We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Happy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5445 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Belen, New Mexico
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

If all you want is a view of the beach this is your hotel. there is no maid service unless you want to pay, the Hotel is old and rundown, needed toilet paper but could not get any because all the staff went home for the night not good. Not a customer friendly hotel by my standards. If you just want a place to sleep an shower your good to go. I will never go back !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    7
    5
    13
See reviews for
20
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pingree Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is not a castle it is more like a dirty dungeon. I was afraid to sleep on the old dingy sheets, I slept on a towel with my clothes on. The hotel is dated, which is fine but the dirty moldy bath tub and the shower door that was falling apart, the dingy sheets the dirty walls and the dirty carpet makes this Castle Hotel the worst place that I have ever stayed in...If I could rate this with a negative star I would...We stayed in room 712 if you get this room, RUN!!! I wish I had taken photos of this disgusting room!

Room Tip: I don't think this place has a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place is old, gross, and the rooms smell. You can tell they don't care about upkeep. Rusted lamps, dirty, ripped towels.. etc. Horrible experience.. They made my parents pay up front for the 2 weeks and after seeing it, I couldn't let them stay there, and they wouldn't refund for anything. Ended up posting my parents in my small apartment and they lost their payment for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice studio, very good location, nice environment, overall excellent! I was very satisfied with very good position, just several meters from the beautiful beach. Very good postion for visiting other areas on Miami Beach and Miami Downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

We loved our stay at the Castle Beach Club. I can see, from reading the other reviews, the place has had problems, and I probably would not have stayed there if I had read those reviews first. Instead, I read the ones on the hotel website, and decided to take a chance, after two very disappointing stays the previous two years. My unit, corner, 904, was a delight. It was exactly as described, and probably better, because the "partial kitchen," had everything but a stove! It had a microwave, fridge, grill, hot plate, toaster, coffee maker, steamer, etc. The views outside the windows were wonderful; the bed was comfortable; the unit was clean; the staff was very helpful, and I felt completely safe. The free valet parking is a wonderful asset, and the staff was very courteous and friendly. I have paid exorbitant prices the past two years, and I walked out of one place, as it was so bad. Of course, I am sure the furnishings in the privately owned units depend on the discretion of the owners, but the lobby was beautiful, and my unit was great. The carpet in the hallway needs replacing, but it isn't bad. My unit had new tile floors. I am already planning my reservation for next year! The Castle Beach Club is a real bargain!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: 5445 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.