We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independence Day in Miami, FL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beach Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beach Place Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8601 Harding Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Comayagua Department, Honduras
2 reviews
“Independence Day in Miami, FL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is old, but it's not bad at all. Stayed in room 208 and the a/c is in desperate need of replacement. I'm assuming the a/c units in all the rooms are old as well?
The location is excellent if you want to walk to the beach. Just a short walk through a park and you are at the beach. The beach is definitely a hidden gem. It was really nice watching multiple fireworks displays from the beach in either direction.
People at the front desk of the hotel are very nice. Definitely places to eat nearby. You can walk several blocks and have food options. If you're into sushi, may I also recommend Sushi Republic!
I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    106
    57
    16
    23
See reviews for
66
73
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. The outside area was very clean. The staff were kind. As many people already stated, the hotel is very outdated. To me the surrounding hotels were very shady. I was a little apprehensive about walking around at night. The inside of the room was standard. It had a small fridge and desk. The mirrors are horrible and hard to reach. The floor was filthy. The beach was nearly a block away and there are shops and restaurants only a few blocks away from the hotel. It was worth it being so inexpensive and so excess able to Surfside beach.


Note: If you are looking for a party area, this is not it. This is more of a family friendly area. South beach is kind of far from this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Prefect for the beach. A few blocks and you're there. Hotel is normal and clean. Right price. A little old. Bus stop around the corner. Park right next to the beach. Enough parking space for free. Free Internet.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for just one night so there aren't many things to say. From what I noticed it was clean, spacious, free wifi and really close to the beach. I didn't really care that it far from south beach or there weren't any shops around near. We wanted a room for just one night and it was perfect for us.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

was happy with the hotel, the staff and the location on Harding Avenue. It was easy to find and to drive from. My room was large with a separate shower room, a kitchenette with microwave and coffee maker. The dressing area had a safe. The pool area looked nice but I didn't have the opportunity to use the pool during my visit. The wifi had good reception in the room. The hotel is quite a way north of South Beach but as I had hired a car, I didn't mind. There were a lot of shops within an easy drive at Surfside. I would return to the hotel if visiting the area again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Superb hotel for those who are traveling with friends or family, just need a place to sleep and don't wants to spend too much money. It is near the beach and close to several bus lines to places like Ocean Drive or Aventura Mall. There is no breakfast, but there is a small kitchen and near many markets and pharmacies. The pool and simple but OK. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I gave the Beach Place three stars because it is a three star motel. I got the deluxe room which was two double beds, a small kitchen counter with a sink , dorm fridge and some cabinets, and a small bathroom. There is nothing really special about this hotel except the price. It has plenty of free parking and it was reasonably priced with a beautiful beach right across the street!! No restaurant's within walking distance so you do need a car. If you wish to visit south beach, park in the 17th street garage for a dollar an hour and walk ( about a good twenty min) through south beach's historic district. Also, shopping area on Lincoln Street right next to the parking garage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Place Hotel

Address: 8601 Harding Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#96 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Place Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Party the night away on South Beach, relax at The Beach Place Hotel. We offer comfortable single-queen or double-queen nonsmoking rooms in a quiet section of Miami Beach. The Beach Place Hotel is a friendly licensed hotel, boasting a home away from home atmosphere. Ample parking, pool, walk in closets, local phone service, wireless internet, coin operated washers and dryers, iron and iron boards in each room, cable TV, handicapped rooms, 27 rooms with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Beach Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Place Miami
Hotel Beach Place
Beach Place Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.