We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On...and off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Pflugerville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On...and off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greated by smiles as SOON as we stepped out of our shuttle. The staff at Z Ocean was nothing short of professional AND just all around happy to be there. We were served glasses of champagne while we waited for our room to be ready (which took under 10 minutes) then escorted to our room. The view from our room was right over the pool, with huge windows - palm trees and nice soothing running water from the fountains at the pool below.

We ate a the restaurant on location (Front Porch Cafe) which was also great, fast and fresh. I requested sidewalk tables and sat enjoying my food while people watching. A MUST in South Beach!

Our concierge, Mickey REALLY knew his stuff. He made tons of recommendations, helped with our reservations and would stop and talk to us about happenings in the city. :)

Our bartenders, hooked us up when it came to underground music clubs (thanks Major!) and Phil was all in all a super cool guy (good luck with your race up in Las Vegas ;-) )

Rooms - Extremely clean, housekeeping was outstanding and we even had a BOSE stereo to jam out to while chilling in our room.

Pool - Great service and comfy chairs to lounge in

There was a daily resort fee but 150% worth the cost - the guys down by the beach HOOKED us up every day with chairs, umbrella, towels and front row view of the ocean. SUPER FUN!!

I would definately go back to this hotel and was sad to leave so soon!

FYI - the fact that the room was stocked with Aveda was an extra bonus. It's my favorite brand!!

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor facing pool, quiet yet scenic with palm trees.
See more room tips
Green Features: They went out of their way to put signs around rooms and restrooms on the premises to help conserve water.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear gardzilla13

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach your feedback is greatly appreciated. It brings us great joy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, the staff work very hard to exceed all guest expectations while on property. Thank you for the kind words about the staff members I will be sure to share the feedback with the all. I am happy that you had a chance to try restaurant and breezeway bar. Glad you liked our AVEDA products they are truly the best and guests love them. We hope to welcoming you back soon to our little secluded OASIS.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    298
    83
    39
    41
See reviews for
207
733
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing family stay at the Z Ocean Hotel.
The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful; they were very accommodating to make sure we had an excellent experience at this beautiful hotel.
The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, Nice view and perfect location
I would highly recommend this hotel for its service, location and quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear David.

Thank you for your recent visit to the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach! So happy to hear that the team and hotel were perfect for your visit. We look forward to welcoming back soon.... Our regards to your family..

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013



We flew into Fort Lauderdale and got a taxi to the hotel. The taxi was $78 and took 45 minutes. We checked in just before midnight on Thursday. The hotel room (standard room without jacuzzi)was nearly perfect. Very clean elegant modern efficient and chic. The bedding, and pillows were crisp and white. My wife and I loved it. Walked 1 block to Espanola Way for a cocktail and appetizer and back to our rock star hotel for some much need rest.

Unfortunately we were awoken at 8 AM with the large construction equipment jackhammering directly outside of our room. We immediately called the manager to complain. She offered us a room just two doors down which didn't appear to be a better solution. She was apologetic and stated the "city" construction was out of their control and had been posted on the website. Manager stated the hotel was booked up and couldn't move us to the other side of the hotel away from the construction. We were unhappy as there was no real solution or accommodation. Wish we were warned at the front desk during check in so we would had some foresight.

Our final night in Miami, the front desk offered us to move to a different room away from the construction. Pleasantly they upgraded us the the roof top penthouse with jacuzzi. We were very appreciative and felt it was better late than never. The RT penthouse is essentially the standard suite plus a spiral staircase leading to the private outdoor lounge with a jacuzzi that they fill for you when you need it. The rooftop could use some attention to detail(damaged concrete, weathered furniture and lacking color).

Z Ocean is located in a perfect location. Only a minutes the beach, the back entrance is on Ocean Boulevard, and 10 min stroll to Lincoln road mall(the happy hours at the Meat Market and Rosa Mexicana on Friday and Doraco daily for sushi are not to be missed). Also ate at the onsite restaurant the Front Porch Cafe for breakfast twice. The iced lemon water in lobby was deliciously refreshing in the Miami heat.

The pool at Z is small and generally unattended. Management please note that all though the tile around the pool is beautiful, it is also dangerously slippery. The caution wet floor signs are not enough, especially around the pool steps. Some floor mats may save from a lawsuit.

FYI There is a $20 daily fee for use of chairs, towels, and umbrellas on the beach. We believe the should be optional for guests and not mandatory.

Overall enjoyed our choice of Z ocean and when we return to Miami we will consider returning to the Z.



Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear TripadCaptain1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, your feedback Is greatly appreciated. I am pleased to hear that you had the chance to try everything that the hotel has to offer and the local area. Our location is great to everything here on South Beach . As for the construction on the main road glad to say there are done and moved on to the next block so no more jack hammering!!! Thank you for the kind words about the staff I will be sure to share the feedback with them all. We hope to have you back to the hotel in the near future please contact me directly for a special welcome back rate frank.fuentes@ihg,com

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Second visit to the Z ocean hotel and its by far my favorite hotel in south beach. Clean spacious rooms, tasty room service, every room has a balcony except pool lanai rooms. The resort fee includes the use of beach towels, umbrellas, and beach chairs on the beach. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Miami/South Beach area. After visiting a few other hotels in the area, and visiting this hotel twice, The Z. Ocean is by far my favorite hotel in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Travelboi87,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach and welcome back.... the feedback is greatly appreciated. It brings us great joy to know that your second experience was just as good as your first. You hit the nail on the head when you mention that the most important part of the stay was the service, as without this all of our wonderful offerings do not matter. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a great stay here from start to finish. Check-in was warm and friendly, complete with an offer of champagne. We were assigned a pool-side room that was spectacular. The pool itself is very nice, and the glass window at the bottom opens to the lobby level, an interesting feature. The beach is a very short walk across the street and the beach and when we arrived we were promptly offered chairs and towels. One of the best things about this hotel is the restaurant out back. Very peaceful compared to the offerings further south and very good food. Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Pool-level very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear 561BrianC2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach your feedback is greatly appreciated. It brings us great joy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, the staff work very hard to exceed all guest expectations while on property. Thank you for the kind words about the staff at check in and the beach team I will be sure to share the feedback with them all. We are also happy that you had a chance to try the Front Porch Cafe... the food their is AMAZING (just had the Green Eggs and Ham myself this morning) glad you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to having you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here past weekend and had high hopes after reading the great reviews on tripadvisor. From the start to the end it was nothing but crappy attitude from all the hotel staff expect concierge Mickey & Chris busboy.

When we came back from the late night and were talking in the elevator and lobby area the late night valet/busboy came knocking on our door telling us not to talk in the hotel. WHAT WE ARE AT A LIBRARY OR AT A SCHOOL that he has to knock to tell us we cannot talk when we were paying so much for the crappy hotel !!!!!!

We had snacks in our balcony on Friday afternoon and they had not cleaned up till we left on Sunday. So you can figure what's the standard cleaning policy is.

Yes the construction infront of the hotel was loud. It started at 8 AM in the morning till 6 PM.

Our shower light was busted and last thing we wanted to do was take more crap from the front desk about getting it fixed. We took showers in the dark.

If you come after hours when the hotel restaurant is closed and want to hangout in the lounge area forget using bathroom.

The front desk did not want to unlock the bathroom near the lobby ...they wanted us to go to our room to use it.
Person at the front desk could have politely said about their hotel policy ...however she was RUDE.

So if you have kids or want to enjoy the hotel stay low and quite, make them use only the bathroom in your room otherwise you will upset the valuable staff of Z

Wondering if all the positive reviews are paid reviews by hotel owners.

NEVER RECOMMENDING THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE .....THERE ARE PLENTY OF CHOICES NEAR BY.

Room Tip: Find another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear VA_DMOM,

We are so disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay at the Z Ocean and as I told your friends who also left reviews " Kutrami" and "Lazavo-73." After investigating your concerns, security did approach your group of ladies and asked if you could finish your conversation in your suite because it was 3AM and our other guests were trying to sleep. For security reasons we lock our public restrooms at midnight and since it was after 2am when you requested to use them they were closed and we suggest our guests use their suites. Once again I apologize for this inconvenience and will review with security but please understand it is for our guest safety and hotels. Your comment about shower light being out is confusing we don't have lights in our showers.. and our bathroom lighting has all been upgraded to LED lighting with bulbs that last up to ten years and none were out in your suite when I investigated the fixture in shower is an exhaust fan with no lights. We would really like to look further into the issues you mentioned about your guestroom. If you have a moment, please email me anymore information to frank.fuentes@ihg.com. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to perhaps welcoming you back.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
NOTE: All our TripAdvisor reviews are 100% accurate and real we do not post nor encourage anyone to post false reviews on our behalf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at Z ocean hotel for 3 nights for Girls Getaway trip...I would say starting from the front desk worst customer service. People are full of attitude, horrible customer service, staff is lazy and racist. They offered Champagne to the couple in front of us but when we asked what about us girls...they said this is only for "SPECIAL OCCASION" ya right. Next was there was construction going on in the front of the hotel we got one room facing the front and one room facing the pool. The one facing the front of the hotel we could hear the noise of construction really loud so we asked if you could please move us to another room or if you want we can pay extra to upgrade room. Manager goes we are completely sold out. Ya right room next to the pool all are empty not a single person outside...we could def tell hotel was not full. After arguing and requesting and begging they finally said Oh btw one room just opened up....ya sure. Great location but staff full of attitude and racist. DO NOT RECOMMEND STAYING AT THIS HOTEL and OVERPRICED.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Kutrami,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. I am surprised that you felt our colleagues were insincere and not helpful during your visit, as all our associates are trained and instructed to make sure our guests are their top priority. As for your statement that our staff made any decision based on your race, I can assure you that this is not correct, our hotel has a strict policy in both our hiring of associates and the treatment of guests as well as each other of zero tolerance. As far as being able to move your suite unfortunately on the night you arrived our hotel was at capacity (100% full) and we were not able to move your suite but after discussing with Front Desk team I was informed that your suite was moved the following morning to accommodate your request. The construction currently under way is part of the City of Miami Beach street closure and has nothing to do with hotel directly (although we inform all our guests on our website and confirmations) the closure should be over by 10/20. Once again I am sorry that your visit was not enjoyable. We hope that you will give us another chance, on your next visit to South Beach. Thank you again for your feedback.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.