We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites on South Beach Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Suites on South Beach Miami to your Saves list
Suites on South Beach Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Clean rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights (Sat and Sun) at Suites on South Beach and it was a good experience. The room was clean. Great location and was quiet at night, away from all the loud nightlife but still within walking distance for wherever you would want to go. Not a 5-star hotel but Suites is a good value for the area. One thing I didn't like was that the cleaning staff was pretty loud talking and yelling to each other in the mornings starting around 9am. But if you are looking for a clean, fairly quiet place to stay with modern designed interiors at a reasonable price then Suites on South Beach is recommended!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    134
    58
    15
    15
See reviews for
58
116
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Suites for 2 nights over a weekend in early September.

Due to unforeseen circumstances, we were not able to check in until after 10pm that evening.

The location was perfect for my needs – being a seasoned SOBE traveller who regularly stays on Ocean Drive, this hotel was a very short walk (one block) to that road and all the bars and nightlife that we love so much.

Check in was simple enough and we were given details of passcode through the security gate, wifi info and keys to our room.

The room was very spacious with 2 double beds (that were very comfortable) in the main living area.
The kitchen had all you would need and the bathroom and closet area were also a good size.
Everything was very clean which is very important to me.

The noise levels that some on TA have spoken about through the night were not a distraction to me – and quite honestly if you have issues with hearing people partying on SOBE at the weekend I would question what you are doing staying near this area anyway!

Unfortunately I would have to slightly agree with some of the comments regarding the attitude and friendliness of the staff on the desk – some were clearly just going through the motions and didn’t have much friendly interaction.
However, there was one distinct exception to this – I think the young chap was called Kevin but he was extremely friendly and very helpful when we were trying to get information about getting to Sun Life Stadium. Maybe the rest of the staff could be trained up by him? Ha.

The only real issue I had with the Suites was the wifi – it simply isn’t good enough and hardly ever stayed connected for more than 5-10 mins. This needs addressed by the management.

All in all, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Suites once again – in fact I wish my trip to Miami was longer so I could have.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location: Superb location, one block from upper middle of Ocean Dr and Lummus Park beach. No noise from bands and O.Dr. hubbub. Easy walk to beach, restaurants, deco hotels, Lincoln Rd, post ofc, shopping, some museums. Best of all, nice, safe in/out municipal parking garage across street (max $20/24 hr) so don't need available $22/day valet service. 24 hr Walgreens less than one block for supplies, and Subway sandwich shop next door with nice patio for quick coffee or snack. "Decobike" automated bicycle rental across street very handy.

Facility: Safe, attractive two story, walk up (no elevator). Ongoing improvements done without intrusion. Tucked in between two larger buildings, there are no views and no real cross ventilation exc. front and rear rooms. Secure inside courtyard area on access side very attractive, though hot from room A/C units. Quiet except occasional noise in alley behind our rear room from trash trucks and deliveries (prohibited at night, BTW). Our windows there were painted over white, allowing light while blocking view of dingy alley and back of shops behind hotel. Didn't care about lack of view, as we were there to be at the beach, see family, and walk around. Other rooms, windows clear, but only look onto small courtyard/walkway. Affiliated with Kent Hotel down the street.

Pluses: Front desk staff, Housekeeping, Maintenance staff all friendly, polite, and helpful (within limits of language barrier in some cases.) Room large, clean, good cable TV with DVD, excellent daily maid service, nice clean bath with big shower (no tub), good beds, felt secure, nice kitchen with full size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, big sink, lots of storage, dishes and flatware (no stove, but who cares?), small table with two stools. Big walk-in closet with shelf, lots of hangers, small safe. Our room had only a small chair, but others had bigger ones. Plenty of electrical outlets. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms. Computer/printer available in front office.

Minuses: Had Wifi, but could not get to useful internet thru it, so relied on my phone's LTE. Not much drawer space for clothes- could use a dresser and/or a desk, but big closet made up for that. A/C a bit noisy, but not bad.

Summary: We'll be back! Excellent value for price. Superior location. A safe, convenient place to stay in South Beach if you don't need the glitz. If you're looking for a glamorous romantic getaway with beach views and ocean breezes wafting through, this isn't the place unless you're on a tight budget. But for us, this filled the bill perfectly, especially enhanced by the garage and bikes across the street, walkability to nearly everything, and ocean only a block away.

