We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent a week at the Z Ocean. Excellent service from start to finish. Very good location, one block behind Ocean Drive with lots of choices for restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk. There is a great restaurant quarter just across the road (about 1 block over). Excellent accomodation in our suite room- Spacious and well appointed with a small kitchen area which was handy. Pool side was quite quiet and relaxed with good pool side bar and service. Food good. Very nice bar area. Great value throughout and would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a suite room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Leigh,

Thank you so much for your review of the Z Ocean, we are elated that you were able to have an amazing experience at our hotel. Our location here on South Beach is perhaps the best walking distance to everything South Beach has to offer night life, dining and shopping. That little area a block over is Espanola Way this area over the past few years has become a local and tourist favorite for casual al fresco restaurants feature menus from different parts of the world as well as a small desert place that has the best ice cream on the beach. Please don't be a stranger! Please feel free to contact me directly when you are ready to book.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    256
    77
    35
    38
See reviews for
170
646
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a longer trip to Miami and the Keys.

The hotel seems to be comprised of suites and the suite we stayed in was very nice, however it was a little bit tired and could probably do with renovating soon. Sleep quality was excellent though, and the TV had a good range of channels.

The service was very very good. All the staff were very pleasant, we were given a glass of champagne on check in, and on our first night invited to a guest cocktail hour with canapes and drinks.

On the downside wifi was extremely expensive and they seemed to have some kind of blocker in place to stop other wifi networks. It always surprises me that high end hotels charge so much for wifi when the cheaper end of the market usually provide it for free. For that reason, I have deducted a star.

However, if you are looking for a good quality hotel directly on South Beach, this one is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Hannah,

Thank you so much for your review of the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We certainly enjoy making our guests feel comfortable and welcomed in our home. We strive to make everyone happy and are proud that in providing a service to our guests, as for the wireless we are sorry for to hear that you had some problems with the service and found it expensive you'll be delighted to know that as of July 1st, 2013 we will be offering free basic wireless to all our guests as part of IHG's new membership benefits to all Priority Club members. We would love to have you back here with us. Please feel free to contact me directly to book your next stay with us.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Z ocean hotel on the last leg of our honeymoon and couldn't have wished for a better end to our holiday.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. The room was amazing with partial ocean views and a large balcony area. When we returned on the first evening we had a bottle of champagne in the room with a lovely card wishing us a great honeymoon which was a lovely personal touch. We had breakfast in the hotel which was really nice

The location is fantastic and we used the beds on the beach which also had a great service. we also used the hotel to help us with trip ideas and they went out of their way to help us it really was first class service

I definately recommend this hotel for people visiting south beach

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the spa included (floor 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear EnglishHolidays,

Congratulations to you and your new husband on this new adventure! I have shared your praises with of your stay with our staff and we all thank you for choosing the Z Ocean Hotel for such a special occasion.

I am so glad that you highlighted two of our great features from our Rooftop Terrace suites the view (ocean) and the balconies on all our suites. Our restaurant the Front Porch Cafe is truly excellent and perhaps the best breakfast on South Beach hands down.

We are truly blessed and honored once again that you choose us to celebrate your anniversary and we look forward to your anniversaries, bringing your children over to America and many many more years of being your second home here in Miami.

All the best

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This April was my 40th birthday and I wanted to go to South Beach for the first time. What a great idea! The Z Ocean Hotel was perfect from the minute we arrived until our departure. The staff was excellent and the room was such a treat. It was always clean, very comfortable, and modern. My partner and I stayed in one of the rooftop penthouses. It was a corner room which had a great view of Collins Ave and a partial beach view. Every morning we had breakfast at the hotel restaurant on the front porch. The food was outstanding and we had the same server each day. She was such a delight. One afternoon, after a day at the beach, we hung out by the pool. We ordered some apps and drinks from the poolside server and again everything was outstanding. The beach is just a short walk across the street. It is a true perk to have complementary beachchairs, an umbrella, and towels for hotel guests. I would defeinetly stay at the Z Ocean Hotel again. Especially, for a special event or celebration.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for more space on the private rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Vacalover_10,

Thanks so much for sharing. What a nice review! I am so happy to learn that we have become your new home on South Beach and a happy belated birthday to you. So happy to read that you both enjoyed your stay from arrival to departure, and including the wonderful breakfasts at the Front Porch Cafe (hope you tried the Green Eggs & Ham). We truly care about our staff and I am glad it shows and we want them to care for our guests in the same way its wonderful to read that we accomplished this.

