We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared that this is an art museum.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of World Erotic Art Museum (WEAM)

World Erotic Art Museum (WEAM)
1205 Washington Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)
305-532-9336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 50 Attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the fascinating and captivating World Erotic Art Museum, home of the largest collection of erotic art in America. The priceless private collection dates from antiquities to contemporary times and shows all cultures, art mediums and lifestyles in a tasteful historic time line. The collection includes paintings, tapestries, sculptures and art objects, mostly one of a kind.Depicting the Art of Love and Love in Art, the collection is worldwide and wonderful, ageless and timeless. With over 20 rooms and 12,000 square feet, the WEAM has more than you can even imagine.Be sure to add this highly interesting attraction to your list of things to do on South Beach. This is your unique opportunity to view the greatest collection of erotica you will ever see, join us in a celebration of who we are!
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Be prepared that this is an art museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The museum is on the second floor with a doorway on street level next to a nighclub entrance, which does not exactly give you an art museum vibe as much as an adult bookstore vibe from the street. We weren't sure what the place wold be like as we wlaked in. It was interesting to see erotic art from various areas of the world as well as various eras. Plenty of more contemporary art, including the "best known" artwork in the collection being an iconic piece from A Clockwork Orange (I started humming "Signing in the Rain" to myself).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    41
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Be prepared to learn....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pros: the museum is bigger then meets the eye. There is a plethora of items to look at from every time period and culture you could imagine. Some unique pieces like the Kama Sutra Bed carved out of wood.
Cons: one hears the word museum and conjures up images of history and artifacts. While that is true for the majority of the items on display in the WEAM there were many that were just out of place. My friend and I both felt that certain items on display took away from the integrity of the overall space. Best example I can give you on here is imagine being in a room filled with fine carvings and artifacts dating back 100s if not thousands of years, and then intermittetendly thrown in are plastic anatomically correct figurines that look like they came out of the .25 machine at a xrated toy store. Just an odd mix. They would have been better off putting all the actual artifacts and statues/prints in one area and then having a seperate area of the museum for more modern art or interpretations.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing collection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited the World Erotic Art Museum... very entertaining, quite the collection in there! You can't take pictures beside one small room, but the exhibition itself which takes about an hour to go around (15$ fee) is really worth it, you'll see some weird, crazy and fun stuff if your into cultural things or museums in the first place. It's quite the collection in there and the gift shop when coming out is cheap and worth buying something nice! :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We really enjoyed the museum. We were amazed at the vast collection and historical pieces. Takes about an hour, would not bring children

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia Grande, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interisting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The girl who's receive me, was watching The Walking Dead and didn't look at my face and answer my questions about the place. There's some historic arts, a lot of handcrafted arts. But not so much significant. Much naked arts, but almost nothing about sex.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Erotic Art Museum (WEAM) also viewed

 

Been to World Erotic Art Museum (WEAM)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Erotic Art Museum (WEAM), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.