We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites on south beach - as being part of the PC game GTA Vice City” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suites on South Beach Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Suites on South Beach Miami to your Saves list
Suites on South Beach Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Koege, Denmark
1 review
“Suites on south beach - as being part of the PC game GTA Vice City”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Update web site in order to give real impression of (poor) facilities. I feel that I was tricked in to booking the hotel. Facilities were dilapidated and in poor condition. Expected to find a fine hotel but what we found was a cheap motel with new furniture. Employees at front desk had big tattoos making you feel like being part of the PC game – Grand Theft Auto Vice City. Not a very good impression when trying to have a family vacation.

Condition of room and standard in general was very poor. Equipment in the bathroom was not bolted to the wall; drain plug in the sink was leaking making it very hard to shave; holder to the toilet paper was not fastened why toilet roll had to stand on the floor.

Big problems with noise from cleaning personnel (from 7:30 AM in the morning) directly outside your window yelling at each other.
I
nternet connection suffered from insufficient band width (no able to be used for internet browsing)

Credit card was charged even before checking out from the hotel

Not happy with the valet parking. Valet parking house is situated 5 blocks away and it took 15-20 minutes every time to get my car.

Check mileage of your car as valet parking seems to use it for joy riding around the city. First night my car had driven 20 miles after I left it with the staff. General Manager of the hotel, however, handled this situation fine by deducting 50% of the valet fee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Peter, I'm dissapointed to read your review, and I apologize again for your experience with the Valet company, we neither condone or expect that type of behavior and have taken the necessary steps to make sure it does not happen again, I'm surprised to hear some of your other complaints as you did not communicate these to me when we spoke, I really wish you had. Our website had brand new photos recently added on March to show what the property actually looks like, and poor dilapidated conditions are not what most people would say our hotel would fall under. Again I do profusely apologize for the issues you encountered with Valet and the property in general, but I do take exception with your comparison of our employees (simply because they have tattoos) and a video game based on criminality and violence, I guess tattoos are still taboo to you but this is 2012, we do not support generalizations or stereotypes of any kind, we do not view tattoos on either a guest or an employee as a sign that they are a criminal, we are proud of our staff and everything they contribute to not only our establishment but to their friends, colleagues, families and society in general. We respect your opinion and your right to express that opinion but that comparison was disingenuous to say the least.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    137
    59
    15
    15
See reviews for
61
116
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This review is late since we stayed here in March 2011, but I cannot imagine it has changed too much. The price was reasonable, given the time we stayed there (WMC week), and the hotel was pretty awesome. Located in the heart of south beach on Collins, the beach is literally only 1-2 blocks away. If you go a block down to Ocean Blvd, there's a huge row of bars, restaurants, seafood places, etc etc etc, you can't go wrong. The rooms themselves are pretty basic but pretty. Kitchenette included, so you have a fridge to store stuff. Air conditioning worked amazing. The only hitch we had was a small power outage :( Oh, and no swimming pool :((( Otherwise, awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Abigail, thank you for the wonderful review, we hope that you come stay with us next year during WMC again, it seems to only get better every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my girlfriend in mid-June 2012. This isn't a hotel. You don't have any bars, restaurants, room service etc. It's a little apartment, or suite (as the name suggests) with a living room with a bed, a telly, a couch, a table with two chairs and a rocking chair, a kitchen with all you need, a bathroom and a huge unnecessary room containing a small safe, an iron with an iron board and a lot of unused space.

The staff is helpful and the house keeping is good (you're bed is made and you get clean towels every day). The best thing is however the location. It's located on South Beach along Collins Ave. - two blocks from the beach and a few blocks from the main street "Lincoln Road".

If we should point out any Cons:
- The air condition makes a lot of noice
- There might be some noice from Collins Ave. (but you wont notice it because of the air condition)
- The cutlery is not cleaned by the housemaid, but by the previous guests. You may pay the housemaid $15 to do it for you, but it is nevertheless cleaned in the sink with "hot water" - not in a dishwasher.

Anyway, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here on our next trip to Miami Beach.
You get more than you pay for

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you Fredrik for the wonderful review, we are not your typical hotel for many of the reasons you mentioned, yet we feel this is exactly what makes the property so charming, it's like renting your own apartment in the heart of South Beach for a few days, we are glad to hear you would stay with us again and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went here for a 3 night stay (honeymoon) and it was everything we wanted and more. Rooms were lovely and clean, perfect location only one block from the gorgeous beach and had plenty of shops, bars and restaurants nearby.

The biggest thing I found about this hotel was that the staff were all so lovely and helpful. We also booked a bus and boat tour through the hotel and it was the best thing we did as we got to see every where in such a short amount of time.

When we go back to Miami we will stay here again!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 2nd floor and book the boat and bus trip with the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guests, we are glad to hear that we could help make your honeymoon a memorable experience, thank you for the great review, we are honored to be your first choice in Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was moderately priced. We paid $103 a night. The room was HUGE. It was just remodeled and clean. It had a kitchenette a sofa and a large closet for your suitcases etc. The valet was really slow here, but they are a separate company so it does not change my rating, but it is a warning. The rooms are also outside, which for us was no big deal, but for others it may cause concern.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for the positive review, I will forward this review to the Valet Parking service so they are aware of our guests comments and we will urge them to be quicker with the delivery of our clients vehicles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel rooms look rather dated with wood chip & emulsion on the walls, rather worried about some bugs that were running about in the bathroom, cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired in my view. Location is great & we didnt experience any real noise problems other than the air con which is really noisy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Colin, we are dissapointed to hear you did not like your experience at our property, one of our biggest priorities is the cleanliness of our property, if you would take the time to contact me personnaly at sales@thekenthotel.com I would like to inquire about which room you stayed in and speak to you about your stay in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites on South Beach Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites on South Beach Miami

Address: 1330 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites on South Beach Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suites on South Beach Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites On South Beach Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel On South Beach Miami
Suites South Beach
On South Beach Miami Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites on South Beach Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.