We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet neighborhood bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarke's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Clarke's
840 First St, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)
(305) 538-9885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Pointe
Miramar, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sweet neighborhood bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stopped in while waiting for friends to eat at the meat emporium next door (Fogo?). Didn't eat so no comment on food, but what a great little bar!

Takes me back to all the great bars in NY or Chicago. I'm jealous of all the locals who can call Clarke's their own neighborhood joint. I only wish I had a Clarke's back in 'burbville out west.

Casual, friendly, real. What else can I say? I'll be back.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    15
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Clarke's is away from the craziness of Ocean Ave. and has a great burger. Amber was our server and she did a great job taking care of us. The burgers are $12 but worth it, must have been a half pound of meat and cooked to perfection. From the outside it does not look like much but inside it has the feel of a modern Irish pub.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Casual reliable upscale pub fare in SoFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

This neighborhood jewel is the type of place that's a comfortable favorite, with very good Irish pub fare (some standards like fish 'n' chips, Shepherd's pie) plus some decidedly upscale additions. There are some big TVs at the bar for sports fans. The decor is fresher than the average pub; the wood-paneled room looks more like the casual dining at a nice country club. Clubby in fact is the feel, drawing heavily on the SoFi residents.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING BRUNCH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great food and service.
location is awesome!
Gotta try it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the perfect pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Looked for and found great tavern food and brew. Authentic and reasonable

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke's also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarke's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.