for our „lost“ booking….By the way: 2 days before arrival the hotel sent an email to remind us to our booking, so they seemed to have had it to 2 days before.

Finally, after a long search for a room (maybe almost half an hour after our arrival) by the reception staff we were given a room in the main building, they said the room to be a Studio King Suite like we booked in advance. The room had a balcony door (but no balcony) and a spacious bathroom. All in all, the room was really nice, but not like indicated on the hotel’s website and confirmed on our booking confirmation, as there was no ‚Living area with full sized sofa‘ and the room was definitely smaller than 455 sq.ft, maybe 320 sq.ft at the maximum. When we told the reception, they said that we are right, but that they are not responsible for the mistakes on their website…..:-).....funny! They offered two other rooms to us –no difference, so we stayed in the first one. We got the valet parking and a bottle of wine for free as a compensation for the missing room amenities which we found to be fine.
Some oft the male service staff was too importunate, asking us when leaving for the evening where we plan to go, in the morning if we had been to any party and so on etc….and it was definitely not just the professional way of asking like for a small talk for guest convenience.
Upon departure, our bill was incorrect as they wanted to charge a higher room price than we were confirmed on our booking confirmation. Again a lot of discussion with the front desk, having to tell them again and again (we already did when arriving) that we already paid a deposit, that our guaranteed room price was different to what they wanted to charge us and so on. How lucky we were to have our printed booking confirmation and our credit card invoice with us to proof the room price we were confirmed and the deposit we already paid! Lot of time again until we could pay the correct amount, and an additional at least 20 minutes afterwards just standing there and waiting until the valet parking managed to bring our car.

After all: the website still indicates the same mistakes, so do not expect to get all that is promised and maybe confirmed when booking. Would we return? Maybe. But we would also check for another possibility to stay.

Room Tip: Do not rely on the website's room description concerning the rooms' size and amenenties
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
TravelSiMa
Thanks for taking the time and sharing such detailed feedback from your stay. We are truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival and departure. Please accept our sincerest apologies once again for not being able to retrieve your booking information and for the incorrect invoice. We completely understand your frustartion but we are glad we were able to rectify the issues and that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We hope you will be giving us another chance and returning to our hotel in the future.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here back in March and have just got round to writing this review. We were traveling for my 50th Birthday and I have to say, The Anglers was the best! They pulled out al the stops to make sure we had a memorable stay. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with spacious bathrooms.

For us, during Spring Break, the location was perfect. Far enough back from the beach to limit most of the noise, but close enough that you are a part of the party if that's what you are looking for.

We made use of the slightly warm and slightly small pool, but as we were the only customers most of the time, we had the pool to ourselves mostly. Wonderful breakfasts and how can you go wrong with free wine in the evening?

We will certainly be back with Kimpton Hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Emmpeez
Thanks so much for finding the time and writing this amazing review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous 50th birthdays and that our team did everything possible to create lasting memories.
We are looking forward to your next visit. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel was a typical boutique hotel, nice decor.
The location is good close enough to the beach but not on main drag.
We were disappointed after booking way ahead the previous year to found the room allocated was next to the lift,which can be heard in the bedroom as it moves, bleeping at different floors.
Some nice touches bikes available to use, water to drink by the pool.
Used the bar on two different occasions and overcharged TWICE.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to lift, you can clearly hear the lift moving and it also makes a bleep sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Alfeebaby
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel, cozy ambience and attentive service. However, I am saddened to read your comments about the bar charges. I am certain we rectified the issue already, but if not, please contact me directly and I will ensure it will be handled immediately.
We truly hope you will be selecting us again, when your travels will bring you back to Miami.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.