We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a South Beach Standard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suites on South Beach Miami

Save Saved
You added Suites on South Beach Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suites on South Beach Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a South Beach Standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

To be in the heart of South Beach, this hotel disappointed my expectations greatly. Upon our arrival, our room had a strong clorox smell that was horrible. The bathroom smelled like an entire bottle of clorox was used to clean it at one time! We killed at least 4 roaches during our stay here. We never completely unpacked our luggage for this reason. There were roaches near the bed, one in the bathroom and one in the kitchen......and all of this occurred without us bringing any food into the room. There was also a HUGE dragonfly buzzing around the light fixture in the kitchen. The door lock malfunctioned the entire time we were there. To get it to work, we had to turn the knob several times. These are things we were met with during our stay unfortunately. Despite these areas of concern, toward the end of our stay the cleaning crew must have changed what they used to clean the place because it began to not smell so much like clorox which was great. If this hotel can get rid of their roaches, insects, clorox smell, and malfunctioning door locks, they would be a nice place to stay that's not expensive. We do not plan on staying here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - I apologize if the housekeeping staff used too much Clorox to clean out the bathroom, this could have been a simple case of over pouring. I would like to inform you that the hotel does contract a pest company to service our property every 2 weeks, if you go through the reviews for our hotel on this site you will see that roaches and bugs in general are not a problem, being that we are located in an area that has numerous restaurants nearby (literally next door) and that Florida is a tropical state we can expect some critters every now and then. The door lock problem was most likely a one time issue, everything has a risk of breaking down at any moment, it simply is bad timing when it happens to someone personally, but we have a very attentive maintenance staff that if an issue is reported it will be fixed within 24 hours. I urge you to contact me should you wish to speak in person and in detail, once again I apologize for any inconvenience that these issues caused you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    130
    58
    14
    15
See reviews for
58
112
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights. Clean room, nothing fancy, in the middle of south beach. Don't expect great views or quite AC. Easy walking to the beach entrance, shops and restaurants. Close to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. The front desk staff was really friendly. It was noisy as you can hear people passing by your door (laughing and talking), or doors slamming. I would recommend this hotel to younger people which want to have a good time and don't want to spend a lot of time in their room. Not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review - Generally, our property is not very noisy, but it is true that due to the atmosphere in South Beach and the nightlife in general it tends to attract a younger crowd which can lead to noisy guests...I do not think this should limit the type of clientele in Miami Beach as this can range widely between differing weekends. We do hope you reconsider and give our property another opportunity! If you could email the room number of your unit when you stayed at the property (sales@thekenthotel.com) I will gladly follow up with my maintenance staff to take a look at the A/C in that unit and repair whatever issue might be causing too much noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Location of hotel was excellent and the rooms were good. 1 block away from nice restaurants and beach. It is a bit older and there was construction close by so first impressions were not great. The size of the room and comfort of beds were nice so it is a great value. What dropped the rating was the first guy we met from the hotel.

The front desk guy in the afternoon was awful. We had 3 families traveling with us and they all had similar experiences. We were the 3rd family to arrive but the 1st 2 families warned us about him before we got there and they were right. He was rude and very unhelpful. He looked like he did not want to be there and resented the fact that he had to do some work when we arrived. It was so bad that if we saw that guy working and had a question we actually went to another hotel to ask our question. On the other hand, the girl working in the morning was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get top floor if possible. We were on bottom floor and we heard the people above us walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Eric, thank you for the honest review - I am very disappointed reading your comments about the front desk in the evening hours, typically our most often praised quality is the staff and it's attentive nature so this is surprising to the least, but we appreciate your feedback! I will be using this review as a training tool for the next meeting with our staff so that I can point out the inconsistencies on our end with hopes that we will improve in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our time in Sobe and loved the attention we received from the staff there (Rosie in particular). The valet service was great and reasonably priced for the area ($20 a day with in/out). The room was well equipped with everything we needed. The beds were also very comfortable. My only knock was the noisy A/C unit in the room (it was hot and humid so turning it off was not an option). If they figure out this out then it's a five rating for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review! If you could email me at sales@thekenthotel.com and tell me which room you stayed in we'll have that A/C checked out and fixed in no time! I assume it's just father time letting us know that we need to change that unit, but this is a simple fix, so if you could let us know it would be very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were on holiday in Orlando and wanted to visit Miami....after spending night after night on the Internet looking for accommodation that would suit a family of three adults and four children,we came across these.
We booked a one night stay there,giving us two days to visit and do the tours.
We arrived before book in time and the staff went out their way to help ,storing our bags,letting us use the facilities to freshen up and then sort out parking for our hired car.
Rooms were bigger than we expected,clean and with a safe,fridge,small but enough kitchen area,ample storage space ...we had won a coconut with this choice.
Area was ideal for what we wanted to do.....visit Miami Ink( street behind us) .....visit Dash -the Khardasian shop ( street behind us) ..and with kids in the party ,a visit to the beach was a street the other way in front of this place...
Excellent location .
Thanks for all your help.
A great place that we as a family ,would happily recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mark, thank you for the great review and the details on your room amenities,!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Most of the staff was very helpful & pleasant. The room & beds were clean. There was plenty of room, however no place to store your clothes. you had to leave them in the suitcase. For that reason, they should have 2 suitcase stands, when 2 people are staying.There was some mold around the bathroom window in the shower. Overall I would def recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Karen for the great review - we have come across guests in the past who have requested more storage options/space in their rooms, we are currently working on finding the most efficient furniture that we could to add to the room to help solve this problem, I expect this to no longer be an issue in the very near future! Once again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I would say average to very good .The staff was friendly, the room was clean, it was like a studio apartment. the extras you got from SOSB were:
Quiet area yet close to everything!
You could walk to post office, shops, and the beach,
Subway was right next store, the room came with a refrigerator and freezer! that was a bonus on the hot Miami nights.
I think its a great choice for the price, I have stayed at 10 or so different places on SB so check my other reviews. the only thing negative was one morning there was a lot of moving furniture or something going on above us, guests? housekeeping? and there was construction next store, but that is not this hotels fault. CONS: no fitness center or pool some people don't use those anyway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review, being such a seasoned traveler like yourself we appreciate knowing that we made a positive impact on your opinion of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites on South Beach Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites on South Beach Miami

Address: 1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites on South Beach Miami 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Suites on South Beach Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites On South Beach Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel On South Beach Miami
Suites South Beach
On South Beach Miami Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites on South Beach Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;