We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class mostly , great place , great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Leyland UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Top class mostly , great place , great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here 6 nights 26th July to 1st August .We requested the same roof top terrace we had 3 years ago , didn't get it and the room just didn't seem the same.Smaller balcony with no loungers and the TV unit was in the middle of the room rather than the side which with 3 of us in the room made it much smaller .Service in the main is top class .You ring when you want your roof top terrace setting up and Jacuzzi filling and likewise just call up to 2am for it to be drained for the next day.The terrace has a nice view of South beach but was less private than PH10 we had last time.We did have to keep reminding house keeping that we had 3 in the room .Sometimes we wouldn't get enough towels on the terrace and couldn't quite work out the turn down service.Sometimes we got fresh towels sometimes water and the welcome letter we got was addressed to my son who was staying in another room .He and his girlfriend had a spa suite room with jacuzzi on the balcony.This was a bit of a waste of time and wasn't really used due to the view which is basically a building site and with a noisy club nearby which kept them awake .Jerrys famous Deli across the road has just recently closed its doors and we noticed on the door a planning notice submitted for Senor Frogs so what effect that will have on the ZEE with all its noise remains to be seen .The reception and concierge staff were all excellent and a credit to the hotel.We are IHG members and got free wifi which worked excellently .Also as part of the resort fee you pay per room per day you get a bed , towel and umbrella from the Boucher brothers set up on the beach .This saves you a bit of money and the service from the guys down there is fabulous .Likewise the lady at the pool worked hard to provide everything but could have done with a bit of help at times.
The only real thing that needs addressing by the hotel is the relationship with the Front Porch cafe which we assumed to be the hotels bar and restaurant.It isn't and is a separate business(see review) We ate there for breakfast the first day and were surprised when we came to pay that we couldn't settle the bill by charging to our room without photo ID despite having our room cards with us .We were reminded that it was a separate business.Food here is excellent but has the highest service charge at 20% of anywhere on South Beach so when you look at the prices then you can add 29% on for this and tax .Then you even have a box for additional tip which is ludicrous.We were also given on check in some vouchers for a free drink for our party of 5 but the barman said it was one drink per room .Went off to query and came back with 2 more vouchers but charged our 17year old for a Coke !.Likewise we had a slight service issue with room service .As long as the hotel is saying this is the hotels bar and restaurant then the service standards need to be consistent .who would ever think you would need photo ID to charge things in the hotels bar and restaurant to your room when you have your key cards with you.Traveling form the UK we gave some long thought as to whether to stay here again or try somewhere differently.The vote went in favour but not sure next time.We made several requests before we arrived some via a third party whom used to work there.None were really answered and things like getting none allergic pillows were ignored and we had to request them once my sons allergy flared up .We will see next time we visit whether to stay again.Overall its location and rood top terraces are worth it alone.

Room Tip: Free wifi if IHG members .If you book a roof top terrace ask for PH8 ,9 or 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good Afternoon pinkisback,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We appreciate all your comments and feedback. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with the entire hotel in order to improve on service. We hope to see you at the Z in the future.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    274
    80
    35
    40
See reviews for
190
679
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Z is right off Ocean and Collins with a 10 step walk to the Lummus Park - the most beautiful beach in florida...and just like a nice convertible, tops are options!

The Z has an ultra swanky open air lounge that's lite with the light from the pool above through 4 large glass window to the bottom of the pool..very sexy.

Its really all about the rooms. Huge room with a really nice wet bar, HUGE multi-head shower! The patios are private and the length of the rooms, very big. The best.

The staff is great and you can walk to the Delano, Lincoln Rd, Washington and the Beach!

