We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our second stay at the Z Ocean and it was fantastic as before. It's a Crowne Plaza and part of IHG group so I booked it with my points. Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was excellent and there was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting to thank me for my membership.
The quality and size of room was excellent. We had a Lanai Suite, which opens to the pool area which is great, plus you have your own reserved table, chairs and loungers.
Great location on Collins Avenue and a few seconds walk to Ocean Drive.
If you want to be near the Ocean Drive nightlife but stay somewhere slightly quieter then this is the ideal spot...
Superb hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Afternoon Leigh B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean Hotel! Thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Member. We are so happy you enjoyed the pool lanai room. Hopefully we will see you again here at the Z Ocean Hotel. Welcome to the Z Ocean family.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    256
    77
    35
    38
See reviews for
170
646
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pokolbin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in November 2013, this hotel is in a perfect location... only a walk across the road to the beach, a couple of blocks to the main shopping in South Beach, and a stroll to heaps of beachfront restaurants. Unfortunately we only stayed a night before a cruise but cannot wait to come back and enjoy this hotel again, wonderful clean rooms and friendly staff (concierge, reception, bar and restaurant staff all very friendly and helpful!) and highly recommend the city view roof top terrace suite, (lovely to watch the sun go down with a cocktail in your own private hot tub!). Definitely worth the extra money, thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Roof top terrace suites! All hotels should have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Good Afternoon Mindi1989,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you believe we are an excellent hotel. The rooftop room is absolutely wonderful as you said. Hopefully when you come back in the future you will be able to stay more then 1 day to enjoy that sunset! Welcome to the Z Ocean Family!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at Z Ocean last week with 2 friends. We were totally blown away with the service the staff gave. We couldn't fault one thing, which rarely happens when visiting hotels. The location is perfect, the staff were so helpful and friendly, the rooms were not huge but lovely nonetheless. It was clean, and we had a fantastic pool area just outside our back door which was so convenient. There's a great little bar near the lobby area and a restaurant which does delicious food. All in all this was one of our best trips and the service at the hotel was a huge contributing factor.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Lanai suite which was perfect for easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Good Afternoon Geeta C,

We are extremely thrilled that the staff was able to blow you away with the service. We are striving to make every guest happy and to create memorable stays. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Hopefully we will see you in the future here at the Z Ocean Hotel to create more memories together. Anything we can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact a Manager on duty or myself at elen.terzis@ihg.com.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Z Ocean Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My kids and I stayed in this hotel on March 23rd-March 28th, 2014.
Pros: The hotel is in a perfect location. The room is clean (But a little on the small side). Particularly liked the bathroom layout. With Toilet in the center and one sink on each side of the Toilet. The sink and Toilet area are separated, so three of us can use the bathroom in the same time.
The staff are friendly. Domingo who works at Concerige desk was extremely helpful. He went out his way to make sure the trip he helped us booked to everglades went smoothly. His friendly smile, his patience to my endless questions made our trip much more enjoyable.

Cons: The cleaning staff forgot to reset the alarm o'clock, It woke us up early in the first morning twice. We had trouble open the patio door. It gets noisy in the hallway.

But in general, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good Afternoon Spelic2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are extremely thankful for having Domingo as an associate and that he was able to assist you with the everglades tour and all your questions. The bathroom is loved by everyone. It is true that 3 individuals can use the bathroom at once which is the best part of the design. We are extremely saddened to hear that the alarm clock woke you up early twice. Please be assured that our Director of Housekeeping has been informed and is in the process of following up with the housekeeping staff to avoid this issue with any other guest. Your comments and feedback are extremely important to us! Hopefully we see you back at the Z Ocean Hotel soon!

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is not a cheap hotel. Not as expensive as some in this area, but still not cheap.
Room was a good size with large balcony but i would have traded most of that for not hearing every conversation or door closing in the corridor - it is as if the walls to the corridor were made of paper. Between the rooms nothing, but from the corridor - every sound.
Location here is great.
Staff very helpful.
Pool is nicely designed but not huge amounts of seating area around it.
Overall would not return unless deal very good to do so.
Brunch was slow and incorrect from restaurant.
Bar has zero atmosphere but bar tenders very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good Afternoon Stuman1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. Your comments and feedback are extremely important to us. We are happy you enjoyed the friendliness of the bartender and we will make sure to inform the Restaurant of that positive comment. We are thrilled to find out that you thought the staff was helpful and that you liked the location. We are located in a perfect spot. We do apologize for any inconvenience that the noise from the corridor caused. Our Director of Engineering has been informed and will look into the matter. The restaurant will be informed of the brunch service as well. We do hope you return in the future. Anything we can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact elen.terzis@gmail.com or a manager on duty.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided on staying at Z Ocean after reading through so many mixed trip advisor reviews for hotels in South Beach. While initially put off by the entrance to the hotel, we did find that it was really well situated for getting around South Beach. The hotel isn't directly on the beach but there was beach access quite literally 3 minutes walk away and great beach services that were shared with the Betsy hotel. The hotel itself had a good restaurant for breakfast and lunch (not too pricey either) and had a nice calm pool area with very friendly and attentive staff. In general, we were very impressed by the level of service offered by everyone at the hotel. The hotel concierge, Mickey, was great for finding tickets to the Miami Heat and for suggesting other things to do in the area. The rooms themselves were nice and clean, with balconies offering sun loungers. The bathroom, which wasn't perhaps private enough for our own liking all the time, did have a lovely wet room/shower. The few minor issues (one unclean pillowcase at arrival and a fellow guest talking loudly by the pool area at 2am) were dealt with very quickly and professionally by the staff. Having never stayed in South Beach before, I can't really comment on the value of the hotel with regards to price but I think it was fair with regards to rooms and services and would definitely recommend the hotel strongly based on our experiences with its staff.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool area which was mostly very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good Afternoon NoName311,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us. We are extremely thrilled that you found our staff to be excellent. We are glad Mickey was able to help with the Miami Heat tickets. Hopefully we see you soon here at the Z Ocean. We hope we were able to create fond memories of your stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

fantastic hotel and friendly, helpful staff. also recommend the front porch café for a lazy breakfast (French toast =om nom nom)
the room was really cool, great size and the hot tub was like icing on a cake. the view from our room wasn't amazing (a/c units) but the morning parrots made up for that!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good Afternoon cavyclaire,

We are extremely happy you enjoyed that French Toast at the Front Porch Cafe. It is absolutely delicious! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The room with the hot tub is a very enjoyable room. Hopefully you return to the Z Ocean in the future to enjoy it once more!

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.