We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #4 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

The hotel is located at the southern end of the South Beach historic district so you can easily walk to the beach and other attractions with ease. Our room was terrific with a large screen flat panel television, comfy king bed and beautiful bathroom and fixtures. We faced the new wing that is just a few feet from the room so we had no view. We did not mind as the room was quiet. We used the hotel as a base to explore the area and get some rest when we needed it.

Note that some rooms could be noisy and if you like a lobby scene you will be disappointed. The lobby is a restaurant and the one problem we had with the hotel was the lack of public space to sit. You need to walk through the restaurant to get to the elevator to the rooms. Not a good idea! You can feel like you are violating their space as you enter.

The staff is very obliging and they try to minimize that issue by paying a little more attention as you check in. (This is accomplished at a desk in front of the elevator.)

These were minor issues for us. We would return as the place met our needs very well.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of public space
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    330
    85
    30
    9
See reviews for
186
904
60
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed at the Angler's for two nights on the 1st and 2nd of Jan. Unfortunately the weather in Miami was not great (jackets and winter cloathes on the 2nd! - seriously!).

However the hotel was lovely. The rooms were immaculate and well kitted out with all the mod cons. It would be easier to land a lunar module than operate the TV controller, but this mattered little and was mainly my fault for not listening properly during the explanation..! We had a split level roon with a spiral staircase and our own patio. It honestly felt like your own home and you were never bothered by the staff (unless you wanted to be).

We didn't eat in the restaurant as it looked a bit cramped and we wanted to experince the 'real' Miami. We went to 'Tantra', 'China Grill' and 'Grazie' all of which were excellent!

Only slight complaint was that when we returned at 5pm after a long day our room hadn't been cleaned. However, they were there in seconds, but it did mean us having to go for a coffee whilst they tidied up.

All in all though the whole experience was great. I know what people mean about the music, but come on, it only goes on until about 1pm and Miami is the place to be at night. Don't go to bed...join in!

  • Liked — Great Room!
  • Disliked — House keeping late
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

This is a beautiful property with spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. The staff is unfailingly friendly and polite. However, if you value your sleep at all, choose another property. The restaurant downstairs plays loud dance music 'till the early hours of the morning at an unreasonable volume. The restaurant spills into the pool area and most of the rooms are located directly over the restaurant and around the pool. The management seems to be aware of the noise problem but unable to resolve it. There is no escape from the noise and there is no way to get a proper night's sleep.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week's holiday, staying at The Anglers and it was superb! From the moment we arrived the porters greeted us immediately with no faffing at reception for check-in. We were whisked straight off to our room - a duplex suite (this was an upgrade given to us by the hotel as a gift for my bday) which we were totally surprised by as it was a lovely gesture! Check - in is done in your room and is very speedy!
The room was spacious, with a huge and incredibly comfortable bed - great amenities such as widescreen TV's, surround sound (in the ceiling),lounge area, funky mini bar treats and great toiletries (c/o Aveda).
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble (we made very good use of the concierge service)!
Our only gripe would be the breakfast and the restaurant service -both we felt were disappointing. Oh and what noise, this was not a problem as we found it rather nice coming back to a buzzy hotel and once we were in our room we could barely hear the restaurant buzz! Overall we couldn't fault much and made our stay in South beach even more memoriable!

  • Liked — The incredibly comfortable bed!
  • Disliked — The breakfast in the hotel and restaurant service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

My husand and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Angler's. From the moment we stepped out of the cab, everything was nothing short of absolutely fabulous! Al immediately met us in front of the hotel, took our bags and showed us to our room, explaining everything to us in full detail. The room is adorable, the pillows are wonderful and beds were pretty comfortable. The rug in the room is a little rough on the feet but nothing worth complaining about. We had a pool view room, which is had not originally booked but requested once after booking and never had to say another word again. My biggest complaint would have to be the noise at the restaurant in the evening. My husband and I did go out while there but were home before the restaurant closed and it is LOUD! You can hear everything, from the music to people talking to dishes or pans being dropped. However, they do have earplugs available and I used them one night, which seemed to help quite a bit.

