We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice crew hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sherry Frontenac Hotel to your Saves list
Sherry Frontenac Hotel
6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice crew hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Sherry is an airline crew only hotel, not accesible for the general public. The outside has an art deco feel. The pool area is nice and at the back there is a direct entrance to the beach.
The owners are renovating and updating the property little by little. Some areas, like the lobby look nice, staying inline with the tradition of the hotel. Other areas, like the breakfast room could use a make over.
The rooms are spacious and clean, maybe just not the most modern and luxurious. There is a little fridge and an in-room safe.
The staff at the reception is accomodating to help crew members with their specific needs, especially the General Manager Paul is very nice.
The best thing about the Sherry is probably the location and the availability of free parking space closeby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    29
    11
    16
See reviews for
8
15
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed @ this hotel as a Flight Attendant. The location is perfect!!! You can walk to grocery stores & place in your refrigerator(in room). You can even have a BBQ on the beach. This hotel sits right on the beach. Laundry room on the premises to wash those bathing suits. Breakfast is served from 5:00am to 11:00am- that is great extended hours for us on different time zones.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great location for the beach. That's about it. Elevator broke while I was inside of it. My key wouldn't open the gate from the beach to pool, and a rude man (not from the US) had the nerve to say... "Don't your hands work?" Disgusted. Flight was delayed and requested late check out. Nasty chubby bald old man said "we do not offer that here" lobby and rooms stink. No food except gross coffee and cereal in the morning. I'll stay again if it's free.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great 50's era hotel. Welcoming staff and a at-home feel. Pool table, internet and cool little lounge. Nothing fancy, just the way I like it. Peaceful areas to read on a rainy night. They even have a small library.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is basically an airline crew hotel & as an airline crew member I'm appalled that we still stay here. I think it's been maybe 8 years since I've been here & after my most recent visit in January I can say that I will NEVER stay here again unless forced by an unexpected layover through my job. Don't get me wrong, the staff is very nice & by the way the same in all of the years we've stayed here. The hotel simply needs a complete make-over & the housekeeping staff need to be retrained in cleaning rooms. I didn't want to touch anything knowing that it had a good 20 years of usage. The carpet looks disgusting. The bathroom wasn't cleaned very well, with visible, let's call it nose residue on the walls (disgusting patrons, there are tissues in the bathroom).
Yes the location is great but there are plenty of nice hotels in Miami Beach that are in far better shape than the Sherry. This used to be one of my favorite domestic layovers, but I will not do a MIA layover trip until my airline pulls out of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

As a crew member this is more a airlines crew hotel. Been staying here on and off for over 15 years. At first the room were old and not well kept up. Over the pass 10 years there have been trying to up the room. The carpet is still old looking and need to be clean or replace. Yes, the elevator are not the best, but for a very old hotel is has a great pool area, alot of place to get a great meal. There is access to the beach and walking area.

In the morning you can get a free breakfast....but egg and other items do cost.

Alot of airlines use this hotel for there crews...

The rooms A/C can be to cold or to hot at time....if all go on want tower you are in..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 days and they knew elevator had a problem and did not let the customers know , no signs to that effect 20 minutes inside the elevator and they did not do anything .....very old and rooms are very old it needs to be refurbished

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherry Frontenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Address: 6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherry Frontenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherry Frontenac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.