We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James Hotel

Save Saved
You added James Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value, great location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is a good value for being on South Beach. You are very close to Lincoln Road and all the restaurants and two blocks to the ocean. It is very safe and has a very comfortable feeling when you walk in the door. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay this is it. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    23
    13
    33
See reviews for
23
42
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Looks nice from outside but it's better to stay there!! We were told at the reception that we have a full size bed, actually it was way smaller that queen size. Which wouldn't have been a problem but ... The room was terrible, I mean really terrible! Besides the dirty floor, not only in the barhroom, the bed was used!! Black long hair and stains everywhere. We asked the receptionist to send somebody to put on new linen, she was unbelieveable unfriendle, thats not her problem, the housekeeping is gone. We had to do it on our own with linen she gave us - out of the dirty clothes again!! Oh my god, lots of hotels here in Florida where we've been - wooorst experience ever - the James Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Location was good that's about it. Room service was the worst experience I ever seen in my life!! Food was horrible took an hour and a half to get the food then they forgot all our sides and condiments and tgar took another 30-40 to bring them we kept calling and they eventually sent us to voicemail which I've never seen before. The club downstairs SL was a cool place the whole staff was awesome we had some drinks at the bar and the bar tenders were all very sweet and very quick will be back there for sure! Lastly the valet was horrible took an hour to get my car and there was no one wait just us. Only reason ill go back to the James hotel would be for SL

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Beautifully eclectic, inspired by old Mexico, with the most wonderful, most accommodating management and staff you'll ever find anyplace! Centrally located to shopping, good restaurants and of course the beach. We rented bikes which is the preferred way to travel. Easy riding, no "rules" sidewalk or road, except to avoid cars, pedestrians and other people on wheels. We had a great time, and The James Hotel was a large part of it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our Florida trip in Nov 2012. Two nights we shared a room with 4 persons, the other 2 nights I stayed with just my girlfriend and they gave us the same room for less.

The rooms are not the cleanest but the service was great. Guess there are nor many places in the middle of SoBe for this price. It's good to stay there if you wanna make party. Parking was included, usually you pay at least 15 for one night in south beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I Was looking for a good price hotel close to the beach and found the James Hotel. It was a great price of under $100. It's a 5 minute walk to the ocean. Rooms where clean, staff was great and it had free parking unheard of in the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stumbled across James Hotel on a walk my first day in Miami, and was shocked to find they had vacancy, they were cheaper than where I was already staying, and that they had PARKING and LAUNDRY!! It was a no-brainer, and I ended up cancelling a reservation at a different place so I could stay at James longer! It's in the middle of everything too, and the rooms feel like little apartments, with fridge and bathroom and plenty of space!

I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Hotel

Address: 1680 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — James Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.