A note on the garage/bikes- from Friday evening thru Sunday evening garage was chock full by beach users and evening revelers, so you may not want to lose your space by taking car out. Rest of week, plenty of spaces. Safe to use. Onsite security much of the time. Pay by cash or credit on ground floor. We left car unmoved over 24 hours multiple times. If you're paranoid about the one small "no long term storage" sign, you can easily move the car internally in the garage so that it doesn't look as if its been sitting for days, though I don't think they really care. For quick trips beyond walking distance, we used the deco bikes one-way($4/ 30 min) and then back- even at night. Easy to master system. Download their app for easy map of all of their many stands. Decent bikes with secure baskets and safety lighting. Can pay with credit card.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear have less walkway traffic out side and less noise from other rooms, but do have some e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First to clarify from the start the rooms, despite being advertised as suites are NOT. The "kitchenette" is a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. That's it! There is no hot plate/cook top, kettle or even toaster. I have stayed in other suites in various countries where pots, pans, cook tops etc have been provided. What use is a kitchen to me with only a microwave?

Other issues with the hotel include; an air conditioner that is positioned under the window sill meaning that whoever gets the bed next to it will freeze, whilst the other person on the far bed will boil. Ohh and it also sounds like a tractor. The walls are also paper thin, so if your neighbor is watching tv late, you will heat it all just above your head. Lastly the wifi, what wifi? It was the biggest piece of rubbish I have encountered, it would drop out every 2 seconds and you just couldn't use it.

There are however things to like about this place. The location is excellent and is in a quiet street away from the noise of the Ocean Drive nightlife, yet still central and walkable to everywhere in South Beach (close to airport flyer bus stop also on 13th street). The rooms are large and clean and some of the staff are very, very good (the rest are incompetent at best). Kevin at reception was one of the good ones, friendly, always willing to help with a big smile on his face. The maid was also excellent, she was very prompt and polite. The rest though would struggle to give you directions to Ocean Drive (1 block over), much less anything more complicated like the Greyhound bus terminal.

Overall an ok hotel, with some issues that need to be addressed, as mentioned above. It is run by the same people as the Kent hotel which is also on South Beach.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Suites on South Beach in August. Very clean and tidy with full kitchen. Perfect location one block from Ocean Drive with nice FL café a few yards down the street. Valet parking is available at $22 a night. Overall a great stay and we would definitely stay again as rates were pretty good for two nights here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very good if you have normal expectations, the rooms are clean and well equipped. you will have small kitchen in each room (fridge, microwave, coffee maker).

the hotel team are very friendly and helpful, they provide you free internet, free beach towels and reasonable valet parking.

the hotel location is very good, as it is walking distance from restaurants, beach (4min)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is an interesting hotel. On one hand it's location is hard to beat and its room-sizes are harder to match for the money, on the other, its lobby is probably worse than a hostel's and front desk staff is tired and uninspiring. So, if you are looking for fancy lobby and a warm welcome, you may skip this place. But if you are looking for a good size room with full fridge and small kitchen only 2 minutes away from the beach, this is your absolute best find. So here is my list of of hits and misses:

Hits...
1. Unbeatable art deco location on Collins ave between 13th and 14th st.
2. 2 minutes to all fancy restaurants and the beach
3. 5 minutes to great dining street espanola way
4. 10 minutes to Licoln ave mall
5. Big rooms, great for family of four
6. There is a subway next door, so no chance of starving
7. Reasonably priced for south beach

Misses
1. The lobby area is unwelcoming and small
2. Almost "zero" hospitality industry training for the front desk staff. I interacted with a guy named Larry. Poor guy did not seem trained to run a foos-ball table area, let alone a hotel front desk. He seemed sleepy and clueless about everything.
3.Totally unorganized front office. There is a drinking water dispenser. But you cant use it since the paper cups have been "missing" for a couple of days according to Larry.
4. Totally apathetic sales manager: Leticia. This person sits in an office behind the front desk but doesnt give a hoot about the customers. She is lost in her own world and does not even smile at the hotel guests in the lobby let alone welcoming them.
5. The rooms are big, but the mattresses are cheap. You can hear the springs making crazy noise every time you turn.
6. The rooms have no dressers what so ever. So you have to operate out of your suitcases most of the time

Overall...value hotel if you are looking for "zero" frills.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites on South Beach Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites on South Beach Miami

Address: 1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites on South Beach Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suites on South Beach Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites On South Beach Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel On South Beach Miami
Suites South Beach
On South Beach Miami Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites on South Beach Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.