We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and it was a very nice experience.
Let me get to the point immediately.
The positives:
Location as it's on Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive
Rooms (big, modern and well equipped)
Bathrooms (shower is great although no bath)
Pool (although not big)
Hot tub
Staff was great

Negatives:
No free wifi in the rooms (only at reception and pool)
Bed mattresses (of main bed and sofa bed) were of poor quality
Location is great but as it's near to the clubs on Ocean Drive, it can be somewhat noisy at night due to the crazy (drunk) people and the noisy cars (or I guess you could blame the crazy people again for wanting to show off with the noise of their cars...)
Not immediately situated on the beach (although it's only a few steps away)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it was a very nice experience for us.

Room Tip: Our room was situated on Ocean Drive and the only downside was the noise at night from some crazy pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear PiHe10,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your experience at the Z Ocean Hotel South beach, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for the kind words about the staff they work very hard to exceed guest expectations on a daily basis, I will be sure to share the feedback. Your negative feedback is also being addressed this summer with upgrades to our bedding and as for free wireless in the rooms in 2014 this will be offered complimentary for guests joining our IHG Rewards program, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Z Ocean Hotel soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    253
    76
    34
    38
See reviews for
167
640
32
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the hotel. This time the hotel was full and we weren't upgraded and while everything was great it just didn't feel as great as last time.

As before the hotel location is great and has great ambiance.

Rooms were comfortable although we didn't enjoy having a room facing Collins (last time we faced the pool - both times), amazing shower and a small but nice pool. We did use the Jacuzzi and unlike last time it was really well heated.

Were there only for a day but did enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TRAAVELER,

Thank you for your review on your stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach and welcome back. So nice to read your feedback I apologize if you felt that your visit this time wasn't as memorable as your previous stay. I personally invite you back to give us a chance to prove ourselves and win you over.

Please contact me directly for your future stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel was great for a girls getaway. The staff was tolerant of loud music etc. The location was excellent!! The beach is directly across the street near Starbucks for morning coffee. The hotel room was decent but we did have to request towels several times but they did bring them right away. The concierge Mickey helped us a lot in finding things to do (definitely go to Mangos- they have Magic Mike men lol!!). The hotel is in need of updates but we were not concerned because we were having such a good time. Now the bad part.
DO NOT GO TO THE SPA!!!!
List of things wrong:
While undressing two men entered the back door and saw me in just my underwear (also happened to the bride to be-embarrassing)!!
There were dishes dropping in the back hall.
The room was freezing!!
The skin treatment was not pleasant, and the water was cold.
The chairs for our mani and pedi were kitchen chairs and our feet were in basins!!
Very loud talking the entire time!!! No luxury spa is like that, its always peaceful and serene. Just very unprofessional! We paid $330 per person. It was soooo awful!!!!!!

Other than the spa they were good to us. Appropriate for the non-family crowd.

Room Tip: Bachelorettes: Go with the roof top suite with the ocean view!! Plug your ipod into the awesome Bos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Shane R,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We do regret that you were not fully satisfied with the spa services. We were very pleased to see the high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, Service, and Value. Rest assured we will take these comments into consideration when evaluating opportunities to improve so that you or our next guest has a stay to remember. We hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days and they did not make up the room. Girl at the front desk could care less. Good luck having anyone make up your room, provide fresh towels, etc.

This hotel can get really loud. Way overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Globalvoyage,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise and the poo housekeeping. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We chose Z Ocean for our anniversary this year. We stayed in a penthouse oceanview suite with rooftop jacuzzi. The room was amazing. Super clean. Cozy bed. Huge shower with rainshower and all. The bathroom was classy and very, very clean. Cleanest bathroom at a hotel, ever! Great bar/kitchen area with fridge and glasses and utensils. I could go on and on with how amazing this room was. Then we had a balcony right outside our room which was cozy with chairs and table. Also had a private spiral staircase that led to our rooftop. The jacuzzi was huge and very clean. Each time we needed it filled someone was up there within 2-5 minutes to fill the tub and bring fresh towels and bath salts. Had a few issues with broken shower head and light fixture but the staff was attentive and timely. All in all a great place to stay in Miami Beach! Oh, and the beach concierge service that offers towels chairs and umbrellas was a great perk to staying at Z Ocean. I would definitely stay here again and would reccommend this place. The location being right between Collins and Ocean was to die! You can also walk to Lincoln Mall! No car needed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Rooftop Ocean View Suite! Go big or go home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear April Ann S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Here at the hotel we are very proud of the intimate boutique atmosphere that we offer and it brings be great joy to know that you enjoyed it. I am glad to hear that you had some concerns during your stay and that our staff attentiveness and efficiencies resolved the problems quickly and to your satisfaction We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel on ocean drive. The hotel provides free loungers and towels on the beach from cabana 14. The rooms are we proportioned for the area with a queen and double sofa bed, 2 tv's & toilets and basins with one shower, great if you are travelling with more than one child (like us). Prices are in line with the neighbouring Betsy Hotel and other similar properties between 1-15th street on ocean drive. The front porch cafe is excellent for breakfast, arrive early as the queues can get quite long. The only downside is that the lobby bar closes early at 9pm, that said there are plenty of eating and drinking establishments available on ocean drive and further afield. The concierge service is also highly recommended as is the pool on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Costadellappers,

Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach.

Very nice to read that you enjoyed the hotel, the size of our suites and the staff was attentive and friendly and the food was tasty. The Front Porch is a local hot spot for over 20 years and we've had them here at the Z Ocean for the past three and they are going strong!!!!

Our suites are truly unique since every room is spacious with two 37" LED TV's, Bose 321, and wet bar and the bathrooms.... are what most people want in their homes.

Hope to see you back with us soon here at the Z Ocean.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our 4th Visit to Z Ocean and we tell many friends about how fantastic a place this is. Don't get me wrong it is still a good hotel but not fantastic anymore.

Location - Perfect Ideal for beach and local restaurants.
Rooms – Great showers, beds and TV with a good wet bar and fridge
Pool – This is where we have seen a massive change @ the Z Ocean. Previous visits we have had a fantastic time in and around the pool with sunbeds always available with new covers and towels. This year there were not more than 5 or 6 beds with covers on them and you had to go and get your own towel. One day we actually watched the young lady that cleaned the area walk up to 4 beds with 3 covers and put them on leaving 1 out! There were also other beds behind these and that were left uncovered. Also through our 5 day stay one of the Parasols was damaged and it that would have been something that would never have been allowed to happen before. Pool had floats and different things in them over night and during the day again we never seen this before.

Restaurant – We had a meal in here one night and I was disappointed with the meal in fact it was probably the most expensive on our 14 day trip and probably the worst we had.
I had the Ribs and the waiter said the meat just falls off the bone. Half way through he seen me struggling to get the meat off the bone so offered me a steak knife to help out.
I did have breakfast one morning which I ordered at pool side and this was fantastic with great service from the lady at the pool area.

A very nice touch was a Bottle of Wine from the manager for being a Priority member.

We also had to change our room as we were told it faced the pool but when we got there it was facing the street.

Had a problem checking out as well - we had 3 different reservations and wanted to pay cash and we advised that but it was charged to my Visa card so I will need to pay a conversation fee from Dollars to Sterling.

So I think I will give this hotel a miss the next time I visit South Beach

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear wellwellsuperwell,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we
are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your loyalty and hope you'll give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.