We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Upgrade!
Ranked #3 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in January. It was mostly for business but I did get to squeeze some leisure time in between meetings. Great staff and great property. While my assistant booked my original trip I did extend my stay by a day. Jennifer with the hotel made me extending my trip very easy. She was friendly and efficient. Michelle with the spa was very informative and helpful. Carlos with the staff gave great restaurant advise. All together with a great property and great piece of real estate along with great talent and customer service...this place is definitely on my revisit list.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
masters99
Thanks for your lovely review. It makes us very happy to hear that you extended after your business meeting for some R&R. We are glad that our staff made such lasting impressions and provided an attentive and friendly service.
We are looking forward to having you back as our guest in the future.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    902
    294
    78
    27
    7
See reviews for
156
806
51
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Another quality Kimpton approach hotel. Stayed there for several days over New Years with my girlfriend who during that period became my fiance. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were completely happy starting with Champagne and strawberries in the room when we checked in. Very nice little oasis to relax, yet easy walk to the hustle of South Beach. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Roy858
WOW – what better way to start the New Year than with a proposal. We are so happy you select The Angler’s for that special moment and we are thrilled our staff took good care of you and made a lasting impression. We are hoping to be the hotel of your choice for your Wedding and looking forward to having you and you fiancé as our guests again.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed from 1/29 to 1/31 before going to Antigua. We were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the two-story king room with spa. I had only booked a studio. Our room was very clean and the spa hot. The stairs could be a problem for some due to the narrowness of the spiral staircase, just to let you know. It's a beautiful property. Loved the wine hour. Ordered $5 a plate appetizers during the wine hour and they were really good. The bar area was really cool. The pool area was inviting, though a bit small. We used the complimentary bikes on the property and rode around South Beach. Every hotel staff we came in contact with were incredibly nice and helpful. I would definitely love to stay at this property again the next time we are in South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
soccermomonvacation
Thanks for posting such a wonderful review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded accommodation, our location and hotel ambience.
We are happy that you enjoyed our complimentary perks we offer to our guests, such as our hosted evening wine hour and our fancy Kimpton bikes. We definitely would love for you to stay with us again and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here in feb 2014 while on a business trip and it was lovely! Most helpful staff ever, especially Jennifer who got me a room within one minute of me calling the hotel on my arrival in Miami. I had a bad experience with another hotel nearby and heckled out as soon as I had checked in and Jennifer helped me out straight away. boutique hotel, lovely food, service, bar and huge comfortable room with living area. Would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
pk1977
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and attentive service. Jennifer is amazing and we are happy she was able to assist you and made a lasting impression.
We truly hope you will be selecting us as your home away from home next time you are visiting Miami again. We would love to have you back as our guest.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed in Anglers for my husband's 50th birthday in January. We had a great room over two levels complete with balloons, birthday cupcake and a goldfish. Super attentive staff who were particularly helpful when my husband got a bad toothache in our last evening and we needed help. The wine hour and morning coffee are also nice touches. Excellent location as well. Thanks to everybody who made our stay a memorable one, we cant wait to get back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Raosl
Thanks for your wonderful comments and for selecting The Angler’s for your 50th birthday celebration. We are thrilled to hear that we created an amazing and fun birthday surprise for you and you had a wonderful time as our guest.
We are looking forward to you next stay with us, please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had planned a sisters' trip for January and booked two nights for the Angler's Resort. Each of my sisters had significant birthdays and don't often get away for vacation so this a present to them and was a big deal. I specifically booked a tower duplex with spa for some real R&R. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the spa was dirty, the jets did not work, and it was not warm. In addition, the walls are paper thin; you are charged $1 for the Keurig cups. This was disappointing since it was not what was expected in a Kimpton property. Guest services did try to address the spa and cleaned it the next day but by that evening it was still not warm enough to use. There was an issue with the guests in the adjoining room partying late and we had to make two requests before it was addressed. In defense of the hotel, I know they cannot always control the behavior of guests and it was eventually addressed. For over $500/night, my expectation would be that all amenities would be checked prior to guest arrival. Jessica tried to make the visit a pleasant one with fun birthday decorations for my sisters when they arrived, but that could not make up for a very disappointing experience. We were told they would "make it right" but would not be specific until we departed. That attempt was $100/night credit on our hotel bill and a complimentary breakfast on the day of departure. However, when I received the bill, the $200 was added, not credited, we were charged $33 for restaurant which we did not order and my first night's deposit was not applied. I talked to the manager and that was fixed and requested a further adjustment since I thought that would be appropriate. I was advised that they could not make another adjustment but offered a gift certificate towards our next visit which we declined. This was a lesson learned that just because it is more expensive, doesn't mean it is worth the value. As a note, my sisters and I are not the complaining types but I cannot express how disappointed I was with this property. Also, the suites with spas are on the street side not overlooking the pool as seems depicted in some photographs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
masters99
Thanks for posting such a lovely review. It makes us happy that you enjoyed our service and hotel ambience and stayed after your meeting for some R&R. Glad that Jennifer went out of her way to assist you. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Dear angler's: you are a great hotel, really...great location, fantastic service, wonderful food and nicely appointed rooms. Here's what you need to do to get a 5 star rating:
1.Stop calling yourself a resort. You are not; your pool is way to small to hang out and drink 'ritas all day.
2.CleAn or replace your upholstery: everything looks a little worn and tired in both the lobbies and rooms. Even with beautifully decorated rooms, no one wants to wonder about stained furniture. Yuck.
3. Provide room service.
4. Put a bureau in each room so we have somewhere to put our stuff.
5. You need to supply free wireless, plus better viewing options for your tv.
With just a bit more tweaking, you can get that extra star you deserve!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Avantgardener78
Thanks for sharing such detailed feedback from your recent visit and for your suggestions. We are happy to let you know that since Kimpton Hotels took over the management end of November, we are continuously working on improving our product and services. We are offering complimentary wifi to all our Kimpton In Touch guests. So please feel free to sign up and join our loyalty program next time you stay, it’s free of charge with lots of additional perks.
We are looking forward to your next visit and to a five star rating from you by then.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.