GO GO GO and tell them Jimmy E sent you!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the BEST Deal. 1st and 2nd floors have jacuzzis....but it's 110degrees outside so w...
See more room tips
Green Features: Open Air Lounge means no pollution from running ac units 24 hours a day
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good Morning Jimmye1212,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean! The hotel is ideally located and are rooms are one of a kind. The showers are the best part! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope there are many more visits from you to the Z in the future.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We booked this hotel after reading some of the amazing reviews for 2 nights we definitely did not experience that. We book the jacuzzi terrace suite for $400 a nighy the hotel staff were great upon check in. The room was absolutely what we expected. They sent someone to start the jacuzzi it was pretty relaxing. The next day we got massages poolside it was mediocre at best! It was very loud & was a little uncomfortable being seen by other guests. We ate at the on site restaurant. Nothing stellar here especially for the price. check out day was the beginning of the drama. The mini bar guy woke us up on serval occasions beginning at 8 am we nicely told him we're sleeping can they do it upon checkout? He stated he would come back & he definitely did 3 times before noon! We were promised a late check out when making a reservation. Good luck with that the manager rudely informed us we couldn't get the late checkout. Then as we're packing to leave here come the mini bar again not only was he extremely run he actually cursed at us. Needless to say a high priced hotel doesn't mean you'll have a great experience. So disappointed will not ever book at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Afternoon Nilah Q,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are saddened to hear that your stay was not the great experience you were expecting. We appreciate your feedback and comments which will be shared with our executive committee. We are proud to say that the Z Ocean Hotel operates a full occupancy around the year. We would love to provide late check outs for all of our guests but due to occupancy we are not able to. We are more the willing to take requests and we are sorry that we were not able to honor your request for a late check out. We are glad to hear that enjoyed the room.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

To my new friend Jose and all the staff at the Z Ocean Hotel Miami,
From the moment I arrived you treated me with the greatest of respect and exceptional customer service. Fantastic luxurious room overlooking Ocean drive, comfortable bed, espresso machine, great amenities, large bathroom porcelain tiles, swimming lap pool, plasma tv, beach towel / sunbed service etc. Great recommendations from all the magnificent staff throughout the hotel especially at the front desk. Warm, friendly, polite, respectful, honest staff who genuinely want to make a international visitor enjoy beautiful Miami. Best decision I ever made was to stay at this excellent located hotel in South Beach Miami. Wished I stayed longer than two nights and highly recommend the Z Ocean Miami you will be spoiled by this wonderful "boutique" hotel. S from Australia :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Good Afternoon Alfa01,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. Please be assured that your new friend Jose and the rest of the staff of the Z Ocean will be shown this amazing review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. Here it to hoping you return in the future for a much longer stay! You are now our new Australian friend.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The employee: reception, concierge, porter, maid : very good people ! they listen and smile and interact with you in a very good way
The room: a lot of space and everything is practical, been there a few time
The restaurant: the hotel do not own the restaurant so over there the service/food have some up and down and they don't have something more than the others restaurants around, there reputation doesn't equal what they offer...the management must be sleeping...there a lot of amelioration that can be done, so easy to see....
Suggestions to the hotel:
* I travel a lot (member to a lot of hotels group, IHG too) and usually I take my flight after diner time so I leave the room at noon (if the late checkout is not possible) and sometime I need to change/shower and very good hotel have a special room for that. If not, well, you search for clean bathroom... So in miami, I go to the beach for the last day and need to change/shower...
* beware that some hotel offer 'breakfast' in there package but they don't say 'continental' or 'full' and you have to search/phone/clic to know and one principle of a good service is to make thing easy to the client

And yes I will return !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Good Afternoon flightaway24,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean! We appreciate your comments, feedback and suggestions. We are thrilled to hear that your enjoyed the employees and the room! Please be assured that a follow up will be done with the restaurant. We are glad to hear that you will be returning and we hope that will be sooner rather than later!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here for business for 6 nights. The hotel is in a perfect location with many restaurants and convenience stores within a block. When you arrive walk around the corner and you will see all the convenience stores including a starbucks. The hotel is across the street from the beach which is fine, they have a stand on beach for guests to get towels and chairs. My room was beautifuly done and I would request same room again. There is expresso machine in every room with a supply of free pods and there is a wet bar, microwave and fridge. There is a pool on second floor and a cafe and outdoor bar on first. I hope to stay here again next July!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Good Afternoon frefutravelor,

We hope you decide to stay next July as well! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and the nespresso maker! Anything we can assist you with for your next trip, please do not hesitate to contact a manager on duty. We are awaiting your arrival for next July to have another great time!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Z for 3 nights. Loved our pool side room that we were upgraded to due to my Platinum status. We received a champaign welcome followed by a bottle of wine sent to our room. We were made to feel very special during our visit! Thank you Dominiqgo!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Good Afternoon TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean. Thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards member. We are glad that we were able to make you feel special during your visit! Hopefully you will return to the Z!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.