We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Upgrade!
Ranked #3 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The most relaxing paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is our second time at this hotel and it just keeps getting better !!!! We love this property, the restaurant and all of the staff. We only had a weekend to relax and the hotel exceeded even our high expectations. Even at capacity it's peaceful and quite, there are plenty of places to relax and enjoy the best of south beach away from the crowds but right in the middle of it all as soon as you leave the gates. We had the poolside suite and really enjoyed the warm beautiful pool, the poolside cabana and the friendly service. The restaurant is amazing as well as the bar and whether you eat inside or by the pool you have amazing views, beautiful interior design and tropical landscaping, the lighting at night and the serene atmosphere with A resort feel. We will definitely be back again and again!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Deanna L
Thanks for your wonderful comments. It makes us happy to hear that you had a restful and enjoyable vacation and were impressed by our attentive and genuine service. We are glad you enjoyed our updated restaurant and bar menu.
We hope your travels will bring you back to Florida soon and we are looking forward to your next stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty to us and Kimpton.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    902
    294
    78
    28
    7
See reviews for
156
807
51
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I had a great stay here recently. It is a relatively quiet location yet a very easy walk to the beach and to a great selection of restaurants. The staff was outstanding: very welcoming and helpful, yet in a relaxed and not intrusive way. Good breakfasts and morning papers and a nice pool area. We stayed in the most basic type room and it was still spacious with a very comfortable bed and sitting area. My only very small complaint is that the room lacked storage. It had two tiny closets, but no drawers for storage and the bathroom lacked a shelf or drawers. Larger rooms may not present this issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
rekMassachusetts
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. We are sorry the storage space was not sufficient in your guest room, however, we are happy to hear that you did enjoy the space and comfort our guest rooms provide, as well as the ambience and attentive service.
We hope you will be our guest again and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a great time in this hotel, the staff were delightful, the room was gorgeous and the pool was a delight. This hotel offers tranquility and comfort in an excellent location close to South Beach. It offers an alternative to the large, corporate hotels as it is much more personal and genuine.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed to pool villa and would recommend these - although they may not be suitable for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Sandy T
Thanks for sharing such a wonderful review from your recent visit. We are thrilled to hear that you had a relaxing vacation and enjoyed our genuine service and the sanctuary ambience our hotel offers.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at the hotel 5 days before a cruise. Arriving from cold Norway we were met with a warm welcome. The suite was nice, clean and spacious. We had dinner at the hotel twice, and the food and service was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent. We were provided with beach towels and free water. The location is great, only 5 min. walk to the beach. After our cruise, we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel, we got towels and water, so we could spend another 4 hours at the beach, before we had to return back to Norway and the cold winter. Excellent service. All the staff did their best to give us a nice stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Lynn2760
Thanks for staying at The Angler’s before your cruise. Our location is ideally, as we are only 10min away from the Port of Miami. We are happy that you enjoyed our attentive and caring service and our spacious and comfy guest rooms. We truly hope you will be our guest again, please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I absolutely LOVED this hotel! I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for my 25th birthday! The atmosphere is amazing, the decor is very nice (even nicer than the pictures), and the hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was flawless from the time we entered the door until the time we left.
I traveled with my boyfriend. Our flight arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived at 2. They held our bags and we went walking around the neighborhood. I mentioned to them once before we headed out that it was my birthday so I was looking forward to enjoying Miami. We came back to hotel about an hour later. Our room was ready so we went up to the second floor. The room was super nice!! And to my surprise they decorated the room with several balloons for my birthday. That is the type of personal touch that this staff had for the duration of my trip. If we needed anything they came right away and they were always available. Our room was serviced twice a day, once in the morning and then in the evenings around 6pm for turndown service. Our room was spacious, a king bed with a sitting area and two closets. I love good showers, and this one is definitely a good one. The best little hidden feature of the room is that is has speakers built into the ceiling!
The wine hour was great, you get the opportunity to mingle with the staff and enjoy your wine wherever you would like (the pool, cabanas, outside...) they will even send it up to your room if you don't want to go down. The cabanas have a couple of magazines there for reading pleasure as well.
Anyone who gives this hotel a bad review is out of their mind! You will not find a better quaint boutique hotel in South Beach! Thank You Angler's staff for my 25th Birthday truly one to remember! Trust me I won't be staying anywhere else when I come back to Miami!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Landerson11
Thanks for sharing such a wonderful review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear about the amazing stay you had at The Angler’s. It makes us happy that you enjoyed our little birthday surprise and all the other perks we offer. Glad you felt comfy and had an unforgettable time. We are looking forward to your next birthday celebration at our hotel or a visit in between.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two evenings with my boyfriend. We arrived fairly early to the hotel and were welcomed warmly by the young lady working at the front desk. Since we arrived so early, our room was not ready right away. We stored our luggage behind the front desk and came back around 2pm to check into the room. Our luggage had been brought up to our room by the time we returned to the hotel.

The room itself was very nice. It had a good size bathroom and a small seating area. The bed was quite comfortable. Free internet was included in the room if you were a member of the InTouch network for Kimpton hotels which was a nice perk. The hotel has a complimentary wine hour for all hotel guests that we were invited to join as well.

I was very happy with my decision to stay at this hotel until the complimentary wine hour. It started off just fine. We were offered a glass of wine as we took a seat. Someone came by a few minutes after we had taken a seat and provided us with a menu listing happy hour specials. We decided relatively quickly that we wanted to order something to eat. This is when the disappointing customer service began. Although others around us were queried for their food orders, no one came back to take our food order.

We found it difficult to catch the eye of the waitstaff and they certainly didn't come back to check on us. We eventually waved to gain the attention of a waiter and he begrudging took our food order. Everyone around us received their food orders and continued to have their wine glasses refilled. In fact, it became almost a depressing game as we watched everyone around us be offered additional refills for their wine glasses and their empty food plates were cleared away. I began to worry that they had forgotten to place our food order and we reminded someone on the wait staff that we had ordered food too. Eventually, our food order was arrived along with our check shortly afterwards even though we had not asked for our check. We did not feel welcome.

I really wanted to love this hotel. The room was quite nice and the folks at the front desk were wonderfully helpful and welcoming from the beginning. The complementary internet was a great touch. Unfortunately, after the disappointing experience in the hotel lounge, I no longer felt comfortable at this hotel. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Wandering03
Thanks you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your kind comments about your arrival experience and the comfort of your guest room. However, we are saddened to read your comments about our lounge service. We are truly sorry we did not provided you with the same attention as other guests and you felt not welcomed. We truly understand your frustration and sincerely apologize for dropping the ball.
We sincerely hope you will be giving us a second chance and returning to our hotel and restaurant as our guests.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We walked into a charming courtyard with a bubbling spa and were surprised at the 2 story bungalow that was our "room". Always enjoy the uniqueness of a Kimpton hotel i.e., yoga supplies in the closet. The downstairs living area is lovely as is the upstairs guest room with a full bath on each floor. The space is ultra clean and well designed for a tranquil retreat from the chaos of Ocean Blvd. Caution must be given if you've any difficulties with a narrow spiral staircase that leads to the bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
TOCazzie
Thanks for sharing your great comments. We are thrilled to hear that you loved our unique and spacious guest rooms and our wellness perks, such as yoga mats in each room and our Kimpton bikes, for our guests to use complimentary to explore our surroundings.
We are happy you had a wonderful time and looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.