We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of James Hotel

Save Saved
You added James Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here for only one night in order to attend a concert at The Fillmore. We were both pleased with the location, our room, the free parking, and the service. Because of some of the other reviews, we were a little concerned, but our room was much better than we expected. We could walk down the street, turn a corner, and be either at the theater or the beach. It was a relief to not be forced to drive anywhere or pay for parking! The man that checked us in was very helpful with directions and friendly, the room was quite clean, the A/C was awesome, the 2 large mirrors in the room were great, the shower was hot, the fridge and room itself were spacious, and the fact that we could quickly walk back to the hotel after the concert in less than 3 minutes was fantastic, especially in heels! One of the interesting things at this hotel is that they ask you to leave your car key with the front desk. Needless to say, I was a little confused...until the next morning. Cue very early check out, before 6:30 AM early, and it finally made sense when my car was blocked by 2 other vehicles, and the front desk concierge had to physically remove the two other cars from the lot so I could get out. Talk about great service~ In addition to that, there are lots of things within just a mile's radius. Drugstores, restaurants, pizzerias, etc. and with other families staying at the hotel and people walking around, it felt safe for two college girls. If i had to point out some minor things that bothered me, it would have to be the curtains. They never fully covered all of the windows, so I always felt like somebody could see inside our room through the gaps at some point. That and the racket outside our room from the custodian at 6:00 AM. Although, we were up at the time, so we didn't mind it much. Apart from those, it was great! Worth the money just for the location itself! Would definitely recommend and stay again :D

TL;DR-Awesome location, great service, free parking, recommend!

Room Tip: If they have space, they will offer you your choice of floor level. We chose 2nd.The elevator is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    17
    11
    30
See reviews for
18
37
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location for access to miami beach and Lincoln road shopping. Staff very friendly, parking available although haphazard, entertaining parking methods. Don't expect modern art deco rooms but beds are comfy and shower's good so perfect place to stay on a budget. If your looking for a romantic weekend away its not for you but if you need a place to park and sleep you're laughing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is not the best but then it's not trying to be, it is a comfortable hotel close to the beach and amenities. So cheap I was expecting a bug ridden place but it was good. The bad things were the bed in my room, which definitely had seen better days and also the shelf space.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the nerve of these people to charge over $100 for a night it smells badthe rooms are not clean and the people have bad attitudesthere was construction going on and when I asked to change my room they declined never will I come here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is located close to everything...the stuff was great and very friendly.. the rooms were not that clean but overall that's what you get for the price you pay for it.. if your a young group of people traveling around states looking to save a little on hotels this definitely would be a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I turned up without a booking (got stuffed around by another hotel) and the staff couldnt have been nicer or more helpful. You can see its an old hotel but was spotlessly clean. Aircon worked great as did their wifi - strong signal all the time. Only a 5min walk from the beach or Washington Ave where all the restaurants and shops are. Cheap too and I wanted a late checkout and they accommodated me, only had to pay an extra $20. Will def stay there again if i get the chance :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poza Rica, Veracruz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

If you love art and design you're gonna love it, from the lobby to every detail in the room. It also has an excellent service from everyone. They have some bikes so you can go know better the city by bike.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Hotel

Address: 1680 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — James Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.