We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place on South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a small niche hotel spanning Ocean Drive to Collins Ave near 15th Street. It is just a few blocks to the Lincoln Road Mall in one direction or the ocean in the other. Our room was very nice, opening directly on the pool with our own small patio and table, the room itself was dark adn quiet for sleeping. The decor was trendy, with a partial partition enclosing a flat screen TV on each side separating the sleeping from the sitting area of the room. The bath had a large walk in shower, vanity area and toilet all partitioned from each other, allowing multi-use. Comfortable bed and furniture, overall this was a great find and we will stay there again when in the Miami area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    697
    248
    76
    33
    37
See reviews for
152
630
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We visited a lot of different hotels while in South Beach, and were so happy we had booked our stay with Z Ocean. The other hotels along the same Calibur (SLS, Delano, etc) were around the same price, but we got a much better value at Z Ocean: bigger rooms, better more personable service, and our private jacuzzi on the roof! (Tip: Do not go to the roof to look at the jacuzzi or furniture until after they set it up. There's a reason they put towels on the patio furniture - its very old and outdated with rips and stains all over it)

The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful and seemed to know everyone by name. We got to the hotel at 7am, and by 10am they had a room ready for us. Unfortunately, the room that was ready at 10am was one of the rooms that was facing the empty lot next door. We called and asked to switch rooms, and they said there was nothing available but to check later in the afternoon at normal check in time... and guess what? They moved us then.

The Front Porch also had an amazing happy hour deal: $5 appetizers and half priced drinks. I think we had happy hour there almost every day! The bartenders are great, so if having happy hour, please be sure to leave an extra tip on top of the 20%, since it's based on the half price discont you're receiving.

Only complaint is that the pool really isn't a fun place to hang out, but who needs a pool when you have the beach across the street!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 wonderful days at this small, lovely hotel. The room was a mini-suite with a frig, microwave, coffee maker, room safe, lots of storage, huge bathroom (great shower!!), evening turndown service, plenty of fluffy towels, etc. The balcony was the the length of the whole room and overlooked Collins Ave. We enjoyed sitting out there watching the world go by and that wall of glass and sliding door made for a very bright room. We also enjoyed relaxing by the pool on the 2nd floor. All the employees were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, close to the beach and the boardwalk, great restaurants on Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. We would love to return here on a future trip to South Florida.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very nice and large. It is in a great location, although not directly on beach. The location is good for walking to many locations in the south beach area. The Front Porch has good food, but no fine dining in this hotel. Try the watermelon martini in the bar, very good!
Everyone was very nice & accommodating.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great locations, good quality and service, but overpriced. You always get what you pay for, but is it is a good value for money?! Probably not the best. If you need good, quite, quality time with someone special, it is a good choice, if you need a place just to sleep while hanging out most of the day on the beach or night in clubs, then maybe you need to look for something cheaper.

Good one overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This hotel has a great location. the room balcony had a great overlook of Collins Avenue.the rooms were really nice.the sad thing to be grace is a very accommodating overall I had a great experience..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This Boutique Hotel out did themselves in the quality of the services offered. The accommodations were the best we have ever experienced, rooms new clean and chic, the customer service was above and beyond excellent. I cannot express how terrific the whole experience was. You got to choose this Hotel above the others on south Beach, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: A room on the pool floor would be nice if you don't want to do the beach. The beach is just outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.