We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lukewarm hotel on a hot beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sherry Frontenac Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherry Frontenac Hotel
6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lukewarm hotel on a hot beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Dated but Decent. Construction in area has filled most of the nearby vacant lots. One updated wing; the other in need. Big pool shielded from a very nice beach by berms. Popular airline crew hotel within reasonable walking distance (or public bus) to South Beach

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
8
14
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located yes...by the beach yes....restaurants around yes....But if you are looking for a clean room you wont find that there...I saw staff cleaning a few rooms, and never saw them vacuum the carpets. In my room, the carpet was so old, it had dark stains everywhere , a few threads pulled here and there...there is no way I was going to walk barefoot on this...really really gross...this carpet must be 40 years old!!! there was hair on the floor in the bathroom and it was not mine...the bed seemed clean however...the bed is comfortable and big and looks new but thats the only thing that seemed new in the room..There are scratches everywhere on the doors and the walls..The rooms really need to be freshen up..and come on!!! change those carpets!! put tiles! you' re in florida!!!I was very careful to always keep my suitcase closed...did not want to take the chance of taking bugs home...My Tv did not work, and when I told them at check out the man at the reception desk laughed...there is a building under construction right next to the hotel...so if you plan on having a quiet morning in bed, forget it..not gonna happen...Breakfast??? dont bother!go eat across the street...

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Well located but old, old, and dated. Many layers of paint and old carpets. Probably peaked in the 50's. Otherwise, small, dank rooms. The location is the strong point, right on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Superb location some miles north of the South Beach in Miami. The Hotel offers a great pool and gym. I would say that 90% of the occupancy are airline crews.
This would be a good place to stay if you do not want to be in Art district crowd. You will find supermarket and couple of stores nearby, and the bus stop is just a block away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel doesn't claim to be cutting edge modern and still boasts it's original lobby. You can't get any closer to the beach but if it's a windy day there is a great pool. The staff are friendly and relaxed and will make every effort to make your stay enjoyable.
One great feature of this hotel is the location. It far enough from South beach to avoid the noise and partygoers but still just a short walk or cab ride to anywhere in Miami.
If you fancy chatting with a pilot or stewardess the bar is the place to be.
The restaurant serves great food and is reasonably priced but if you are looking for something a little more lively then try Normans across the road.

Room Tip: Request a beachside room after all thats why your there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Well, I was going to write a longer review, but I just lost the essay I was writing, so here goes for the short version:

Hotel *HAS* been renovated: with - as far as I could tell - new paint inside and outside and modern, triple-glazed windows. There, I believe, the renovations end. Others who have stayed there before please do correct me if I'm wrong.

The good: good value, clean, very quiet hotel, quiet rooms with solid walls (joy of joys!), fantastic location, outstanding pool and premises, accommodating staff, most rooms have some kind of ocean view and some have a truly spectacular one, very good free breakfast, which you can eat on a lovely east-facing patio overlooking the pool and beach, oh, and don't forget the $1 beer machine by the pool, a truly inspired move!

The not so good: as previous reviewers said a musty smell in the lobby (only the lobby, mind you), very dated carpets in room, shower was barely warm enough and somewhat weak (either issue is OK on its own, but the combination makes showering less than enjoyable), oh and the wifi seemed weak and slow, kind of like the shower.. ha ha. The bed clean, comfortable, but is of the older kind: with a spring mattress over a box spring so, if you're sleeping with a twitchy partner, you can expect to feel every single twitch she/he makes transmitted to you with zero signal loss...

So, if you're looking for a clean, quiet, reasonably priced hotel, with great location and views, and you don't care about the annoying little things I just mentioned, then have at it, with my blessing. Just don't take that northeast room I have my eye on for when my wife and I return, OK?

Room Tip: For now, you might like to avoid south-facing rooms on the South Tower, just until the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

I had a good time there. The hotel seemed like it was mostly for flight attendants and pilots! I went on a Friday night and it was gorgeous in Miami. The hotel bar was boring. The bartender spent most if her time watching tv. The drinks were cheap though! :-) the room was nice but the view sucked because there was construction with a huge crane outside my room! The beach was amazing! The airport is a long long way from the airport! It was a pretty good stay! Lots of restaurants and bars in walking distance :-) FYI never use Prestige shuttle company. Rude and late. 45 mins late to be exact!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherry Frontenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Address: 6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Sherry Frontenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherry Frontenac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.