We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place if your expectations are not sky-high” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suites on South Beach Miami

Save Saved
You added Suites on South Beach Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites on South Beach Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good place if your expectations are not sky-high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an interesting hotel. On one hand it's location is hard to beat and its room-sizes are harder to match for the money, on the other, its lobby is probably worse than a hostel's and front desk staff is tired and uninspiring. So, if you are looking for fancy lobby and a warm welcome, you may skip this place. But if you are looking for a good size room with full fridge and small kitchen only 2 minutes away from the beach, this is your absolute best find. So here is my list of of hits and misses:

Hits...
1. Unbeatable art deco location on Collins ave between 13th and 14th st.
2. 2 minutes to all fancy restaurants and the beach
3. 5 minutes to great dining street espanola way
4. 10 minutes to Licoln ave mall
5. Big rooms, great for family of four
6. There is a subway next door, so no chance of starving
7. Reasonably priced for south beach

Misses
1. The lobby area is unwelcoming and small
2. Almost "zero" hospitality industry training for the front desk staff. I interacted with a guy named Larry. Poor guy did not seem trained to run a foos-ball table area, let alone a hotel front desk. He seemed sleepy and clueless about everything.
3.Totally unorganized front office. There is a drinking water dispenser. But you cant use it since the paper cups have been "missing" for a couple of days according to Larry.
4. Totally apathetic sales manager: Leticia. This person sits in an office behind the front desk but doesnt give a hoot about the customers. She is lost in her own world and does not even smile at the hotel guests in the lobby let alone welcoming them.
5. The rooms are big, but the mattresses are cheap. You can hear the springs making crazy noise every time you turn.
6. The rooms have no dressers what so ever. So you have to operate out of your suitcases most of the time

Overall...value hotel if you are looking for "zero" frills.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    127
    57
    13
    16
See reviews for
57
109
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruhr Valley
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Suites on South Beach for four nights in July.We were really glad we booked this place because of its great location within the Art Deco district and just a few minutes walk to the beach or Espagnola Way.
We had ground floor apartment with a king sized bed. Air con a bit loud, but worked well. The kitchen was quite small without daylight, but okay for our breakfast.
We liked the bathroom with walk-in shower. In addition there was quite big walk-in closet.
Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Room cleaning was fine.
Of course there may be better hotels in Miami beach, especially in Mid and North Beach, however I would always recommend to stay South Beach where there shops, cafes, bars and restaurants just a stone´s throw away.
I´d definitely book Suites on South Beach again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For us the hotel was totally ok for that price. It´s near to the beach (walking distance about 3 minutes) and in the city center (walking distance to all bars / restaurants clubs: no problem). The room was quite big with 2 queen beds). We did not hear the neighbours like other said here...and it was quite in the area (some "dealers" or something are quite normal in Miami beach, this did not bother us). 2 things were a bit annyoing: the aircondition was quite noisy and the service at front desk was not that helpful for some questions...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May and was quite disappointed. The location is perfect, close to all of the action in South Beach. We didn't expect much, just wanted a clean, comfortable room. These rooms did not meet even these basic expectations. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and had plastic covered mattresses that made noise with every move you made. Also, we found trash left behind from previous guests in the kitchenette. Wifi was very almost nonexistent as we could hardly ever get a connection.

We will not be returning to this hotel as there are many better choices in South Beach for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been staying at this hotel for the past five years during my winter stopovers in South Beach, usually for three to four nights, before moving on tho other parts of South Florida. I have tried a large number of South Beach hotels over the last 30 years, and I find the Suites on SoBe to be good compromise if you do not want to to spend upwards of $ 250 per night. Staff is very helpful, rates are reasonable. The rooms are spacious for South Beach standards and very clean. Noise can be an issue but that is a general observation in South Beach, be it from other rooms or from the street, especially during spring break. Try to get a room on the 2nd floor! I like the location, two blocks away from Ocean Drive. Also, the (affordable) public parking garage at 13th street is right opposite - a major advantage if you need to park your car.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived late on Saturday 5th July. Miami was extremely busy with people celebrating the 4th jul weekend. The hotel was pretty easy to find as each block is the first numbers of the door or it was 13th street of collins ave. The room was great, very spacious and modern. It had a big tv with cable and an ipod docking station. The bed was comfortable and the sheets where cjanged daily. In the kitchen there was a microwave and a coffee maker with a huge fridge freezer.
Safe was free which was good. There was an iron and ironing board in the room as well. A walk in shower which had plenty of hot running water.
The only down side to our 8 night stay was our neighbours as theu decided to scream each night between 3.30 and 5am.
The location of the hotel is fab just a sort walk to the beach, restaurants and bars. There was a small supermarket around the corner on 12th street Washington ave or a huge one on 5th and alton road.
All in all I would return if I travel through miami again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When I look back on our stay at the Suites on SoBe, I wonder why I chose this hotel rather than any other here on South Beach. 
I guess - and it's a guess, because I started planning our 7 week holiday in the US over 6 months ago - it must have been 1) the reviews on TA  + 2) the room rate.
It is indeed a small property, so, don't expect anything BUT a room. A large room, yes, with good beds. But little else. No table to sit and write at, no closet. Bathroom and kitchenette OK. No tissues in the bathroom ! Very noisy aircon.
Free wifi ! Oh yes .... but, unfortunately, only a few seconds at a time. Impossible to surf the net, so, forget about the free wifi.
TV in the room, yes, if you're willing to switch the wires at the back of the TV every time you want to watch. Ridiculous !
And the friendly people at reception .... They probably were on holidays when we were there.
Would I recommend it ? If the room rate isn't too high, yes. But I would not return. I would certainly not go back to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, the so-called free wifi was non-existent in our room (14).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites on South Beach Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites on South Beach Miami

Address: 1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites on South Beach Miami 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Suites on South Beach Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites On South Beach Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel On South Beach Miami
Suites South Beach
On South Beach Miami Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites on South Beach Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.