We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location close to South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South This Winter
Ranked #5 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Location close to South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights prior to a cruise at the beginning of January. This is a charming boutique hotel located a couple of streets from the Art Deco Area of South Beach, about a five minute walk. As we had booked Friday and Saturday nights we were very glad not to be in one of the hotels right on the beach front, it must get very noisy.
We stayed in a King Studio Suite on the front of the hotel, which was extremely comfortable (lovely big bed), with everything that you could possible need, and beautifully maintained.
This hotel is quite pricey, we paid 385 pounds for the 2 nights which was room only. We did not dine at the hotel, preferring to eat in the restaurants on the beach front for breakfast and dinner. The Sunday brunch at the hotel seemed popular though, mainly with locals I would guess.
If you are looking for comfort and a little oasis away from but close to the action, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    315
    83
    28
    8
See reviews for
173
863
55
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Its hard to say but there is nothing wrong with this hotel.Very satisfied.Special thanks to Jessica at front desk and Dominick for their special attention.Don't hesitate on booking here.Staff is very well trained.Not mechanically trained but very personal at all times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for recently being our honored guest and for sharing your input!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit with us so completely. Domonique and Jessica are fantastic employees and delight in exceeding our guest expectations. They are true examples of the entire staff of genuine hospitality professionals that we have throughout this beautiful property. I'll share your compliments with them personally.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great king room in the Tower - newish with fairly sound-proof windows and cool winding staircase from living area to bedroom; very nicely appointed (but no hot water or coffee maker, towel and bed mattress was so-so ...) Location was good (don't bother with expense/hassle of a car) - quite accessible to action on Collins & Ocean Sts but quieter (EXCEPT Saturday night - BOOMING car stereo on street below from 2-3am; we should have called the front desk / cops ...). Staff was friendly and "Manager's Cocktail Hour" on Thursday evening was a nice touch. Restaurant had great tapas. On the pricey side ...

Room Tip: Stay in newer Tower building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for recently being our guest and for sharing your visit.

I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay and our cuisine. While I apologize that it was not in time for your visit, I'm happy to announce that we have just added Keurig coffee Makers and gourmet coffees/teas to all of the guest rooms based on our guests feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's kind of strange that the review options go from "average" to "very good." I think I'd rate Anglers as "good." When we pulled up it was a bit confusing. There was a bell stand but no one there. The layout of the hotel is a bit confusing initially. The restaurant is right inside the front door so when I walked in I thought I had walked in the back. The person at the front desk said that he'd send a bellman out. My three friends and I had a lot of luggage and they hotel has no luggage racks (too many steps, I guess). Anyway, we ended up grabbing some of the luggage ourselves instead of waiting for the bellman to make multiple trips to our room. Not exactly a relaxing start to our weekend. The rooms are nice but certainly NOT luxurious. We had a nice sunny room with two queen beds. The bathroom is very, very small (but nice robes). One sink with very little room to place cosmetics, etc. Plus there is very limited drawer space and a limited number of hangers in the closets. But we could live with all of that. We changed and immediately went down to the pool, which is incredibly small with NO service expect for the person who came around to hand out towels. OK, so why is this a good review? Because the wait staff at the hotel is incredibly helpful and friendly. They made great food recommendations (except for Joe's Stone Crab -- way overpriced and way touristy). We also did not eat at the hotel restaurant. We found some great restaurants where the locals go ... If you're looking for a full-service hotel, this is NOT your place, but if you're looking for something clean and reasonably priced with a friendly, helpful staff just a few blocks from the ocean, it fits the bill. One more note: do NOT go to the Elemis Spa at the Loewes Hotel. Once of the worst spa experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great little boutique hotel on south beach. It was my birthday and the staff put balloons in my room. What a great surprise! The only small item I would recommend is to put some more hanging racks inside the bathroom area. There was only one rack literally inside the bath and so when placing a towel there it got wet. It would be best to stay here when they are running a special as it was pricey, but still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a clean and comfortable boutique hotel in a relatively quiet area a few blocks from the beach. The Studio King Suite was a little smaller than expected, but had a really spacious bathroom. The staff was all very friendly, and courteous.

Although a nice place, I would not stay here again. The price (over $300 for the night, plus $32 for parking) seemed high for a small room at a hotel that lacked some important amenities, such as free parking, breakfast, or even coffee.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lovely modern and quiet hotel a few streets back from South Beach. I stayed with my partner for a summer holiday trip in one of the duplex suites. It made such a nice change to have two floors of living space. The furnishings are quality and the standard of customer service is excellent. We were escorted to our room and given a brilliant summary of the local area by the receptionist, along with a complimentary bottle of wine which was a nice touch! The pool area, whilst small, is clean and relaxing, and again...very quiet which is great for couples. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the duplex suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.