We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan B May Become Plan A” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
ATLANTA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Plan B May Become Plan A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

South Beach has become one of our favorite spots to visit. We usually go twice a year. We usually stay at The Betsy on Ocean Drive but prices were a little ridiculous so we found what we thought a great alternative...Z Ocean. Located next door to The Betsy, it offered all the things we loved about the location....restaurants, beach, shopping and entertainment. Let me tell you....we were pleasantly surprised. LOVED our room. Very spacious. Chic-ly decorated. Small kitchen and separate living room. Large bathroom. Super comfortable bed. Nice balcony overlooking the pool. Staff was super friendly. The only issue we had was with one of the televisions. Could never quite get the bedroom tv working properly. Other than that, awesome stay. PLUS we caught a Miami Heat Play-off game...Game #6 of Indiana series. That topped our trip off. Seeing LBJ and having a great stay. We will defintely think twice about staying at Z Ocean our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear KEECHAS,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay to the point that we are going from Plan B to "A". It is always great to hear nice things about the staff they work very hard to exceed all guests expectations. I am happy to hear you felt a warm welcome from them and that you enjoyed our suites compared to guest rooms elsewhere... As for the TV's in the suites you'll be happy to know that all have been upgraded from 32" LCD to 37" LED HDTV in all our guest rooms. We aim to make all guests feel as though the Z is their home away from home. We look forward to having you back real soon.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    269
    80
    35
    38
See reviews for
183
671
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am a guest at the Z-Ocean periodically throughout the year, including over the past several years. The service is excellent and the staff is gracious and knowledgeable about the amenities, as well as the city and surrounding area. The overall feeling upon your return to the hotel is one of “Welcome!”, whether for a first-time visit or returning from an afternoon at the beach. Both the daytime and the evening staff provide a consistency of hospitality that will only confirm your current and future choice of hotel while in Miami Beach.

If you have the opportunity of having a roof top suite, you will not be disappointed, as both ocean and city views provide a sense of both beauty and relaxation. The pool provides a great elongated view that complements the architecture, as well as a visually arresting nighttime view from above and below (a portion of the hotel lobby's ceiling streams natural light in from the pool’s multi-windowed bottom!). In sum, the Z-Ocean is both aesthetically unique and restful, accompanied by a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Dr_RL,

So nice to read about your recent stay with us here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach and thank you for being a loyal repeat guest.

Glad to see that each visit for you gets better and better your correct all our suites are truly unique starting from South Beach Suites to our infamous Rooftop Terrace Suites all our our suites are over-sized with two LED TV's, BOSE 321, spacious shower with six jets and our rooftops have those great terraces with all the luxuries you would want when staying on South Beach.

Hope to see you back with us soon, thanks again for your gracious feedback.\

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am by most definitions a pick hotel patron. The Z Ocean Hotel met my high standards. Their service is terrific. I always hate when you have a nice hotel, but the employees do not seem to love their jobs. From the moment the young man who brought my bags up introduced himself to Jorge at the front desk, I ran into employee after employee who were not only courteous but friendly and eager to help and inquire about my stay.

The room was also terrific. Very very spacious. Clean shower that was nicely designed with rain shower head and normal head plus body jets. You have double sinks so that someone else could use a sink and not bother someone in the shower. You also had a refrigerator, microwave and wet bar in the room making the suite well suited to house you for a longer stay. There were two televisions at your discretion with nice stereo system that could carry the sound throughout the suite if you desired. The Front Porch Cafe breakfast is crazy good and their service is no less excellent than the hotel. Lastly, I will mention that the balcony is at least 3x larger than most Miami hotel balconies. All in all, you got a nice amount of amenities and service for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear cramereast,

Thank you for your review of the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Going above and beyond is something that the staff strive to do with every guest that steps foot into the Z Ocean. It brings me great pleasure to know that we executed this for you during your stay. With so many great options on the beach, we truly believe that the most important way to separate ourselves from the competition is with exemplary service. We look forward to having you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Pond, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

my wife and i stayed in a ocean view room with a rooftop terrace that reeked with luxury . you get there buy climbing a spiral staircase from the main room which is excellent . cant say enough about the appointments you'll find in the room. when we arrived we were greeted by domingo who was a great example of the service provided by this hotel. the location is also awesome being so close to Lincoln rd mall and ocean dr where all the great restaurants and shops are .if your looking for luxury in south beach this hotel is it

Room Tip: if you can afford it get the penthouse suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear joeyvee,

Thanks so much for your positive comments on your stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, we truly take pride in providing top notch service. Those Rooftop Terrace Suites are the best aren't they!!! With the views the hot tub, sunbed and privacy shade how much more romantic can you get. Our location is so centralized it takes minutes to walk anywhere so I'm glad you took advantage of Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.

