We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and fantastic rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing service and fantastic rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just spent two days in South Beach and had the good fortune booking the Z Ocean Hotel.

What made it so great?
-Pro-active staff, especially the concierge. Asked what we were doing in town and how they could help us. Then acted upon our answers and ensured we had a fantastic time.
-Great housekeeping. Forgot a jacket in the room and before leaving the premises the housekeeping noticed it and told the front desk
-Nice rooms. Condo style room with kitchenette, comfortable pull out sofa and decent space.
-Good location. In between south beach mega hotels and art deco area.

Now if they could ensure the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Alexander,

Great to read your review and thank you for all the positive feedback... you just became a Z ambassador with that great review...

You highlighted all the points we try and cover when we hire our staff that attention to detail and personalized service is the key to our success and I'm glad you experienced the best we offered. Mickey our concierge is spot on when it comes to recommending restaurants from casual to fine dining and also learn about your visit to us. As for housekeeping like you mentioned our suites are mini apartments (not typical hotel rooms) so a lot of detail in care and maintenance is taken by this team to ensure your stay is comfortable. Last location, location, location in the heart of everything but quite enough to enjoy the peace and tranquility the beach has to offer..

As for predicting the weather if I could master this I would play the POWERBALL more often!!

Hope we have become your home away from home. Looking forward to your next visit in South Beach and with us at the Z Ocean.

Sincerely,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    280
    81
    37
    40
See reviews for
195
700
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent location, very helpful personel make this hotel a good choice for South Beach.I will come back.We stayed at the pool level, the room is quiet and can acommodate two with confort, unlike the other hotel we had to move ( no rooms avaiable), which is very small.

Room Tip: We stayed at the pool level, the room is quiet and can acommodate two with confort, unlike the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Sandra,

Thanks for your review on your stay at the Z Ocean.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your Pool Lanai Suite and the service provided to you was outstanding.

As well, thanks for the feedback on the room product our suites are very spacious and for two individuals traveling you even have two TV's in each suite so no arguing for the remote!!!

Hope to see you back here soon.

All the best

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November. The view of the beach from the jacuzzi at the penthouse was just amazing. The room was quite big. And the jacuzzi (with option to make it personal by drawing curtains) at the rooftop was very good.

Room Tip: Choose penthouse if you have the money for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ragh,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay at the Z Ocean.

I am glad to read you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that you took advantage of your Rooftop Terrace Suite, the views from these units are amazing!!! You either have the beautiful view of the Ocean or the spectacular view of the skyline (my favorite)... as for the privacy curtain..... all I can say is I'm glad you like your Rooftop again.

All the best.....

Sincerely,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Everyone was really friendly. Lovely room, we even had a bottle of wine waiting for us to help celebrate our special occasion - a really nice touch as we hadn't asked for it! Great location, great happy hour and a great stay!! Don't valet park at the hotel though, there is a multi story car par at the the end of the road and turn left - much cheaper!!!!! Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jinsky,

Thank you for your recent review of the Z Ocean and once again wish you a happy anniversary.

Very happy to read of your recent experience and how much you enjoyed the accommodations, the staff, service and the proximity of the hotel to all the local attractions.

Like I've mentioned before we thrive on "going that extra mile" and being a boutique hotel allows us to really customize the guest experience.

Hope to see you back at the Z Ocean soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Z Ocean Hotel has been the "staple" for our annual girls trip. It goes without saying that our "home base" will be Z Ocean Hotel South Beach for many reasons. The location can't be beat! We can walk to all of our destinations (shopping, beach, restaurants). The rooms are spacious with many impressive amenities (2 vanities, waterfall shower,in-room espresso/beverage bar, 2 tv's, spacious balconies). The staff is always very attentive and accomodating. Our stay this year included a balcony jacuzzi which was an awesome ending to a long day of shopping and fun night of dinner and drinks! Housekeeping kept our room spotless and is always pleasant. This year we also had the pleasure of meeting the head Chef (Todd Webster), who made our dining experience at "The front porch" one to remember. Thanks again Z Ocean....we look forward to next years visit!!

Room Tip: Lanai rooms are most enjoyable for sun worshipers! Balcony jacuzzi rooms are awesome to have afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dearest Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Z Ocean for the THIRD time!!!!

It is wonderful to read how you and your girlfriends enjoyed your visit with us.

Our suites are perfect for ladies traveling together the two vanities in each room makes it even faster for you to get ready to party on South Beach. I forwarded your email to the housekeeping department, this is one of the hardest working departments in the hotels that really appreciate this kind of feedback.

I'm glad you have made us your new home on South Beach and are looking forward to welcoming you back again and again and again......

Hope to see you back here soon, to make some more memorable experiences.

Cheerio (i think that's how you say it)

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for our ten year anniversary. We booked a penthouse jacuzzi room and it was well worth it. They provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary, which was a nice touch. The bed is super comfortable. The rooftop terrace is specatular. I cannot say enough nice things about the service. From the front desk to the bell staff, they could not do enough for you and were so pleasant to deal with. Mickey, the concierage, was exceptional. He was very well informed with the area. He was dead on with the recommendations for dinners and lunches. We had some amazing food and it was all due to his recommendations. He is quite an assett to Z Ocean and the property is very luck to have him.

Room Tip: Get a penthouse room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Tubby18,

Thanks for your review on your stay at the Z Ocean and happy anniversary once again.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the service provided to you was outstanding. As well, thanks for the feedback on the room product, and your great experience with our Rooftop Suite.

I will also share with our staff your kind words about our service.... as for Mickey he really is a great concierge, he really knows the local area and can recommend the best restaurants to go to while visiting South Beach.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel in the past 2 years. i have already written a few reviews on it but thought I would add 2 more things. Firstly the addition of a full time concierge is a great idea. His name escapes me a t the moment but he was very helpful and knew more about the area than most people we asked. Secondly, we stayed in one of the rooftop penthouses as we usually do and at this price...WIFI SHOULD BE FREE!!!!!!!!!!!! If you are selling luxury then you have to offer luxury!!!! no hotel at this price range should be charging for wifi...stop nickel-and-dimming customers especially when you charge a resort fee!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MJCDN,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay at the Z Ocean and thank you for being a loyal customer on this your fourth visit.

I am glad to read you had a wonderful experience once again and you enjoyed your Rooftop Suite. Mickey our head concierge is a great addition to our staff and having a full time concierge has greatly helped with guests pre planning their visit to South Beach.

Sorry to hear about your initial inconvenience regarding our wi-fi fees have you ever been asked to join our Priority Club at check in? One of the membership perks is free wireless besides having thousands of hotels worldwide to redeem your points for stays when you travel.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.