The pool is very small but we were there to hang at the beach (which is 2 blocks away, a quick 5 minute walk) so it didn't bother us. The staff was incredible. Far from intrusive but constantly asking if there is anything you need. We were treated like royalty the entire time. The owner of the restaurant even brought us each a drink while sitting on our balcony one night, on the house.

If I go back to South Beach, I would definitely stay here again, especially if it was not over a holiday. We were told things were even noisier than usual.

  • Liked — The staff!
  • Disliked — The noisy restaurant
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

We just returned from 4 days at the Angler, and it is a beautiful little hotel with amazing staff and service. Very sophisticated, trendy room decor- it reminded me of the Soho Grand in NY. The staff is wonderful- they seemed to sincerely care that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Another guest told me she mentioned that the sisal rugs were uncomfortable on her feet, and they arrived minutes later with slippers for everyone in the room. She also asked where to get nail polish remover...and yes, they got that too. Even though we did not fit the 'profile" of who would probably stay there ( a mom with three daughters- looking somewhat scruffy since all our summer stuff was in storage while renovating our house) we were treated like queens.

Unfortunately, all of the great service and decor can't make up for how noisy the hotel is at night. I read somewhere on this website that noise from the restaurant was a problem for one guest, so prior to arrival I requested a quiet room. When we arrived, our room at first seemed to be quiet- we were at the far end of the hall from the restaurant and pool. But around 10:30 at night the restaurant started turning into a big party scene- and stayed that way till 1 am or so. I complained to the night manager- and she was genuinely apologetic, and arranged to change our room the next day. Our new room was farther away, and had not been used before by guests...and for the next two nights the noise was quieter. But on our last night, a private dining party was in the room next door- and it was just ridiculously loud. We had gone to bed early to catch an early flight- and at 11 there was such a loud crash that one daughter and I both woke up scared to death. Even after the restaurant guests seemed to have left, the restaurant staff showed no respect for the fact that they are in a hotel- we heard them partying and yelling back and forth as they cleaned up- till at least 1 a.m.

A few other observations- altho the pool is small, it is very nice and serene, and the pool attendant was great. One small negative is that there is no common area/lounge when you do not want to be in the room, and the pool seems to belong to the restaurant after 5pm.

I hate to say anything negative about this beautiful little hotel- we stayed at Loews last year, and the room and staff are so much nicer at the Anglers. If you plan on going for the late night scene at South Beach, the noise would not be a problem since it quiets down about 1 or 2. But if you are not doing the club thing...and are going to relax...it may not be the right place for you. I do think the hotel is aware of the problem- so hopefully they can resolve the noise issue in the future.

  • Liked — room decor and size, staff
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

I booked the Angler's Boutique after reading the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. The room was superb - huge bed, nice sitting area, and the sound system was great (though a bit over complicated, and one of our speakers was broken). We also had a room on the corner of the building overlooking the pool, so had a massive balcony (much bigger than others on our floor - ha ha !). The staff were very helpful when asked but not too intrusive (other reviews seem to suggest that they were preempting requests, but we never found that). I was disappointed as I thought there was a complimentary continental breakfast, but we were not offered this. Earlier reviewers received one I think. The restaurant seemed nice, but was WAY overpriced - more expensive than the best restaurants in London, which we weren't willing to pay. The pool is tiny - basically just a cooling off area rather than somewhere you can have a proper splash about. Very rarely saw anyone sitting there.

The hotel was the best place I've ever stayed in - the mini bar was pretty cool and reasonably priced (about £20 for a bottle of spirits!). Location was amazing - very close to the beach, and nice and quiet. Contrary to earlier reviews we couldnt hear the music from the bar and the bed was so big and so comfortable that we had no problems sleeping.

The bathroom is great - though the shower fitting is comical - the head was too heavy for its holder, so it was a balancing act trying to keep the head held up to shower. Nice Aveda products though.

If you go to Miami and can afford it - go to the Angler's!

  • Liked — Hotel room is huge and like home
  • Disliked — Over priced restaurant and room service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.