We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for a romantic night in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
328 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for a romantic night in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location of the Z Ocean Hotel is great. It is right on Collins Ave. and Ocean Drive. This is not a large property, which is one of the charms of it. The front desk staff were amazing and offered us drink tickets to use at the Breezeway Bar in the hotel. We decided to check out our suite and then grab some drinks at their bar before explore Ocean Drive.

We had requested a suite with a rooftop terrace in a part of the building where we could look down and do some people watching from our balcony. Our room was perfect. The bathroom was amazing with a shower with numerous jets that spray out all at once. There was a nice in-room bar, but make sure you check the prices. Only grab things from here if your really need them. There are stores all around here where you can grab the same things for a lot less. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony was perfect. We were able to watch the night life for a bit, but we could not hear noise from outside once our balcony doors were shut. Directly off the balcony was a set of spiral steps that lead up to our private rooftop terrace area with a hot tub and amazing night views.

The Breezeway Bar had an amazing bartender who was doing a little "cocktail" action with bottle flipping, etc.; was fast with drinks; and was super friendly. We were there for happy hour so drinks were very very reasonable. They also have appetizer specials from the Front Porch Cafe. We had some hot wings that were great and very inexpensive. I would definitely recommend stopping here for this special and enjoying some good deals on drinks and munchies.

The one and only reason that I could not use five stars (wish I could do 4-1/2) was solely based on the cost we paid for this hotel room. In all fairness, we only stayed one night on a weekend before a cruise, so the cost of all hotels, motels, and BB's all over South Beach was just crazy. I would stay again but only if I was able to get a great sale or stay during the week rather than a weekend night. I would say it would be worth 5++++ stars if it was even a little more reasonable in cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Afternoon Shawni_and_Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us! Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as your kind words and feedback are greatly appreciated. Hopefully we see you return to the Z!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent 5 days in Miami at the end of a Florida Road Trip in Z Ocean. Hotel was ideally situated between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. The Staff in the Hotel were excellent and really made our stay excellent. Particular mention to the Bar Staff (Zach and James) who ran an excellent Bar and made everyone very welcome. The standard of housekeeping was also excellent. We stayed in a Lanai Suite with direct access to the Pool. Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. Excellent Value for money and would definitely recommend it especially if you are visiting for the first time as it is a great location with great bars and eating places right on the door step!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Good Afternoon Susan C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy 5 great days in Miami. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff especially Zach and James. Hopefully we will see you soon again.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Me and my girlfriends stayed here for 2 nights before heading out on a Caribbean cruise.
Upon arrival we learned that we got upgraded to a penthouse suite complete with Jacuzzi tub on the roof. The rooms are wonderful and the beds are so soft and comfortable. The showers were also fantastic. The staff were friendly and always greeted us with a smile. Any concerns we had were taken care of immediately.
It is conveniently located within walking distance to shopping areas, and had no troubles getting around. The pool was a nice way to end the days with a refreshing dip. I loved this hotel and would recommend in a second to anyone visiting South Beach. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzytizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Good Afternoon lizzytizzy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our rooftop room ( our best seller ) and the staff members! Hopefully we will see you soon at the Z Ocean for another great stay.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to SoBe 7 times and this was our first time in Z Ocean. Last week of June we stayed in a city view penthouse for 6 days and loved our room, especially the shower was amazing. It was husband's bday and we were sent a bottle of wine with a note, that was a nice touch. Our balcony and rooftop view was spectacular, at night we enjoyed ourselves in our rooftop hot tub overlooking the city !! The staff is very friendly and helpful they always asked us if we needed anything. Our room had a wet bar, as well as an empty mini-refrigerator and also a nespresso machine :) The room was cleaned everyday, towels changed, bed was made etc. We never had a problem about the noise (we had this problem in other sobe hotels before) and slept very well. We enjoyed the pool a lot, chairs are comfortable and plenty of towels and no crazy pool parties here. There was a small bar area next to pool where we were able to watch the world cup game and enjoy a cold drink. Now the best part of this hotel for us was the breakfast and beach chairs. We booked our room with breakfast included and on check-in we found out we could have breakfast as late as we like at the front porch cafe!! We have been to front porch cafe on our previous stays in sobe and loved it and this time we enjoyed ourselves here every morning, they must have the best breakfast in sobe!! Also the bar in the lobby was a very nice place where we enjoyed drinks after breakfast. The beach chairs, towels and umbrella were also included in resort fee and we used them everyday and found the umbrella very helpful. The beach was amazing and the location of this hotel is really great, at the north end of ocean drive (which we walked down to 8th st everyday) and also 2 blocks from walgreens and lincoln road where we did some shopping. We really loved this hotel and we will definitely return. I would like to thank the staff who made our stay special !

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are excellent, we loved the city view (PH 22)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mpnyc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Good Afternoon mpnyc08,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean! We are extremely thrilled and proud to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the bottle of wine.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The Z Ocean is ideally located at the north end of Southbeach. Lincoln, Espanola, Ocean and the beach are only steps away.

The rooms are great and the jacuzzi served as a nice plunge pool in the hot summer air.

The rooms themselves are all the same, which means a well designed suite with much more room than expected in South Beach. They also have very large balconies, some with jacuzzi tubs.

If the rooftop penthouses are available, you can't get much better with a spacious outdoor rooftop with stunning views.

Service was uniformly good including at the pool. The Front Porch Cafe on Ocean, well known for its breakfasts is the in house restaurant, which is a real advantage (lunch at the pool).

Prices in the summer were very reasonable. I am an obsessive researcher when picking a vacation. Z Ocean was a top notch choice!

You can't go wrong with any room class but the views in some are more pedestrian, so upgrade if you can.

We will be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BobC-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Good Afternoon BobC-ATL,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We are extremely thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We will be taking your word that you will be returning! Anything you may need, please do not hesitate to contact the manager on duty.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have only been to Miami one other time and didn't stay on South Beach, but my husband has frequented Miami and has always come back home with horror stories of the hotels he's stayed in, but of course he didn't have me planning those trips. So when we decided to go together I took over and researched where to stay and all roads pointed to the Z Ocean. The proximity to the beach was awesome, the rooms looked great, all the reviews were good so I booked it. My husband was tainted by all the bad hotels he's stayed in so when we pulled up he was pleasantly surprised. He loved the lobby, but was waiting to see the room. So we walked into the room and a HUGE smile came across his face! (Score one for the Mrs.) He inspected the room up and down and fell in love. Once he saw the shower he was completely sold! We've been home for two days and he's called our contractor to have him install body sprayers and an overhead rain shower.
I have not one complaint about this hotel. I used the fitness area which served it's purpose just nicely. The pool was nice and not crowded like I imagine most hotel pools to be in Miami. You're far away from the noise and craziness that is South Beach but close enough to be in the thick of it in just a 3-5 minute walk. I will definitely stay here again...just going to make sure I get one of those rooms with the hot tub next time. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good Morning Tennille S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely thrilled to hear that both your husband and yourself enjoyed the stay and room. Our spa inspired showers are amazing. Hopefully the contractor can make your bathroom the same way! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location, we spent one night here on the way to the airport, found the hotel great and the staff great. Mickey was great and helped us with things we needed. Our balcony was pool side which was good but a view of ocean drive looks better so maybe ask for that view if possible. Bar prices are pretty good and the bar lady was amazing. Worth the money.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good Afternoon David J,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for the Z Ocean Hotel. Hopefully we will see you in the future to enjoy the service and hotel for more then just one day!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,826 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#13 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing