We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/ Amazing Location/ Friendly Staff/ Clean/ Moden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel/ Amazing Location/ Friendly Staff/ Clean/ Moden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was in Miami for a Bachelorette party and we stayed at the Z Ocean Plaza. The location was amazing, the price was great and the staff was friendly and willing to work with us over anything. Our rooms were beautiful and clean. Literally have nothing bad to say about this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Afternoon mccarsl,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We are extremely thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay from start to finish and that you enjoyed your bachelorette party. Hopefully we will see you return to the Z for more fun times.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    272
    80
    35
    39
See reviews for
189
679
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at Z Ocean for a bachelorette party and the hotel was absolutely perfect! The staff couldn't have been better - the front desk staff, management, pool attendant & housekeeping were all 5 star. Additionally, the rooms were beautiful and spacious!! I would highly recommend staying here whether with family/ kids or with all adults.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Afternoon Brooke G,

Thank you for the amazing review. We are extremely proud to hear that consider our staff, hotel and rooms 5 star! We hope that you return in the future to enjoy another event! Thank you for recommending the Z Ocean Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I'd like to personally thank the entire staff at the Z Ocean Crowne Plaza hotel for helping give my friends and I one of the most memorable and best weekends we have ever had! Valeria at the pool will make you feel like royalty while enjoying one of her delicious cocktails. The restaurant on site, the Front Porch Cafe, is absolutely delicious (salads are to die for and so fresh)!! Had we not had plans off site for most of our meals, we would have eaten there for every single meal! The front desk staff is amazing and made check in/check out as seamless as possible. If you are going to Miami, and don't have any plans, don't worry...Mickey at the concierge will have an entire agenda planned out to your liking! The hotel is pristine, and guaranteed, you'll never want to leave the shower with 6 shower heads!! The ability to walk right out the restaurant/bar, cross the street and be right on the sand was too convenient. This is the only hotel I will ever stay in when going to South Beach!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Afternoon puravida0919,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean! We are extremely thrilled to hear that we were able to provide you with one of the best weekends you had. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the entire staff especially Valeria and Mickey. We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here 6 nights 26th July to 1st August .We requested the same roof top terrace we had 3 years ago , didn't get it and the room just didn't seem the same.Smaller balcony with no loungers and the TV unit was in the middle of the room rather than the side which with 3 of us in the room made it much smaller .Service in the main is top class .You ring when you want your roof top terrace setting up and Jacuzzi filling and likewise just call up to 2am for it to be drained for the next day.The terrace has a nice view of South beach but was less private than PH10 we had last time.We did have to keep reminding house keeping that we had 3 in the room .Sometimes we wouldn't get enough towels on the terrace and couldn't quite work out the turn down service.Sometimes we got fresh towels sometimes water and the welcome letter we got was addressed to my son who was staying in another room .He and his girlfriend had a spa suite room with jacuzzi on the balcony.This was a bit of a waste of time and wasn't really used due to the view which is basically a building site and with a noisy club nearby which kept them awake .Jerrys famous Deli across the road has just recently closed its doors and we noticed on the door a planning notice submitted for Senor Frogs so what effect that will have on the ZEE with all its noise remains to be seen .The reception and concierge staff were all excellent and a credit to the hotel.We are IHG members and got free wifi which worked excellently .Also as part of the resort fee you pay per room per day you get a bed , towel and umbrella from the Boucher brothers set up on the beach .This saves you a bit of money and the service from the guys down there is fabulous .Likewise the lady at the pool worked hard to provide everything but could have done with a bit of help at times.
The only real thing that needs addressing by the hotel is the relationship with the Front Porch cafe which we assumed to be the hotels bar and restaurant.It isn't and is a separate business(see review) We ate there for breakfast the first day and were surprised when we came to pay that we couldn't settle the bill by charging to our room without photo ID despite having our room cards with us .We were reminded that it was a separate business.Food here is excellent but has the highest service charge at 20% of anywhere on South Beach so when you look at the prices then you can add 29% on for this and tax .Then you even have a box for additional tip which is ludicrous.We were also given on check in some vouchers for a free drink for our party of 5 but the barman said it was one drink per room .Went off to query and came back with 2 more vouchers but charged our 17year old for a Coke !.Likewise we had a slight service issue with room service .As long as the hotel is saying this is the hotels bar and restaurant then the service standards need to be consistent .who would ever think you would need photo ID to charge things in the hotels bar and restaurant to your room when you have your key cards with you.Traveling form the UK we gave some long thought as to whether to stay here again or try somewhere differently.The vote went in favour but not sure next time.We made several requests before we arrived some via a third party whom used to work there.None were really answered and things like getting none allergic pillows were ignored and we had to request them once my sons allergy flared up .We will see next time we visit whether to stay again.Overall its location and rood top terraces are worth it alone.

