We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in North Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Place Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Place Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8601 Harding Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in North Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I researched the Miami Beach hotels for hours, experiencing total 'value' frustration and tons of bad reviews, and then came across the Beach Place Hotel in North Beach, Miami Beach, which sits right on the border between North Beach and the adjacent town of Surfside. The Beach Place reviews were solid and the price was right. After you check out the prices in South Beach, you will quickly learn what I mean! It can be a very expensive visit!!!

While the exterior facade is not very impressive, simply a bland yellow, the location is terrific. The hotel sits across the street from a well-kept park and then the ocean. The walk to the beach is 100 yards maximum and totally safe. The beach is isolated, which is a welcome break from the huge crowds at the South Beach 'combat zone'. During our stay in the heart of Spring break, there were less than 50 bathers total from 86th to 74th St along the park. The beach was clean and the ocean blue and clear. There were more than a few topless ladies, probably there because of the relative privacy.

Our hotel room was generous in size and very clean with two great double queen beds. It had the obligatory beer refrigerator which worked great. The daily room service was fine. While the facade was bland, the pool area was very nice. The pool was modern, warm and clean. Plenty of free parking is a huge plus. The wifi was perfect. We never tried the AC as it was freezing cold at night the entire week.

Frankly, our stay for 5 days was great and we saved a ton of money. We could access South Beach in a 10 minute drive and park there in the multiple garages for $1 per hour. There were absolutely no hidden fees at the Beach Place Hotel, such as daily parking fees up to $35/day, valet tips, daily facility/pool fee per person, wifi fee, etc. It is very important to look for these hidden fees in the Miami Beach hotels. From experience they can cost you hundreds of totally unexpected, additional wasted dollars. We will definitely return to the Beach Place Hotel. It would be hard to stay elsewhere in Miami Beach. If you find a better place, let me know.

Room Tip: The interior rooms that overlook the pool are very nice, especially on the second floor,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    120
    68
    17
    23
See reviews for
77
86
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stay there for his birthday weekend, early Febuary. We live in the keys have have experienced working in hotels and resorts ourselves so we know what to expect. The place was nice, quite, clean, affortable and very close to the beach. However the website is a little misleading, the place seems run down compared to the pictures online. The staff was nice but nothing very special. The location was close to resturants, convient stores as well as shopping. The front of the hotel faces a busy street but it is not too noisy and the back is where there is extra parking its a little dark and sketchy but nothing more than that. I recommend this hotel if your planning on being out most of the time and too sleep (the beds were every comfortable). If your looking for a nice place were you would like to spend the day or so I would defenitley recommend spend the extra bucks somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went there with couple of friends to have fun. Hotel was decent. Some walls are so thin that you can actually everything happening in rooms around you. Occasionally pipes make funny noise.

However, room was big enough for 3 guys, service was ok. Nothing really to comlain about. You really get what you pay and this hotes was with good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is really a motor hotel - probably built in the 1960s but updated and well maintained. The front desk staff are all very courteous and helpful. I requested a move to a room further in the back as I'm a light sleeper and wanted to be further from the traffic noise on Harding Avenue. The front desk didn't hesitate to accommodate my request, despite the place being almost booked solid for the BCS game in early January 2013.

Although not situated right on the beach, this place is a short block and a half directly across from the North Shore State Recreation area which is adjacent to the beach. There is no-charge parking conveniently located all arond the building, so you can park relatively close to your room.

Most of the rooms face into the courtyard pool, but there is an extra bank of rooms on each of the north and south sides of the building, respectively, that face outward to either street.

Most of the rooms have a handy kitchenette area with a microwave, small fridge, sink, coffeemaker and cupboards and come stocked with plastic cutlery,cups, plates and bowls. There is also plenty of closet and drawer space.

Housekeeping is very thorough and efficient but BE CAREFUL NOT to leave anything on the floor in the kitchen when you leave in the morning unless you want housekeeping to dispose of it.

The in-room safe is a nice touch. If you need an iron, you can check one out from the front desk for a refundable $10 deposit.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay here and will likely stay again. If you like spending most of your Miami vacation at the water or sightseeing and don't need a 4 or 5 star hotel just to sleep in, this place is good value in a good location.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Don't worry if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We were on a budget and everything on the beach is pretty spendy. This place had a great rate was really well located to the beach and places to eat. The hotel is older and so are the rooms, but still very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was helpful on directing us to a good place to eat and very friendly, I would defiantly stay there again if I was to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is really well-priced, but be aware that it is not a four star hotel and not really walking distance to South Beach. Having said that, I think many of the previous reviews were unfair and this review is in light of it's great value price for Miami.

Pros: All the basics are there it is safe, clean, staff was professional, air con, swimming pool on site, free parking, close to North Miami Beach and nice parks - you can totally walk to a great beach that is not very crowded in 5 minutes if you just go due east a few blocks, which could be great for families or anyone just looking to relax. If you go north ten blocks you'll find a few shops and restaurants, a pharmacy, etc. It's very much away from the fray and noise of South Beach.

Cons: Fewer good restaurants in walking distance (George's Italian on 72nd St is amazing though, wine deals on Tuesdays, 15 min walk south - recommended!), need to drive or cab it to South Beach for going out (we took one cab late at night for 21$), a lot of the on site parking has you backing out onto a main thoroughfare right after a bend (yikes)

Tips: There are a few buses, which only set you back 2$ if you're not in a hurry. About 4 or 5 routes take you to South Beach in 30 minutes and they come every 10-15minutes during the day and every haf hour all night. There are some buses to downtown too although we didn't use them. I would also recommend paring around the side of the hotel on 86 St NOT on Harding Ave itself, as it is a bit tricky backing out into traffic with poor visibility and traffic going quite quick. I mean, it is obviously doable but I personally hate backing out onto a busy road and there's a quieter side street so why stress!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Beach Place Hotel is not the 4 Seasons, lets get that out of the way. This hotel is your basic run of the mill hotel, no frills. I don't say this to be mean or disparage the hotel, I say it because it is, what it is. I picked this hotel for the affordability, and the proximity to the beach. I didn't pick this hotel for its extra features. I needed a place to sleep, that was quiet, clean and comfortable; and this hotel hit on all marks.
I was unaware this hotel had a pool, which was a plus when I didn't feel like laying on the beach, I could chill by the pool. The hotel has free WiFi which I also didn't know about, which was another huge plus as my Sprint service sucked in that area for some reason. They also have a computer in the lobby which you can use for free.
The room was very clean, and although we didn't use the housekeeping services, I always saw them walking around cleaning the facility. I did leave a tip for Doris, our housekeeper as the room was a little messy.
The only negatives I had about my stay were the Venetian blinds in the room, and the parking. The blinds didn't cover the windows properly at the end, and I sometimes felt like people could see in at night. If you weren't parked by a certain time, parking was hard to find .
I would stay at this hotel again if I was in the area. Its not far from nightlife in South Beach, but not so close where you feel like you're in the party.

Room Tip: If you can find a good parking spot, park and walk if you have to go somewhere close. Parking is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Place Hotel

Address: 8601 Harding Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Party the night away on South Beach, relax at The Beach Place Hotel. We offer comfortable single-queen or double-queen nonsmoking rooms in a quiet section of Miami Beach. The Beach Place Hotel is a friendly licensed hotel, boasting a home away from home atmosphere. Ample parking, pool, walk in closets, local phone service, wireless internet, coin operated washers and dryers, iron and iron boards in each room, cable TV, handicapped rooms, 27 rooms with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beach Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Place Miami
Hotel Beach Place
Beach Place Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.