Let's not wait for another birthday to come back to South Beach...

Hope to see you back soon....

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel, the rooms are big and have many amenities including a bar/kitchenette. The balconies are spacious with chairs and hot tubs depending on the rooms. Service is fantastic, pool area is beautiful. Excellent access to beach with chair rental included. As a Priority Club member they treated us well. The restaurant on site is also really good for a hotel restaurant. You can't beat the location, it has great access to shops, restaurants, nightlife, and of course the ocean. Have stayed here twice and plan to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear CarmelinaRose (what a beautiful screen name),

Thanks for sharing your experience and thank for being a loyal Priority Club member. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Z Ocean, our hotel design with balconies on every room, our lovely bathrooms with double sinks and the pool and beach areas are amazing. As for our location it cannot be beat.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back soon.

All the best.


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was not my 1st time at the here but it was the best! it is always wonderful to stay here and we wanted to do something special for our anniversary. When we arrived we were welcomed back and given champagne while we checked in. the concierge Mickey is wonderful! my wife has a gluten allergy and she wanted to eat Italian that night, Mickey got right on the phone and called a wonderful restaurant a few blocks away and when we arrived for dinner the owner was waiting and created a wonderful dinner that was totally gluten free and delicious. that is only one of the great things that Mickey did to make the trip great, there is too many to mention in this review. the front desk staff is the best on south beach and there for you 24hrs a day. the rooms are exceptional and too beautiful for words. the management has gone out of there way to get the best staff that Miami has to offer and anyone that want to have a wonderful vacation should start with a call to the Z Ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Willie W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay at the Z Ocean. It was a pleasure to have you back again especially celebrating your anniversary.

I actually remember Mickey looking for that restaurant for your wife, there are concierge that make suggestions and there are Great Concierge that listen and Mickey is one of the great ones.. His recommendations from super casual to ultra fancy are fantastic and usually on the money. I'm happy to hear that you got the best of that experience this time again.

As always, we're looking forward to having you back and of course you know that you can feel free to contact any of us for your next reservation. Our email is reservations@ zoceanhotelsouthbeach.com

Always happy to help book and tailor your next visit.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Z Ocean was a dream! We stayed here in April for a girl’s long weekend and the
Z Ocean staff offered exceptional service. The great service started at check in with Kristine who was so friendly, quick and she helped secure the room we requested. The complementary glass of champagne she offered was a nice touch as well. Our room was wonderful; it was spacious and had a spiral staircase leading to the roof top, where the view of the ocean, lounge chairs, hot tub, and speakers for our music was a favorite spot to spend time.
I highly recommend the happy hour at the Z Ocean. The shrimp and fish tacos are delicious! The Bartenders, Steven, Major and Gordy offered amazing service and drink suggestions.
The location of this hotel is ideal because everything is within walking distance. Mickey the concierge helped us make reservations for dinner at the Versace Mansion and offered tips to make the most of our stay. He was a valuable resource.
Massages by the pool, along with fantastic service made the pool extra special. The beach is just across the street and the Z Ocean has a service that will set up your chairs and umbrella.
Upon returning from an evening out Kristine (the gal that checked us in) left a personal note along with a bottle of wine wishing us a Happy Birthday. The staff at the Z Ocean aimed to please and they deserve an A+.

Room Tip: The roof top suite is worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Bren1000

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Z Ocean.. it was a pleasure to have you stay with us for your girlfriend getaway weekend.

Your so correct we do try very hard to create such a dream stay for all our guests and it all starts with our great staff (which you kindly named) that attention to detail and the fact that they love what they do allows this kind of feedback from our guests.

You ladies really took full advantage of all our services "happy hour, massages, beach and our fish tacos (yummy)..

Please come back soon and consider this your new home on South beach.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;