We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off
Ranked #4 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Could not ask for a better hotel in South Beach. We went to celebrate our anniversary, were upgraded to a wonderful duplex room with a nice private patio. Staff was great, rooms are well appointed and we will be returning again to stay at Anglers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    306
    80
    28
    7
See reviews for
167
834
53
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakefield, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a pleasant hotel with all the bells and whistles you expect . A boutique hotel well placed in south beach. From the road to the room first class all the way. The rooms are roomy and spotless. And every detail completed as expected. I can't find any fault . It's #1 on trip advisor for a reason . come and enjoy you will not be disappointed ....... cheers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayres, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for recently being our honored guest and for taking the time to review us!

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your visit so thoroughly! I will share your glowing compliments with all of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place was perfect for two night stay in Miami beach. Great food and drink . Check in inside the room and personal email address at the hotel was all very helpful. We would recommend to anyone looking for something outside the obvious in Miami beach

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Three nights at the Angler's in Miami Beach.
We enjoyed our stay and think it is a good choice to stay in South Miami Beach but travellers must understand what it is. It is not a deluxe property- it is a nice 4* hotel with a small footprint but some very friendly staff. My view:
Like
location - we wanted to stray close to, but not on, Ocean Drive, and the Angler's works well for that. Washington Avenue looks like a busy street but it's not that bad. The immediate surroundings are not great (but not populated by dodgy characters as some have written) but who cares - you are a 5 minute walk from the beach.
staff - very friendly if not always knowledgeable
room - we were upgraded to a pool villa so very spacious with direct access to the courtyard. Comfortable bed and nice lounge - even a terrace albeit a little shabby and with no real view. Altogether very nice in spite of the steep spiral stairs. Good free wi-fi, always a plus.
restaurant - much better when the weather improved and you could eat outside - otherwise smallish but cozy. Food (at the 660) ? OK rather than good to be honest, but good value $30 set menu.
not so great
bathrooms quite basic...more like a 3*, and toiletries poor
breakfast - better value elsewhere....OJ was great but overall not value for money
furniture - OK but a couple of items had seen better days.

So if you are looking for a small 4* hotel (not cheap but better value than some of the crazy prices charged in Miami Beach) near Ocean Drive but quiet enough so you can actually sleep and with helpful staff this is it. Very small pool but who cares right ?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a great place to stay. You really feel like you are tucked away from it all when you are at the hotel. The room was perfectly private.

Usually, I do not eat at the hotel I am staying at but the food was magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a six night stay at the Angler's. The staff are very well trained, helpful and friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and well stocked with everything we needed during our stay. My only complaint (not really a complaint but more of a comment) is that the continental breakfast was a bit dull and the fruit that was served each day was either unripe or just tasteless. Not a major fault. The hotel has a great location, close to everything in South Beach, but just far enough away to be away from the craziness when you want a decent night's sleep. The Angler's is a great place to stay if you are looking for a quality boutique hotel instead of a large mega-resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

YOU MUST STAY HERE! We spent hours trying to decide where to stay for our 3 nights in Miami and we're certain we've picked the best - it's voted number 1 on here for a reason!
We were upgraded on arrival to a Tower Duplex Suite which is bigger than our house (we live in London so I guess that's not hard!) but it's 3 storeys - the 3rd one being a private roof terrace with a view of the swimming pool which, although isn't huge, is a really tranquil setting with a few loungers and is a perfect sun trap! We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night which was really good (despite them having to deal with an event party at the same time) - the staff were attentive and the quality of the food was good (not to mention the yummy cocktails!).
The air con didn't work in our room on the first night so they offered to upgrade us again! We declined (as we couldn't be bothered to move our stuff) so they gave us complementary breakfast (which again was really good). Then, as if that wasn't enough, we came home in the evening to a bottle of champagne on ice in our room to apologise again for the AC.
The hotel is clean, well looked after, fantastic staff, comfy beds, good music playing by the pool (chillout) and great location - can't fault it!
Location is near enough to the sea, close enough to walk to the end of Ocean Drive where bars and restaurants are (like Nikki Beach and Smith & Wollensky) and close enough to walk the other way to Lincoln shops.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are facing the main road but majority are set back enough and the windows are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayres, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and your kind words!

I'm delighted that your getaway to our tropical oasis went so very well. It sounds like your visit was truly amazing and that we exceeded your high expectations. I'll pass your compliments along to all of our amazing team members.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.