We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have only been to Miami one other time and didn't stay on South Beach, but my husband has frequented Miami and has always come back home with horror stories of the hotels he's stayed in, but of course he didn't have me planning those trips. So when we decided to go together I took over and researched where to stay and all roads pointed to the Z Ocean. The proximity to the beach was awesome, the rooms looked great, all the reviews were good so I booked it. My husband was tainted by all the bad hotels he's stayed in so when we pulled up he was pleasantly surprised. He loved the lobby, but was waiting to see the room. So we walked into the room and a HUGE smile came across his face! (Score one for the Mrs.) He inspected the room up and down and fell in love. Once he saw the shower he was completely sold! We've been home for two days and he's called our contractor to have him install body sprayers and an overhead rain shower.
I have not one complaint about this hotel. I used the fitness area which served it's purpose just nicely. The pool was nice and not crowded like I imagine most hotel pools to be in Miami. You're far away from the noise and craziness that is South Beach but close enough to be in the thick of it in just a 3-5 minute walk. I will definitely stay here again...just going to make sure I get one of those rooms with the hot tub next time. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Good Morning Tennille S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely thrilled to hear that both your husband and yourself enjoyed the stay and room. Our spa inspired showers are amazing. Hopefully the contractor can make your bathroom the same way! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    260
    79
    35
    38
See reviews for
175
650
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location, we spent one night here on the way to the airport, found the hotel great and the staff great. Mickey was great and helped us with things we needed. Our balcony was pool side which was good but a view of ocean drive looks better so maybe ask for that view if possible. Bar prices are pretty good and the bar lady was amazing. Worth the money.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good Afternoon David J,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for the Z Ocean Hotel. Hopefully we will see you in the future to enjoy the service and hotel for more then just one day!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Z Ocean South Beach is a beautiful hotel and I would recommend it to others. We had a beautiful room that opened out straight onto the swimming pool and our kids spent a happy afternoon swimming while we sat out on our very own terrace relaxing.

The beds were so comfortable and the bedding was luxurious. Everything had a quality feel to it. The staff was helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The only thing that spoiled things for us was a group of young people who stayed up all night partying in the next room. Yes we could have complained but they were rather intimidating people and they would have known the complaint was from us. It wasn't worth the hassle particularly as we had two young children with us. This wasn't the hotel's fault so don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good Afternoon Yorksrover,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and the staff. We are saddened to hear that your trip was spoiled by rowdy neighbors. We hope to see your family and you back at the Z to experience a flawless stay from start to finish. Anything you may need, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at elen.terzis@ihg.com or any manager on duty!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I decided to check out Miami for the 1st time in our lives. The activity, food, and culture entertained us our entire stay. The Z Ocean hotel is a little luxury behind all the hustle and bustle. Accommodations and service met our expectations and if we ever return - I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Z!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Good Morning lwcomo,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with. Hopefully you return to Miami for a second trip and stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I spent the most amazing time at this wonderful hotel. We were staying in Orlando for 2 weeks but booked an overnight in this hotel to visit Miami. Our biggest mistake was that we did not stay for longer. From the valet service, check in and champagne on arrival we could not fault, everything was just perfect. We had a Laini suite which was gorgeous. we also dined I the hotel in the Erving and both food and service were very good. A special mention for ALL staff, management should be very proud excellent customer service. We loved Miami and will return for a longer holiday and will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Good Morning 491doll,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean. We are extremely proud of our staff. We will make sure to share your comments to all our associates here at the Z Ocean. Hopefully we will see you soon to enjoy more fun times for a longer stay.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stay here back in 2012 an we loved it the staff was awesome the room was everything the best hotel on SOBE miami looking forward to seeing u all again see you soon July 2014. The pool was super nice the front porch food was amazing. I believe every one should travel at least once in they life time to Miami

Room Tip: Room with city view on Collins Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Good Morning Parisia216,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2012! Thank you for returning this July. We are awaiting your arrival to enjoy more fun times.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel every summer for the past four years, we had the pleasure of staying here for our honeymoon and we have been returning since with our small family that is increasing yearly. The penthouse is awesome and the service is fantastic too. We are returning again this year and we look forward to seeing all the staffs once again!!!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Good Morning Ola K,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We have enjoyed having you and your family stay year after year. Let's get ready for year 5 now! Anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact a manager on duty.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.