Room Tip: Free wifi if IHG members .If you book a roof top terrace ask for PH8 ,9 or 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good Afternoon pinkisback,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We appreciate all your comments and feedback. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with the entire hotel in order to improve on service. We hope to see you at the Z in the future.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Z is right off Ocean and Collins with a 10 step walk to the Lummus Park - the most beautiful beach in florida...and just like a nice convertible, tops are options!

The Z has an ultra swanky open air lounge that's lite with the light from the pool above through 4 large glass window to the bottom of the pool..very sexy.

Its really all about the rooms. Huge room with a really nice wet bar, HUGE multi-head shower! The patios are private and the length of the rooms, very big. The best.

The staff is great and you can walk to the Delano, Lincoln Rd, Washington and the Beach!

GO GO GO and tell them Jimmy E sent you!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the BEST Deal. 1st and 2nd floors have jacuzzis....but it's 110degrees outside so w...
See more room tips
Green Features: Open Air Lounge means no pollution from running ac units 24 hours a day
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good Morning Jimmye1212,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean! The hotel is ideally located and are rooms are one of a kind. The showers are the best part! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope there are many more visits from you to the Z in the future.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We booked this hotel after reading some of the amazing reviews for 2 nights we definitely did not experience that. We book the jacuzzi terrace suite for $400 a nighy the hotel staff were great upon check in. The room was absolutely what we expected. They sent someone to start the jacuzzi it was pretty relaxing. The next day we got massages poolside it was mediocre at best! It was very loud & was a little uncomfortable being seen by other guests. We ate at the on site restaurant. Nothing stellar here especially for the price. check out day was the beginning of the drama. The mini bar guy woke us up on serval occasions beginning at 8 am we nicely told him we're sleeping can they do it upon checkout? He stated he would come back & he definitely did 3 times before noon! We were promised a late check out when making a reservation. Good luck with that the manager rudely informed us we couldn't get the late checkout. Then as we're packing to leave here come the mini bar again not only was he extremely run he actually cursed at us. Needless to say a high priced hotel doesn't mean you'll have a great experience. So disappointed will not ever book at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Afternoon Nilah Q,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are saddened to hear that your stay was not the great experience you were expecting. We appreciate your feedback and comments which will be shared with our executive committee. We are proud to say that the Z Ocean Hotel operates a full occupancy around the year. We would love to provide late check outs for all of our guests but due to occupancy we are not able to. We are more the willing to take requests and we are sorry that we were not able to honor your request for a late check out. We are glad to hear that enjoyed the room.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

To my new friend Jose and all the staff at the Z Ocean Hotel Miami,
From the moment I arrived you treated me with the greatest of respect and exceptional customer service. Fantastic luxurious room overlooking Ocean drive, comfortable bed, espresso machine, great amenities, large bathroom porcelain tiles, swimming lap pool, plasma tv, beach towel / sunbed service etc. Great recommendations from all the magnificent staff throughout the hotel especially at the front desk. Warm, friendly, polite, respectful, honest staff who genuinely want to make a international visitor enjoy beautiful Miami. Best decision I ever made was to stay at this excellent located hotel in South Beach Miami. Wished I stayed longer than two nights and highly recommend the Z Ocean Miami you will be spoiled by this wonderful "boutique" hotel. S from Australia :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Good Afternoon Alfa01,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. Please be assured that your new friend Jose and the rest of the staff of the Z Ocean will be shown this amazing review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. Here it to hoping you return in the future for a much longer stay! You are now our new Australian friend.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.