We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sobe You Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sobe You Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sobe You Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1018 Jefferson Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Sobe You Tropical Bed & Breakfast Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
“Poor Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

BE ADVISED - If you are looking for a nice place to stay in South Beach I WOULD ADVISE LOOKING ELSEWHERE. I found the management to be very rigid and not customer friendly. True it is a nice hotel, but if you have any special needs that you do not make super clear in your original reservation, THEY WILL NOT WORK WITH YOU. I suggest that you consider the whole experience and not just the quality of the hotel. They are very avaricious. When I needed a room with two beds, they insisted that I rent TWO SEPARATE ROOMS! They would not cancel the reservation when they could not provide what I wanted and insisted on charging my credit card eventhough I did everything I could to work out something with them. There are a LOT of hotels on South Beach. They should be more customer friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBeYou, Manager at Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are very sorry you didn't have the opportunity to stay with us since you canceled your reservation. We love to have satisfied customers; however, there are policies that must be followed in order to keep operating as a successful business that makes guests happy. When your needs changed 3 days prior to your arrival we offered you 2 options but you opted not to take them. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we value your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    83
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
42
219
22
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here - had a king suite, which supplied all that we needed to enjoy our short get-away to warmer weather. The bed and linens were comfortable, the shared balcony overlooking the pool and dining area was delightful, and the mini-fridge and extras in the room made this a very pleasant place to stay. The breakfasts were made to order and tasty - the pool area was secluded and shaded, which made for a nice spot to relax when the weather was hot and the beaches were crowded and noisy. We enjoyed the fact that we could walk to so many places: there's a huge park across the street, the beach a few blocks away, Ocean Drive shopping and Lincoln Street pedestrian mall with tons of good restaurants and shops ( lots of outdoor dining) a short distance away. Most importantly, the service was welcoming, responsive and very professional, from the front desk managers to the service staff. SoBeYou offers very good value for its location, although we were much happier with our king suite than we would have been if we'd stayed in the queen-sized room where we were on the first night. Not a new hotel with fancy amenities, but a smaller, historic accommodation, with character and charm and personality. A great BandB for anyone who enjoys this kind of travel experience, as we do!

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a ground floor room if steep stairs are a problem for you -and definitely request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBeYou, Manager at Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to know you had an enjoyable stay at SoBeYou. Your recommendations will be very useful for someone looking to come and stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed for 1 night in November 2012, arrived late in evening, keys and parking pass for the area were waiting for us in the post box and a nice welcome pack.

rooms were fine, large bed with super soft bed topper, individual aircon unit but we didnt have need to use it.
shower wouldnt drain, so showers had to be short.

Breakfast was special, we waited a long time before some came to see us, the coffee was the worst i or my wife have ever had in our lives, pure chicoree maybe?

the omlette thing can be desribed as an "aquired" taste - for me it was nasty, flavourless and dry. Others seemed to like it though.

i would stay again and recomme^nd it to others but suggest to skip the breakfast, apart from that all is ok.

check out staff were really nice and helpful with information.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBeYou, Manager at Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the write a review. We are sorry your one night stay with us did not meet your expectations; however, we are also grateful you would consider us for another stay. Your feedback means a lot to us as it is a way to find out what needs to be improved to better serve you next time you come and visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very cozy but noisy and limited basics in rooms. Our room was stocked with just 3 closet hangers and no drawer space. Air con was central control so too cold in room. Breakfast was great. Paid B+B price for backpacing level of accomodations. VERY DISAPOINTED

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBeYou, Manager at Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at SoBeYou. We appreciate your comments as it is a way to know what can be done to better serve our valuable guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We only spend one night at SoBe You but enjoyed it very much and would return. It is situated in a residential area between Ocean Drive and Alton Road. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are not large but are certainly adequate and comfortable. Breakfast served by the pool was very nice. We walked from SoBe You to the beach (about 10 minutes) and then along the broad, flat beach for some exercise before breakfast. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBeYou, Manager at Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to know you enjoy your short stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This wonderful little B&B has everything you could hope for. The bed was comfortable, bathroom was small but adequate, in-room safe was nice to have and the wine bottle opener was handy to have. Beautiful pool although we didn't have time to use it during the day. Breakfast on the patio by the pool was the perfect way to start the day - delicious food with good selection, variety of newspapers, friendly staff went above and beyond. Lina gave us helpful tips for how to spend the day. Perfect location,, very central, parked our car all day and night for $2 and walked everywhere. Have dinner on West Ave, much better food and prices. If we're in Miami Beach again, we'll definitely stay at SoBe You again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBeYou, Manager at Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are glad our amenities and recommendations were useful to you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

In Miami to be located at walking distance from Ocean Drive, to be in a peace place, with a natural and warm atmposphere. rooms not huge but clean, comfortable. Breakfast cooked at the moment. Easy parking with the pass. If we will be back in Miami we will not look for something else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBeYou, Manager at Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are glad you had a positive experience at SoBeYou. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sobe You Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobe You Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1018 Jefferson Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Sobe You Tropical Bed & Breakfast Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sobe You Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of South Beach lies a peaceful, private and intimate oasis with luxurious poolside rooms. VIP Service and amenities. Beautiful sunny beaches, gyms, golf, tennis, stylish shops and exciting outdoor restaurants are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sobe You Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sobeyou Bed And Breakfast
Sobeyou Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sobe You Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.