We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location, amazing rooms!! We even got an upgrade and had a room with our private jacuzzi...People at front desk where always nice trying to help in everything they could. The gym was ok and the service at the beach was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Julesmrins,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience on your recent stay at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your trip coming all the way from Buenos Aires. It is a real pleasure to have such a nice feed back from you. I will share your feedback with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    327
    89
    39
    40
See reviews for
232
780
42
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Miami and first with our baby and the Z Hotel couldn't have made it easier for us. We had a pool lanai room. Absolutely beautiful. One whole wall is a glass patio with the pool outside your room. The hotel had a small kitchenette that was perfect for heating/washing the baby's bottles and although South Beach might probably not be a place you would automatically think of to go with a baby, the staff made us feel so welcome.

Location is right in the heart of the Art Deco district and a 5min walk to Lincoln Rd too. The beach is across the road and the cafe serves a fabulous breakfast, what more could you want?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Travel Agency Man,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review on your recent stay at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Always good to see first time guests to the beach especially with your new baby... A few years ago you hardly saw many families with small children visiting South Beach but more and more it's becoming the norm and our Pool Lanai Suites are perfect for families since you can put the baby down for a nap and still lounge on the pool deck and still be within feet of the napping child. Hopefully the Z Ocean will be your new home when visiting South Beach and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very very helpful! Always said hello or can I help you.
Z Ocean is a wonderful place to stay, it's right next to the beach.
The view from the window was beautiful.
The room was very clean and just beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Michel,

Thank you for an awesome review of your recent stay at the Z Ocean Hotel. Our goal is to make every guest feel like a VIP and Domingo really goes the extra mile to make guests feel at home when visiting South Beach. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Z Ocean.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I will try to contain myself with this review, since there are so many first class components to this south beach gem. I could start and finish with location, since it is in the center of the middle. I could mention that it is the most creative room design on the beach. I could, and must, mention that the staff is beyond expectations in each department. I could tell you that we slept like babies in the most comfortable beds. I could add that the coffee in the room was like Paris. I might add that a shower stall with six shower heads is an experience within itself. The balcony we were assigned was, well, spectacular. We enjoyed the city view with our morning coffee and evening jacuzzi. A walk across the street brought us to a complimentary beach ensemble of chairs, umbrella, and a parade of beautiful people enjoying their life as much as we were. This hotel is truly a great find amongst a sea of alternatives. In our many travels to south beach, there is no comparison worth any other mention.

Room Tip: explore the website and choose your pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for posting your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel in the heart of South Beach close to the beach, nightlife, sites and shopping. The Z Ocean Hotel is very fortunate that the building was built in 2006 and it was built to be spacious and open floor plan to really make the suite feel larger. I have shared your review with the staff and thank you so much for the kind words..... We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Markting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel in all aspects: location, room, pool, staff, etc etc etc. However, my wife feel ill. I called the front desk they arranged a doctor to visit the room. Hey great ! He was there in less than one hour. Hey...even greater? He arrived with a suitcase of medication and a credit card machine. Dr. Ryan Herbert D.O. was very happy to hear that we were from Switzerland. As he stated: The Swiss and Northern European countries have great health insurance programs and always pay. How great is this!!?? He diagnosed my wife, open up his Samsonite drug Koffer and prescribed some meds. Cannot get better than this right??!! The final bill for his 20 minute visit was USD 3000. Not 300 or 30... but 3000. The charge for his visit was in order...about USD 700, but he added about a 500% markup on all the meds he prescribed or sold. Naturally our great Swiss health insurance paid this crook and everybody lived happily ever after. Just a warning....Dr. Ryan Herbert .... or any doctor masking room calls will cost you more than what you paid for your holiday. Great.......

Room Tip: do not call a doctor to visit your room. unless your have money to waste, a good health insurance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear djbobo

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments and suggestions. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel and the location, and apologize for the situation that occurred with your wife during your stay. We no longer recommend any on call medical services to come to hotel due to this incident and will recommend that if a guest needs to see a doctor while visiting there are more affordable options. I am glad that this incident did not deter your stay and that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope your wife is doing better and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel represents excellent value for an upscale but not over the top hotel. vey boutiquie..small but cool pool intimate athmosphere and complementary beach chair and towel service .Free wifi in the lobby and lounge and generous balconys and a very cool room with double seperate sinks expresso machine, quadruple head shower and the crown jewel a private rooftop terrace with a hottub-jaccuzzi..the terraces were nice..at night sitting on the roof looking at southbeach with a glass of champagne in your hand..awesome..morning brekkie on the roof..sweeet..!..only complaint, the terraces are a bit rundown and stark. they could use a better paint pallate and nicer plants(folliage)..the ones they have up there look like weeds in a vacant lot..However other positives..decent resto downstairs makes excellent brekkies..the mlobby bar had good happy hour food but the bar tender was out to lunch as far as prompt efficient service..although a nice guy but..dude get with the program..finally excellent concierge service..mickey a south beach veteran who used to work at the surfcomber.He reccomended De Rodriguez Cuba
an excellent resto with a great tasting menu

Room Tip: the roof top terrace rooms are fun. so are the pool facing rooms if you get the pool rooms they rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your wonderful review and detailed description of your Rooftop Terrace Suite. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Our goal is to make every guests feel like a VIP and if there is anything we can do to make your stay better your feedback is appreciated. We are currently looking to update our rooftop suites which will include re-polishing marble, paint and complete landscaping redesign so on your next visit you will definitely see the improvement. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First time to Miami and it was an awesome trip complimented by a very nice hotel.

We selected the Z Ocean Hotel as we wanted a hotel that provided facilities that others couldn't provide. One of the main features were our very own private rooftop terrace which included our Hot Tub.

We went for the rooftop suite and let me just say this was worth every penny! Private rooftop, amazing views over South Beach, a mini fridge to put our alcohol in and as an added touch a stereo input that allowed us to play some music. Also there was a net curtain if at any point you felt you wanted some privacy and also a retractable roof to block out the beautiful Miami heat.

We never got a chance to try the food as Ocean Drive had plenty to offer, but the service from the Hotel was second to none and there were no issues at all.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again...the only one thing I would say is...park your car where you trust. The gent looking after the car park offered us a cheaper rate, however this would be completely off record and at no point would I trust doing this.

Apart from that, excellent stay at a Hotel made for paradise!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Dijy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. We are so happy to read that you were able to come all the way from London and enjoy your Rooftop Terrace Suite. It seems that you truly enjoyed your suite and all its features. I am so sorry with your experience with valet and I have addressed this with the supervisor to ensure it doesn't happen again. Thank you for your kind words I really appreciate the feedback.

Please contact me directly if I may assist with a future stay in warm South Beach!

All the best.


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#40 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.