We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Great Days in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“5 Great Days in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent 5 days in Miami at the end of a Florida Road Trip in Z Ocean. Hotel was ideally situated between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. The Staff in the Hotel were excellent and really made our stay excellent. Particular mention to the Bar Staff (Zach and James) who ran an excellent Bar and made everyone very welcome. The standard of housekeeping was also excellent. We stayed in a Lanai Suite with direct access to the Pool. Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. Excellent Value for money and would definitely recommend it especially if you are visiting for the first time as it is a great location with great bars and eating places right on the door step!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Good Afternoon Susan C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy 5 great days in Miami. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff especially Zach and James. Hopefully we will see you soon again.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    272
    80
    35
    40
See reviews for
189
679
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Me and my girlfriends stayed here for 2 nights before heading out on a Caribbean cruise.
Upon arrival we learned that we got upgraded to a penthouse suite complete with Jacuzzi tub on the roof. The rooms are wonderful and the beds are so soft and comfortable. The showers were also fantastic. The staff were friendly and always greeted us with a smile. Any concerns we had were taken care of immediately.
It is conveniently located within walking distance to shopping areas, and had no troubles getting around. The pool was a nice way to end the days with a refreshing dip. I loved this hotel and would recommend in a second to anyone visiting South Beach. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Good Afternoon lizzytizzy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our rooftop room ( our best seller ) and the staff members! Hopefully we will see you soon at the Z Ocean for another great stay.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to SoBe 7 times and this was our first time in Z Ocean. Last week of June we stayed in a city view penthouse for 6 days and loved our room, especially the shower was amazing. It was husband's bday and we were sent a bottle of wine with a note, that was a nice touch. Our balcony and rooftop view was spectacular, at night we enjoyed ourselves in our rooftop hot tub overlooking the city !! The staff is very friendly and helpful they always asked us if we needed anything. Our room had a wet bar, as well as an empty mini-refrigerator and also a nespresso machine :) The room was cleaned everyday, towels changed, bed was made etc. We never had a problem about the noise (we had this problem in other sobe hotels before) and slept very well. We enjoyed the pool a lot, chairs are comfortable and plenty of towels and no crazy pool parties here. There was a small bar area next to pool where we were able to watch the world cup game and enjoy a cold drink. Now the best part of this hotel for us was the breakfast and beach chairs. We booked our room with breakfast included and on check-in we found out we could have breakfast as late as we like at the front porch cafe!! We have been to front porch cafe on our previous stays in sobe and loved it and this time we enjoyed ourselves here every morning, they must have the best breakfast in sobe!! Also the bar in the lobby was a very nice place where we enjoyed drinks after breakfast. The beach chairs, towels and umbrella were also included in resort fee and we used them everyday and found the umbrella very helpful. The beach was amazing and the location of this hotel is really great, at the north end of ocean drive (which we walked down to 8th st everyday) and also 2 blocks from walgreens and lincoln road where we did some shopping. We really loved this hotel and we will definitely return. I would like to thank the staff who made our stay special !

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are excellent, we loved the city view (PH 22)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Good Afternoon mpnyc08,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean! We are extremely thrilled and proud to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the bottle of wine.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The Z Ocean is ideally located at the north end of Southbeach. Lincoln, Espanola, Ocean and the beach are only steps away.

The rooms are great and the jacuzzi served as a nice plunge pool in the hot summer air.

The rooms themselves are all the same, which means a well designed suite with much more room than expected in South Beach. They also have very large balconies, some with jacuzzi tubs.

If the rooftop penthouses are available, you can't get much better with a spacious outdoor rooftop with stunning views.

Service was uniformly good including at the pool. The Front Porch Cafe on Ocean, well known for its breakfasts is the in house restaurant, which is a real advantage (lunch at the pool).

Prices in the summer were very reasonable. I am an obsessive researcher when picking a vacation. Z Ocean was a top notch choice!

You can't go wrong with any room class but the views in some are more pedestrian, so upgrade if you can.

We will be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Good Afternoon BobC-ATL,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We are extremely thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We will be taking your word that you will be returning! Anything you may need, please do not hesitate to contact the manager on duty.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have only been to Miami one other time and didn't stay on South Beach, but my husband has frequented Miami and has always come back home with horror stories of the hotels he's stayed in, but of course he didn't have me planning those trips. So when we decided to go together I took over and researched where to stay and all roads pointed to the Z Ocean. The proximity to the beach was awesome, the rooms looked great, all the reviews were good so I booked it. My husband was tainted by all the bad hotels he's stayed in so when we pulled up he was pleasantly surprised. He loved the lobby, but was waiting to see the room. So we walked into the room and a HUGE smile came across his face! (Score one for the Mrs.) He inspected the room up and down and fell in love. Once he saw the shower he was completely sold! We've been home for two days and he's called our contractor to have him install body sprayers and an overhead rain shower.
I have not one complaint about this hotel. I used the fitness area which served it's purpose just nicely. The pool was nice and not crowded like I imagine most hotel pools to be in Miami. You're far away from the noise and craziness that is South Beach but close enough to be in the thick of it in just a 3-5 minute walk. I will definitely stay here again...just going to make sure I get one of those rooms with the hot tub next time. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good Morning Tennille S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely thrilled to hear that both your husband and yourself enjoyed the stay and room. Our spa inspired showers are amazing. Hopefully the contractor can make your bathroom the same way! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location, we spent one night here on the way to the airport, found the hotel great and the staff great. Mickey was great and helped us with things we needed. Our balcony was pool side which was good but a view of ocean drive looks better so maybe ask for that view if possible. Bar prices are pretty good and the bar lady was amazing. Worth the money.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good Afternoon David J,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for the Z Ocean Hotel. Hopefully we will see you in the future to enjoy the service and hotel for more then just one day!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Z Ocean South Beach is a beautiful hotel and I would recommend it to others. We had a beautiful room that opened out straight onto the swimming pool and our kids spent a happy afternoon swimming while we sat out on our very own terrace relaxing.

The beds were so comfortable and the bedding was luxurious. Everything had a quality feel to it. The staff was helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The only thing that spoiled things for us was a group of young people who stayed up all night partying in the next room. Yes we could have complained but they were rather intimidating people and they would have known the complaint was from us. It wasn't worth the hassle particularly as we had two young children with us. This wasn't the hotel's fault so don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good Afternoon Yorksrover,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and the staff. We are saddened to hear that your trip was spoiled by rowdy neighbors. We hope to see your family and you back at the Z to experience a flawless stay from start to finish. Anything you may need, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at elen.terzis@ihg.com or any manager on duty!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.