We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent experience. First Rate accommodations . I would highly recommend ! The Conceirge handle my every request promptly and with a smile. Love the roof top Jacuzzi, I will definitely stay again Soon I Hop

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear JT

Thank you so much for your review of the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach... although brief we get it - YOU LIKED US!!!.. The Rooftop Jacuzzi's are amazing and with the right person a lot of fun also... Hope you visit us soon and thanks again for the kind words.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    262
    80
    35
    38
See reviews for
177
656
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Room was spacious, bed comfortable, and location was convenient to the beach, nightlife, and a Starbucks. Glass bottom pool made for good photo ops and room had a nice sized balcony overlooking ocean drive. Loved the shower with multiple jets and rain shower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Liz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities during your visit... I should be a Realtor the way I mention Location, Location and Location... of our hotel and yes we are located across the street from a Starbucks (but Front Porch Cafe, coffee is much better). You mentioned Photo-Ops but you didn't post any... why don't you post on our Facebook page we love seeing those pictures. Well what more can I say besides it's getting cold in Maryland and flights are only two hours away so we hope to see you soon!!!

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Location!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The room was very comfortable and the proximity of the hotel to nightlife and restaurants was unbeatable. The concierge, Mickey was incredibly accomodating from helping with dinner reservations to recommending the best spots to celebrate a birthday. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Jordana Z,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent visit here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach.... First we all want to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY again and thanks for choosing us to celebrate your special event. You and your friends are fantastic guests and it was our pleasure to host you during your visit. Mickey says hello as well as Elen. Come back soon!! Don't wait for another birthday....

All the best.


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked through Expedia.ca 3 nights in an OCEAN VIEW room. On arrival we were given a room that overlooked the street, no ocean in sight. Advised hotel staff who said they don't have ocean view rooms, only ocean glimpses, but these were a room upgrade and we would have to pay extra as our booking was not the hotels fault or problem!! No amount of reasoning with staff made any difference who could have cared less. A 90 min phone call later to Expedia I was told I would receive a $100 credit to account for the extra I had paid for an 'ocean view' room (even though hotel staff were now saying to 'upgrade' to an ocean glimpses room would be considerably more) and that we would be upgraded the following night for the remaining 2 nights to the ocean glimpses room. The other option was a full refund and book another hotel. It was 5:30pm on Halloween in South Beach and we had spent the whole day travelling... Not an option. I was ok with the refund/upgrade, but the Expedia manager said although it would 'happen', he couldn't guarantee it. I went downstairs to advise staff of my conversation with Expedia to confirm the arrangements and they knew nothing about it. I asked for the Manager who wasn't available until the next day. When I spoke to him he insisted it was not their fault, but he would look into it and get back to me with some possible solution. We never heard from him again. The room fiasco didn't ruin our holiday, the staffs attitude & indifference did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Lennox71,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First let me say that we came to the Z for a 7 night stay with an open mind but expectations of something pretty special especially as we had booked a rooftop king suite. We were very disappointed that the hotel let itself down in many ways. I'll start with the positives: bell staff attentive and helpful, Mickey the concierge was great, the showers were fantastic and roomy, bed comfortable, location brilliant (the construction on Collins Street was loud and a bit annoying but hardly the responsibility of the hotel)
Now for the disappointment: first of all our reservation was cancelled. I called the hotel from the airport in Australia before our 22 hours of traveling to inform what time we would be arriving to be told our reservation had been cancelled! I was shocked as I had an email confirmation. Apparently there was trouble with my credit card and the reservation manager had tried to telephone me to no avail (I have Chilean credit cards and cel phone and both can be unreliable). When I asked why no one had emailed me I was told they didn't have my email address (despite me having an emailed confirmation - hmmmmmm). Fortunately they had a suite available but not the partial ocean view I originally had been confirmed. So since we were flying from Australia in 30 minutes I had no choice but to accept the Collins Street view. I then asked the girl I was speaking to, to email me a confirmation of this booking, confirming my email address with her 3 times. I'm still waiting for it to arrive. I also didn't get the original rate of my first confirmed reservation.
Housekeeping was one of the slackest I've come across! Dust lined every surface in the room and was not once dusted the entire week (my finger trail in the dust confirmed it). With the construction happening on the street housekeeping should be stepping up to be super vigilant! The empty bathroom amenity bottles were just left in the shower so by the end of the stay there was quite a pile (I could have binned them myself but was curious to see how long they would build up for), glasses not refreshed, toilet paper not adequately refreshed so we had to use facial tissues, the bed not made ( despite the sofa bed being re made up - no logic in that), we left one day and got back at 6pm to find the room untouched. The next day, after another day out, we had to call them at 4 pm to say we were going out at 4.45 so could we please have our room serviced while we were out?!?! The pillows are thin, shallow excuses of a pillow. Most contemorary hotels offer pillow menus now so that's a suggestion for management. Nothing was ever straightened up in the room (I'm talking basic stuff like putting the ironing board and iron away for us and worse - leaving a dirty room service tray in the room after a 'service'). Mini bar wasn't refreshed until we asked for it (and even then it still wasnt!!) It was very bad and really shows either a poor attitude or poor training of housekeeping staff.
Room service was also hit and miss. We ordered burgers and fries one night and they arrived bland and stone cold (seriously!), a second attempt when my daughter specifically stated we had to leave the hotel for an appointment by a certain time resulted in her basic grilled cheese lunch having gone to the wrong room and us having to chase it up. Resulted in her wrapping it in a napkin and taking it with her (cold). Last night's was ok.
The Front Porch Cafe did a very nice breakfast and their coffee was really delicious (hard to find in the US)
We had a rental car for a couple of days and specifically requested it to be brought up at 7.30am as we had a long drive to the Keys. Not only was the car not there as requested they firstly tried to give us the wrong car then took ages to find ours. This was annoying as it delayed our start by at least 30 minutes as we had to stand around waiting for ages before a valet attendant even showed up!
The roof top jacuzzi area did not look the least bit inviting. Furniture was tired looking, and the surface of the floor was patchy and repairs on the stairs was patchy and really amateur looking. We gave it a miss as nothing made us want to spend time up there (another disappointment) - it just looked super ordinary.
We checked out this morning, and since we have a midnight flight out of Miami International tonight I asked reception if it was possible to have a later check out even if only for a couple of hours. This was automatically declined 'as the hotel was fully booked'. In my vast experience of traveling and staying in 5 star properties, this can usually be achieved for guests with a little juggling. She didn't even attempt to find out if it was possible - just straight out "no".
So by 12 noon, I was tired and disappointed and just wanted to leave. I did tell the nice young man who checked me out how disappointed I was in housekeeping and he expressed his apology.
I had hoped to have my South Beach vacation at The Betsy but they couldn't accommodate us for the full 7 nights. Next time I will change my dates and put my $4000 plus into The Betsy for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Leigh M,

Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience. We are terribly sorry that you had such a poor experience during your visit and that we take these comments very seriously. I will be looking into each service breakdown you experienced and all will be addressed thoroughly. I hope we have your contact information as we will be sending you out a special gift (please contact me at frank.fuentes@ihg.com). We hope you will change your mind and give us another chance to prove we are still an excellent hotel.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

While we only spent one night, the Z hotel made it a great one. We stayed in a room with a partial ocean view rooftop balcony that had a whirlpool tub, lounge chairs and an eating table. We stayed in the middle of the week, so it was not crowded and we had the rooftop pretty much to ourselves. The hotel is located on the north end of Ocean Drive, so it is convenient to the beach and to the nightlife.

The staff at the hotel was very welcoming. We arrived early and they were able to get our room inspected and ready to go while we were chatting over the glasses of champagne they gave us when we arrived. The concierge at the hotel was extremely helpful in giving us information and advice about the area, including restaurants, bars, and the like.

The pool area was nice as was the bar. The shower in the room was fantastic, with 5 different strong streams of water. My daughter slept on the pull out bed and that worked great.

It was quite expensive, but well worth it for a one-night stay. We were off to a cruise the next day and flew from Wisconsin to Miami the day before. When you look at it that way and you know you are spending $$ for air travel and the like, it is worth it to spend the extra night there.

Room Tip: The rooftop balconies are cool, but not entirely private, so best to book them during the week when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Z Ocean Hotel South beach, your feedback is greatly appreciated. It was great to read that we started your vacation off on the right direction!! Your champagne check-in is our way of welcoming you into our home... Glad you enjoyed your shower and that your daughter traveling with you also had a good time (did she receive a "Z" bear?). Hope your cruise was just as wonderful as your stay here. Hope to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Best location, Best service.. Se love the hotel.. Next time we visit Miami Beach, we stay at the same hotel.. The restaurants around the hotel are amazing... Thank you só much.. My babies love the pool... :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Google Translation
Dear FilipaH,

Muito obrigado pelas suas amáveis ​​palavras em sua recente estadia aqui no Oceano Z. Nós estamos deliciados que você tenha gostado mesmo e seus bebês tinha um grande momento! Uma vez que você tem filhos que é tudo que importa se eles têm um bom tempo que é tudo o que importa. Ansiosos para recebê-lo de volta em breve.

Tudo de bom,

Frank "eu não falo português" Fuentes
Diretor de Vendas e Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.