We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Upgrade Offer
Ranked #3 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Paris, France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Second Time there and definetely a place to stay while at miami beach.
Friendly staff, good location (few blocks from the beach),
Nice room well furnished
Welcome cocktail

If you want a not too overpriced hotel while staying at miami, then you should go there

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    872
    291
    72
    27
    7
See reviews for
137
762
50
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This boutique hotel has an excellent location for exploring one part of Miami Beach on foot. The personnel is very friendly and helpful, the in room check-in an unexpected pleasant surprise. The room had everything we needed with a very comfortable bed and an adjustable air conditioning system. Without traffic you can reach this hotel in 20 minutes from Miami Airport so it is also an alternative if you just want to stay for one night, as we did, until you have to catch your next flight. Many restaurants, bars and the beach can be explored without a car so you need not worry about DUI;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ok, it is not on the beach (but very close to) and the pool is not big... But do you really need a pool in Miami? And how quiet you are if your hotel is 200 meter from Ocean Drive but far from the noising crowds???
Nice and huge rooms. Spacious bathrooms and effcient shower. And above all CLEAN, CLEAN.. With service twice a day...
No rumours even at ground floor...
42" LCD TV, ipod music machine, dvd, radio..
Welcome package with late check in (ham, salami and a bottle of wine)
Highly suggested.
We will be back soon, hopefully..

Room Tip: Room 105 is quiet and with a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first visit to Miami, and we chose Angler's based on TripAdvisor ratings/reviews. It did not disappoint! Great trendy boutique hotel. The lobby and lounge area were nice and welcoming when we arrived, and there was a fun walk back through gardeny paths to our room. Rooms are nice - modern, comfortable, neat two-level design, plus we had a private hot tub! The pool area is ok- small but pretty nice. In a decent shopping/dining/etc. area of South Beach and close to the beach and a yummy Cuban restaurant. Valet parking was good- we are always a bit skeptical doing that. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, but the area looked great- combo inside & outside, and breakfast & menus looked good.

Overall a great experience & we'd return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit from Chicago and for the review!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit so thoroughly. It sounds like you had a chance to truly unwind and enjoy Miami Beach. I hope you have the chance to enjoy our 660 at The Angler's restaurant on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had one night to kill in South Florida, this was top of my list of places to stay based on my previous experience. Hotel, room, service and facilities remain first class. In keeping with the other reviews, I can only say I wish I could have stayed longer....

Room Tip: Just stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for recently being our guest from Tortola and for the rave review!

I'm sorry that you were not able to stay longer than one night. I hope that on your next visit you can stay longer and truly enjoy our boutique gem and Miami Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

There's a reason they're number one on Trip Advisor. Sadly, my boyfriend and I were only there for one night, which we lamented as we left. They could perhaps have made the stay better for me if they had showered me with diamonds, or sung me to sleep while massaging my feet, but aside from that, there's not a thing I can fault them on.

Brittan was our first point of contact at the front desk, and she personally took us up to our room. She was very sunny and friendly, in a way that seemed genuine rather than forced-for-the-job. When my boyfriend asked for a Cuban coffee recommendation, she was happy to help, and seemed to be glad to offer service. She gave us great advice on where to go, and my boyfriend was quickly sipping rocket fuel.

Our room had two balconies, overlooking the pool/courtyard area. We sat out there having a few drinks, enjoying the laid back ambience of the pool and the sunbathers around it. The pool, to be fair, is small, but so is the hotel. Also, if you're not much of a pool person (which I'm generally not) then this doesn't matter much.

The restaurant for breakfast was delicious. Again, staff seemed to be truly friendly and happy in their jobs, which can be a rarity in service in Miami!

The room itself was gorgeous. Really large, great fluffy comfortable bed, nice sitting area. I like that the rooms are modernized, but that the property still kept historic/Deco touches as well.

I loved the slightly removed location on Washington. Walk a few minutes and you're in the heart of all the madness on Ocean Drive, but when you're done with the noise and crowds, it's really nice to return to somewhere that's quiet, romantic, and feels like home.

If you're looking for a party scene, then this probably isn't the hotel for you. However, if you're looking for something romantic, something special, something calm and relaxing in a wild and crazy city, then you'd have a hard time doing better than The Angler's. Now, to plan a return visit...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hubby and I found the Angler's online and gave it a chance based on others' reviews. OMG! We were celebrating our 34th anniversary and when we arrived in our room on the bed was a heart shaped from real rose petals, there were champagne flutes on the table with champagne icing in a bucket. AWESOME! Housekeeping came twice daily and in the evening they left ice in the bucket on the wet bar and the next day's weather report on the bed. Loved the view from our cute little balcony. We've never experienced customer service like that at the Angler's. Kudos to Marc, Marven, Amber, Michael, Brittan, Stephanie and the rest of the staff. Bless him, Marc helped me to find a yarn store for my crochet habit. As well, he and Marven told us how to get to the casino for Jai Alai and the best place for salsa--Mangoes. When we couldn't get the DVD player to work, poor Marven even came to our room to fix it late in the evening. Angler's food was delicious. We ate dinner our first night and that meal set the tone for the stay. The Mojito sampler was fantastic. The adorable little pool is lighted and the lights change colors throughout the night. Angler's location is two blocks from the ocean and a short walk to everything South Beach has to offer. Although it's in the middle of everything, we weren't bothered by noise. The location is perfect--offer easy access to shopping, entertainment, sidewalk cafe's, tours and restaurants of all nationalities and descriptions. We ate Vietnamese, Columbian, Cuban, etc. Public transportation is available in front of the hotel as well. We travel a lot and generally don't back track, because there are so many places to see, but we're already talking about visiting the Angler's again. To our wonderful hosts at the Angler's Boutique Resort --please continue to do what you're doing. It's really working for ya. The Perrines

Room Tip: Other reviews suggested requesting a pool view room in the main building. We did. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.