We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy the rooftop jacuzzi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“enjoy the rooftop jacuzzi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wonderful room, reception staff and service couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. I am always impressed when I am greeted by name on every occasion. Amazing experience of sitting in the rooftop jacuzzi during the tail-end of a hurricane was worth every penny. Great location, walking distance to restaurants and beach. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear thingx,

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Z Ocean.

I am delighted to hear about your wonderful experience, hope to see you back here soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    260
    79
    35
    38
See reviews for
175
649
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in December (pre Xmas). Great location, friendly staff, free upgrade so no complaints. Perhaps they need to make the prices at the cafe more appealing as tended to wander out rather than eat in. Amazing bed and shower facilities. Cheers

Room Tip: Pool access room was nice to wander in and out from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear kirstyjane,

Thank you so much for the feedback and glad you enjoyed your visit to the Z Ocean.

Please feel free to reach out to me the next time you are in South Beach if I can assist with reservations in the hotel I would be delighted to assist you.

All the best

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Z Ocean is located where Ocean and Collins meet, about 100yds from South Beach itself. We really liked this smaller contemporary hotel where we enjoyed one of the penthouse rooms that came with two patios (one accessed by a spiral staircase to an area with jacuzzi, wet bar and double lounge) two T.Vs/audio, and an espresso bar in the seating area.The staff is particularly friendly as is Mickey the concierge, who sent us to a new Cuban restaurant that we would never had found on our own. The hotel is pretty quiet at night since it only has a breakfast/lunch restaurant, but the nearby hotel Betsy has a good restaurant (the Betsy itself is a little stuffy as is their bar). For drinks we walked a block to the large Lowes Hotel which has a great bar with entertainment and two restaurants, or to Lincoln Rd which is non-stop restaurants and shopping. South Beach is huge and clean, and the hotel provides chairs and umbrellas from a beach kiosk. This was an easy vacation. A direct flight from Boston and no rental car needed since everything is walkable or if needed, taxi fares are very inexpensive.

Room Tip: only the penthouse rooms have an ocean view but the beach is off some distance from Collins and Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear dpinto100,

Thank you so much for such a 'sensational' review of the Z Ocean, we love positive reviews but detailed as yours we really LOVE them...... We always make sure each guest experience is a memorable one and I'm happy to hear that yours definitely was like you mentioned our location is in the center of everything the beach, nightlife and shopping are all steps away. We invite you back any time. I'll also make sure to share this review with Mickey our concierge on the new Cuban restaurant. P.S. our restaurant the Front Porch Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner....

We hope to see you soon and stay warm in Boston!

All the best

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just spent two days in South Beach and had the good fortune booking the Z Ocean Hotel.

What made it so great?
-Pro-active staff, especially the concierge. Asked what we were doing in town and how they could help us. Then acted upon our answers and ensured we had a fantastic time.
-Great housekeeping. Forgot a jacket in the room and before leaving the premises the housekeeping noticed it and told the front desk
-Nice rooms. Condo style room with kitchenette, comfortable pull out sofa and decent space.
-Good location. In between south beach mega hotels and art deco area.

Now if they could ensure the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Alexander,

Great to read your review and thank you for all the positive feedback... you just became a Z ambassador with that great review...

You highlighted all the points we try and cover when we hire our staff that attention to detail and personalized service is the key to our success and I'm glad you experienced the best we offered. Mickey our concierge is spot on when it comes to recommending restaurants from casual to fine dining and also learn about your visit to us. As for housekeeping like you mentioned our suites are mini apartments (not typical hotel rooms) so a lot of detail in care and maintenance is taken by this team to ensure your stay is comfortable. Last location, location, location in the heart of everything but quite enough to enjoy the peace and tranquility the beach has to offer..

As for predicting the weather if I could master this I would play the POWERBALL more often!!

Hope we have become your home away from home. Looking forward to your next visit in South Beach and with us at the Z Ocean.

Sincerely,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent location, very helpful personel make this hotel a good choice for South Beach.I will come back.We stayed at the pool level, the room is quiet and can acommodate two with confort, unlike the other hotel we had to move ( no rooms avaiable), which is very small.

Room Tip: We stayed at the pool level, the room is quiet and can acommodate two with confort, unlike the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Sandra,

Thanks for your review on your stay at the Z Ocean.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your Pool Lanai Suite and the service provided to you was outstanding.

As well, thanks for the feedback on the room product our suites are very spacious and for two individuals traveling you even have two TV's in each suite so no arguing for the remote!!!

Hope to see you back here soon.

All the best

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November. The view of the beach from the jacuzzi at the penthouse was just amazing. The room was quite big. And the jacuzzi (with option to make it personal by drawing curtains) at the rooftop was very good.

Room Tip: Choose penthouse if you have the money for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ragh,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay at the Z Ocean.

I am glad to read you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that you took advantage of your Rooftop Terrace Suite, the views from these units are amazing!!! You either have the beautiful view of the Ocean or the spectacular view of the skyline (my favorite)... as for the privacy curtain..... all I can say is I'm glad you like your Rooftop again.

All the best.....

Sincerely,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Everyone was really friendly. Lovely room, we even had a bottle of wine waiting for us to help celebrate our special occasion - a really nice touch as we hadn't asked for it! Great location, great happy hour and a great stay!! Don't valet park at the hotel though, there is a multi story car par at the the end of the road and turn left - much cheaper!!!!! Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jinsky,

Thank you for your recent review of the Z Ocean and once again wish you a happy anniversary.

Very happy to read of your recent experience and how much you enjoyed the accommodations, the staff, service and the proximity of the hotel to all the local attractions.

Like I've mentioned before we thrive on "going that extra mile" and being a boutique hotel allows us to really customize the guest experience.

Hope to see you back at the Z Ocean soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.