I'm so happy you enjoyed our intimate boutique hotel here on South Beach and look forward to saying hello real soon.... Phillie isn't that far!!!

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at hotel z for four nights in June and had a great time. I travel a lot but never before have I had such great service. Mickey the concierge is so helpful, he told us what to avoid and set us up with dinner reservations every night. Every place he recommended was great. The towels were replaced and the bed was made more than once throughout the day. You also get free umbrellas and chairs on the beach (which is right across the street) with your stay. I mentioned as we checked in it was my birthday and later was sent a bottle of champagne and a handwritten birthday card. I would love to stay here again, it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sulley11411,

Thank you so very much for your feedback on your stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach! We are thrilled you had a great time. I have shared your comments with the team and they greatly appreciate your kind words. We hope you will come back and see us soon!

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alta loma, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

stayed at Z Ocean from June 24th till June 28th. got there around 8pm, first impression was the lobby was small and quaint, looks minimalist and plain. Gabby from the front desk was most helpful and pleasant. I was really impressed by the room! it was a standard size room, with a king bed and what really floored me were the amenities and the way the room was set up. there is a small kitchenette as you walk in with 2 small fridges. one was stocked with hotel stuff they want you to consume and pay for, the other bigger fridge below it was empty for your own usage. there is a microwave, a nice single cup espresso maker, plates and utensils, and all of them were inside the cabinets (the appliances included). you have 2 flat screens TVs inside your room one facing your bed, and the other facing the sleeper couch. (which was connected to a Bose -yes a Bose home theater system!) The Bathroom is big with his and hers sinks, and a full body shower system! i had a balcony overlooking collins avenue big enough for a 48 inch patio table and chairs and 2 lounge chairs. a great place to hang out after a long day at the beach! the hotel location cant be beat. it is less than 2 minutes walk to the beach, they have their own towel and umbrella service right there in the sand and the service is included with your room. The clubs and restaurants and the vibrant night scene on ocean drive are just walking distance from the hotel. in fact ocean drive is right behind the hotel.
all in all, i would definitely stay here again. the location is great, the rooms are excellent and the hotel staff is awesome! they make your stay memorable, and are always there to answer any questions you might have. before i forget, they also have parking downstairs, but at $35/ day is quite expensive, but south beach parking is meant to be expensive i guess.... dont drive a car, rent a bicycle and pedal your way around south beach, there are a lot of bike rental places.
a lot of things to see and do, all within walking distance from Z Ocean Hotel. hope this review helps!

Room Tip: if you can get a 4th floor room, its better, they have jacuzzis and rooftop balconies. rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Caravantrader,

Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Z Ocean. Wow, it sounded like an info-mercial the way you described our suites and there amenities thank you... Reviews like this are amazing and priceless we all thank you, this is why we love our jobs!!!

Looking forward to your next visit to the Z Ocean.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location was excellent.The beach was just 2 min walk and all night life of South Beach was in your backyard.For shoppers Washington and Lincoln avenues were just 5 minnuets away no need to take taxis.The room was large with a decent size balcony and bathrooms were big,we had 2 bathrooms with one shower.The staff was very friendly always ready to help you.The restaurant was nice and reasonable.A perfect place place if you want to stay on South Beach.

Room Tip: If you can spend little extra then go for rooftop terrace room with private Jacuzzi.This room was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear BalkrishnaShroff,

आपकी समीक्षा के लिए बहुत बहुत धन्यवाद! (That's Hindi) It is very nice to hear about your wonderful experience regarding the attentive staff and our fantastic location. Wow you really traveled far to join and we are so happy we were able to make your stay with us pleasurable... Our correct our Rooftop Terrace Suites and Spa Suites each have there own private hot tubs and are perfect for the romantic getaway in the middle of South Beach.

We hope on your next visit to South Beach to host you again.....

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.