We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gaythering

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gaythering to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gaythering
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1409 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I NEVER would have known this place was here. Awesome customer service and such a cool and funky vibe. The bed was super comfortable and they even have the Brookstone sound machines that are amazing (over 10 options of sounds to sleep to). The place was a little noisy only because they have karaoke and movies going on, and also a bar. But so much fun- free popcorn and little tables with board games to play. You are getting a GREAT value for the money. The bathrooms could have been a lot nicer but that was my only gripe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very clean and the rooms were wonderful. But the late night noise for 3 nights both above and below my room was miserable. There is one loading parking spot and people used it for hours.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor and on the east end of the building away from the bar if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So I decided to take a mini vacation to do a little "exploring" on my own for the first time (having never been to South Beach alone before this). The hotel is right off of a bus line so getting back an forth was really easy for those who want to save a little cash. Even if you take a cab it was only like 4 or 5 bucks to most nightclubs along he beach. The location was walking distance (about 1/2 mile) from the beach but you don't noticed because you get to observe all the shops down Lincoln road on your way there. I like how it's close enough to walk to the beach but still somewhat secluded since it is a gay/straight friendly hotel and those like myself preferred a little more privacy. All of the hotel staff were excellent! This also being the first time I have openly visited a gay hotel were very accommodating and offered many suggestions as great places to party, relax during the days, and eat. The hotel room was very clean and spacious. The rates were excellent especially for the weekend. I will definitely visit this hotel each tome I visit south beach from now on!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was referred to the Gaythering by a friend and I'm extremely happy that I gave this little hotel a try.
The industrial-minimalist décor fit right in with my style. The cost for my 2 night stay was a fraction of the other SOBE accommodations. I was not expecting a huge list of amenities in this price range so I was not let down by the absence of some items that (other reviewers seem to think necessary).
The property/rooms/spa were spotless. The nightly Happy Hour (held @ the hotel's bar) was always hoppin.
Guest parking is off-site but I had no problems snagging a spot at the parking garage that Mark at the front desk directed me to (about 3 blocks away).
Being in the Hotel Industry for many years I admit it can be a little difficult for a property to meet all my expectations.
The one slight issue I did have was that due to the exterior entrances to the rooms security/walk way lights were positioned outside the rooms. Unfortunately, the wooden slat blinds that were in my room just did nothing to keep out those bright lights. (Honestly, it was a simple fix...I just signed out a beach towel from the front desk and made a makeshift blind during sleeping hours).

I think The Gaythering is doing an excellent job at an excellent rate for such a young hotel.

Any small issues that guests might encounter are bound to be corrected as this new hotel matures.
I WILL be staying at the Gaythering for my next trip to SOBE.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great stay! Super friendly staff. Rooms were nice and clean. Great ambiance and all the design touches were a nice change from the typical hotel. We would definitely stay here again! Not too far from the Lincoln street life and a brief walk to the beaches. Especially enjoyed the spa, it was a great way to end the day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Because I don't want other people to know about it. My girlfriend and I came here for a weekend and had such a great time here. (no worry straight guys and gals, this may be a "gay owned hotel" but it means nothing)

From check in to check out I've never had a better stay in any hotel in Miami. Beside the great deal this is a great place. From the staff, coffee, drinks, library, room, towels and personal cooler. Didn't get to test out the spa but I'm sure it's equally as nice.

Far enough from the south beach riffraff but close enough for the beach, Lincoln road, yard bird, laduree, huahuas, purdy ave, quick cab to downtown Miami & design district.

We saved so much by staying here instead of the neighboring High end "Standard" and the lower end but equally as expensive hotels on Collins and Washington.

And to the negative reviews from the same guy, Yes there's no microwave or fridge but you're in Miami... Not in the middle of no where so why do you need either? Keeping your leftovers and want to reheat them later? Go to the motel 6 instead.

I'm gonna come back here very very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I can not say enough about this fantastically run, immaculately kept hotel and service that goes above and beyond. From the owner to the front desk to the cleaning staff, everything was perfect.
I will most definitely stay there again and I urge anyone that doesn't want or need to stay in the commotion that South Beach can be, THIS IS THE PLACE!!!!
HIGHLY HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gaythering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaythering

Address: 1409 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gaythering 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gaythering is Miami Beach only "Hetero Friendly" hotel where everyone over the age of 18 is welcome. Located on Prestigious Lincoln Road, behind the building original facade, nothing has been spared to provide a unique experience. The amenities reflect the fact that luxury is no longer about spending the most money. It is about getting the best value and being made to feel special. The lobby is the heart of the hotel, a communal space where guests and locals can "gayther" for a coffee, a drink, a bite to eat, use the library unless they prefer to take advantage of the complimentary Men Self Spa with its hamam, Steam room, jacuzzi and Dry Sauna. It is a place where relationships can organically unfold thus creating a sense of community within the hotel. The Coffee Shop, Lounge and Library serve as incubators for productive minds, as well as casual communal experiences. The hotel promotes "gaythering" and socializing with activities and curated programming. The hotel does not charge for any of the activities like Yoga, meditation, language classes or group discussions but donations to the facilitators or instructors are appreciated to cover their own expenses. There is not much "cookie cutter" going on here: All the rooms are unusually large by South Beach standard (300 to 437 square feet) and have King size beds, 40 HDTV's, Showers with red "welders curtains", original artwork, science lab desk with metal chair, 300 thread count 100% cotton linens, and even a sleep sound machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Gaythering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gaythering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.