We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but far from the party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sherry Frontenac Hotel to your Saves list
Sherry Frontenac Hotel
6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice but far from the party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Stayed here right before New Year's. Was a pretty nice hotel, and a great value. The rooms were nice and had a good view of the beach, and the restaurant was good and not very crowded. However, we wanted to go to south beach for New Year's eve, and it was nearly impossible to get a cab - took like an hour and a half, and the concierge was no help. We couldn't walk, as it was about 50 blocks to south beach. Further, it was mainly older people staying at the hotel, so whatever was going on in the hotel bar was pretty lame. The only good thing about the hotel's clientele is that the pool was empty the other few days that we were there, which made it very relaxing.

Basically, if you don't want to go to south beach, I'd highly recommend this hotel, but if you do, I'd pay a little more and get something closer.

  • Liked — Low cost
  • Disliked — Location!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    29
    11
    16
See reviews for
8
15
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

This hotel caters to airline crewmembers. It is located about 15 minutes from the airport and I believe is the crew layover for several airlines, but it also opens its doors to crew personel when they are looking for a little R&R.
We've travelled to the hotel on a few occasions and find the location convenient and the pool area and beach area just fine. While it's not a "resort", for $99/ night, you get a clean room, clean bathroom, mini refrig, and beer for $1/ can down at the pool.
In the 60's and 70's I'm sure this hotel was a great hangout. The ambience of the hotel is really neat. It reminds me of the type of place Pan Am crews would stay back in the days when the industry was considered "professional" and following the theme of "work hard, play harder".
The hotel is has very few rooms with full views of the ocean so if you're looking for this, you'll be disappointed. The photos listed by other reviewers are pretty accurate. The televisions and channels are anything but up to date, as is the furniture, so if you're looking for up to date modern amenities, you'll be disappointed here as well, but the hotel is QUIET.

Because this is a crew layover hotel, you don't have to worry about loud obnoxious people. Most are here to get some sleep, sun, and then get on to their next trip. You can bring kids, but they really need to be quiet and respectful at this hotel. There weren't many when we were there, but they enjoyed it just the same.

The pool is very big and plenty of chairs abound. In the morning, there is a continental breakfast you can partake in (nothing more than what you would see at a Comfort Inn), and they provide papers and a big screen t.v. for crew in the lounge area.

The pool has beers you can buy from a vending machine as well as stores across the street where you can get liquor, pizza, sushi, a Walgreens and Publix.

The hotel is immediately on the beach. There aren't any chairs, so it's a matter of getting a beach mat or taking a towel with you to the ocean. It's very nice part of Miami beach. Not a lot of kids and tourists in the area.

There are several small restaurants in the area you can walk to for dinner or lunch. South Beach is a hike the other direction, so if you're planning on seeing the lights, taxi's are just around the corner from the hotel.

High season runs November - May and rooms are $125 / night. Low season are $99

  • Liked — Location and quietness
  • Disliked — It's outdated and views from room aren't good
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

This place is extremely well worn, but my rooms have always been clean and tidy. The bathrooms have been renovated, with plenty of hot water, water pressure, and decent showerheads. I have stayed in far more expensive Miami hotels that have the same musty smell caused by the very humid climate. The AC is non adjustable in the rooms I have stayed in, it's either on or off, with some strange 'trap door' controlled by a string and foam padding...it's a unique system, to say the least....The staff could not be any more friendly, and the all-crew atmosphere makes for some fun around the pool. It's great to be right on Miami Beach, too! I enjoy staying here, but it most certainly would not be everyone's cup of tea.

  • Liked — staff, beach location, crew atmosphere
  • Disliked — lack of temp control in room
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

The "Sherry" is known around the world by Airline personnel as it's THE hotel that most crews stay in while laying over in Miami. It has great amenities and a beautiful lobby. The management and employees couldn't be any nicer! Rooms are very clean and quaint. Furniture seems a bit dated, but the beds are very comfortable. Make sure you stop at the bar, as it's the best deal in Miami Beach for drink prices!
Beautiful pool tables and a great complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning.
Oh, did I mention the Beer Honor Bar by the pool? Beers are a buck, you pick your preffered and slip the dollar in the slot!!!! Wow. Thanks to the Sherry for a very pleasant stay!
Do not call unless you work in the Airline business....

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safed, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

The "Sherry" is a long-time friend to airline crews from all over the world. No civilians, just glamorous airline personnel on overnights.

It's decor is Art-Deco, dating back to the 50's. The staff is most pleasant and helpful, Most important is that you cannot book this hotel unless you are an active crew member for an airline. This makes it a most pleasant experience!

The Sherry makes everyone feel like family!!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

First of all, ***this hotel is for Airline employees and their accompanying friends and family only***. So before contacting this hotel, please keep that in mind. This was the only hotel I could book for Feb 2-4th, 2007 because it was Superbowl weekend. They do have standard rates throughout the year, so you don't have to worry about prices going up because of an event. Anyway, my friends and I had arrived at the hotel about 2 a.m., so we were ready to get out and explore Miami. When we arrived at the hotel to check in we were quickly given our room key, which was in the south building on the 9th floor. We thought it a little odd that our door had a Privacy Please sign on the door knob, but we thought it may have been left there by accident. So we used our key to walk in the door and surprise, there's someone in the bed. So we went back downstairs to the lobby and asked for a second room. We were given a room on the 10th floor in the south building, we got all the way back upstairs, and again there was a Privacy Please sign on the door. So we decided to knock. And we hear "Who is it?" from the other side of the door. So we go back downstairs and ask the front desk man if he can check to make sure no one is in the room before giving us a room. Finally, 3rd times a charm, our last room was empty. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful. It's not the best hotel, but it's definitely not the worst. We tried to go swimming on saturday, but the pool was freezing cold. The beach is beautiful though. The hotel is pretty far from South Beach, so you will have to drive a distance. But we felt it worth it seeing that every other property was either sold out or too expensive.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherry Frontenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Address: 6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherry Frontenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherry Frontenac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.