We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant, great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otentic

Otentic
538 Washington Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 531-1464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 836 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $9 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
miami beach
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I'm not a great fan of French food, but I was pleasantly surprised. The food tasted great, it was of great quality and very affordable. The restaurant is small but conveniently located on Washington Ave. What I loved about this restaurant is that, for being in SoBe it doesn't have any of the SoBe ostentatious flair. It's simply good food, at affordable prices. Unbelievable! I highly recommend it, and will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    289
    102
    21
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't book online”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked a table over a week ago for last night which was done via their website which uses Open Table. They had no knowledge of our booking and as it's a small restaurant there was no space to fit us in. Very disappointing, especially as their website contains the link to book via Open Table and there was no apology offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage AK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Never thought I'd find great French cooking at very moderate prices in South Beach. The food is all fresh and the service is very good and friendly but the place is very small, so go early for luch or dinner. Well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stumbled upon this wonderful restaurant with no reservation and all tables were full so we sat up at the bar. We had such a great foodie experience we went back again the next evening and had the full dining experience. The food is wonderful, beautifully presented and the service was exceptional and the prices were reasonable. The owner is terrific and made us very welcome and the atmosphere is intimate. They are moving to a bigger space so check the address before you go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous French and Family Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I absolutely love this place. The staff are knowledgeable and consummate professionals, welcoming everybody that comes in as though they were one of the family. Then to add icing to the cake the food is very tasty.

The place is small, but I have never had to wait for a seat. Everything I have ever had on the menu was great and very reasonably priced, especially when you consider the location in the heart of South Beach. Even the salad is amazing. Just a warning if you do order any of the salads to start with get it to share as they are huge and very filling.

They do freshly squeezed orange juices which is so moreish and the last time that I went they gave me some complimentary wine which I was obviously delighted with. I will always make this my first stop for food when I am in Miami and always recommend it to friends and strangers alike.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otentic also viewed

 

Been to Otentic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otentic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.