We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, with wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, with wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here using my wife's IHG loyalty points, and it was a good choice. Location was on Collins Avenue, and very near to the beach and Ocean Drive, so right in the heart of the action. We were upgraded to a pool suite, where our room opened straight onto the pool area, which was great, and the suite itself was very well appointed and luxurious. I felt the room layout could have been improved upon, but other than that, no complaints. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the pool area, whilst small, never felt overcrowded. Good lobby area, and excellent service from all the staff and especially the concierge, but helped us out a number of times. Would recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Use the concierge service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Good Morning RobBos772,

We are extremely happy you used your wife's points to stay at the Z Ocean Hotel. Thank you for being such a loyal IHG Rewards member! The pool lanai room is an excellent suite and we are thrilled you loved the upgrade. Hopefully we see you at the Z Ocean in the future so you can enjoy the wonderful service and hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for us.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    279
    81
    36
    40
See reviews for
195
697
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sloatsburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the rooftop terrace with ocean view. I highly recommend it, my husband and I had an amazing time. The views from the terrace was partial ocean view but was okay. We had our own 4 person hot tub on the terrace which was great! Location is great too, although beach isnt on hotel property it is easily accessible and they have service at the beach with towels, chairs and light food and drinks. Lots of dinner choices due to location. Even hotel restaurant wasnt bad and the restaurant manager is great! Rooms were clean and staff was very attentive!!! Louis was great with helping me make our reservation and Fiorella at the front desk was extremely helpful and kind. We are already planning to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Good Afternoon jewel3152001,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your past stay with us here at the Z Ocean Hotel! Your comments will be shared with our staff especially Louis and Fiorella. Comments and feedback like this want us to keep on providing the service we are known to provide. We are so glad to hear that you are planning on returning! Welcome to the Z Ocean family. Anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west, fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The staff and management of this hotel made me and my better two-thirds feel like royalty. Without exception, they ALL were terrific, from the valet parking attendant to the concierge to the cleaning personnel, everyone was cheerful and attentive. Our room did not have the ocean view that we had hoped for, but otherwise it was more than satisfactory in every way, posh really. Breakfast at the Front Porch restaurant downstairs couldn't have been better, either. We would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. Thanks, Ramon, for running a top-notch operation. (The spa offerings looked great on paper, btw, but neither of us took advantage of any of them.)

Room Tip: We had a cheerful corner room. I was reticent at first, because it was adjacent to the pool, and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Good Afternoon Bluejey,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean Hotel! We are extremely proud that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you summed it up as "Stellar". Here it to hoping that you will return to the Z Ocean Hotel so that we can create more memories together. Please be assured that your comments will be shared from our General Manager Ramon to our staff. Please do not hesitate to contact a Manager on Duty if we can assist you with anything in the future.
Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! The location could not be any better!! Right across the street from the beach and surrounded by great restaurants and clubs...across the street from Jerry's Deli! Awesome stay!! I highly suggest staying here, I literally have no complaints about it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Good Afternoon John D,
We are extremely thankful that you took the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean Hotel. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. Hopefully we see you again at the Z Ocean. As you stated, the Z Ocean is ideally located with plenty of options for shopping, food and entertainment. We hope your meal at Jerry's Deli was delicious! Welcome to the family!
Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 3 glorious nights at the Z Ocean, fairly pricey but worth every cent! Everyone should do this at least once in your lifetime! The place is spectacular, sitting in the private hot tub on the rooftop balcony under the stars will make you feel like a celebrity! They have thought of everything and forgotten nothing in this beautiful hotel. I hope we can return again, it made our vacation one of the most memorable to date! Love it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Good Afternoon Carter27,

We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Z Ocean Hotel. We strive to make every guest happy and their stay memorable. We see that you enjoyed your private hot tub which is the past part of the room. Thank you for such a positive review! Hopefully we see you again here at the Z Ocean!

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The staff is fantastic, Jose at the front desk was incredibly helpful. The room was amazing, wet bar, nice balcony, the best shower of any hotel I've been. I would suggest asking for a room away from the housekeeping closet, we heard the door slam shut like 30 times. The location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Good Afternoon SCtraveler54171,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean Hotel! We will make sure to inform our Front Desk Agent, Jose , of the positive remarks about him. We do apologize though for the noise with the door of the housekeeping department. Please be assured that our Director of Housekeeping has already been notified in order to reduce/eliminate the noise the door makes on the floors. Hopefully you decide to come back and stay with us in the future. Than k you for staying at the Z Ocean Hotel.
Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were greeted at the lobby of the Z hotel by a friendly staff and offered a glass of champagne. The hotel itself is lovely and our room, a rooftop suite was fantastic. Well appointed with a nice kitchen area, living space and large bathroom with a great shower. The rooms lower balcony is larger that most that you will find in South Beach but the rooftop balcony is huge! There is a wet bar with refrigerator and a large hot tub. There is also plenty of room for a table with 4 chairs and a lounger which was nice but I think designed for people who are under 5 feet tall as your legs and feet hang over the edge. The beach service was quite good as well with nice comfy lounge chairs and it wasn't overly crowded either. Here is the only reason that I am not giving the hotel a higher rating. Day 1 I was leaving the hotel to go out for a couple of hours. I pushed the button on the wall to make up the room. In addition, knowing that perhaps they wouldn't see the light I made a point to tell them at the front desk and ask that they send someone to do so. I returned 2.5 hours later to find housekeeping just walking in to the door. I thought it was a fluke however there was day 2. Basically the same scenario. Left to go to the beach and again made a point to make up the room. Returned almost 3 hours later to find housekeeping again in the room. Later in the day I went to make coffee and for some reason the coffee maker failed and kept giving me hot water and swallowed the pods bending them to make them useless. We called the front desk and asked that they send someone to replenish the coffee so we would have some in the morning. We went out for the entire evening and returned to no coffee. Neither thing would prevent me from staying in this hotel again. However, it does prevent me from giving it a higher rating based on my experience there.

Room Tip: The rooftop suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Good Afternoon Adrienne W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Z Ocean. We try our hardest to ensure that all guest requests are met. We are extremely saddened to hear that you experienced issues with housekeeping services and the coffee machine. Please be assured that this review has been shared with the staff in order to avoid issues like this. We strive to make every guest stay enjoyable and memorable in the right way. Hopefully we see you soon so you can experience a perfect stay that does not miss a higher mark. Anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact a Manager on Duty.
Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.