We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for our ten year anniversary. We booked a penthouse jacuzzi room and it was well worth it. They provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary, which was a nice touch. The bed is super comfortable. The rooftop terrace is specatular. I cannot say enough nice things about the service. From the front desk to the bell staff, they could not do enough for you and were so pleasant to deal with. Mickey, the concierage, was exceptional. He was very well informed with the area. He was dead on with the recommendations for dinners and lunches. We had some amazing food and it was all due to his recommendations. He is quite an assett to Z Ocean and the property is very luck to have him.

Room Tip: Get a penthouse room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Tubby18,

Thanks for your review on your stay at the Z Ocean and happy anniversary once again.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the service provided to you was outstanding. As well, thanks for the feedback on the room product, and your great experience with our Rooftop Suite.

I will also share with our staff your kind words about our service.... as for Mickey he really is a great concierge, he really knows the local area and can recommend the best restaurants to go to while visiting South Beach.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    644
    239
    74
    31
    36
See reviews for
140
590
31
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel in the past 2 years. i have already written a few reviews on it but thought I would add 2 more things. Firstly the addition of a full time concierge is a great idea. His name escapes me a t the moment but he was very helpful and knew more about the area than most people we asked. Secondly, we stayed in one of the rooftop penthouses as we usually do and at this price...WIFI SHOULD BE FREE!!!!!!!!!!!! If you are selling luxury then you have to offer luxury!!!! no hotel at this price range should be charging for wifi...stop nickel-and-dimming customers especially when you charge a resort fee!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MJCDN,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay at the Z Ocean and thank you for being a loyal customer on this your fourth visit.

I am glad to read you had a wonderful experience once again and you enjoyed your Rooftop Suite. Mickey our head concierge is a great addition to our staff and having a full time concierge has greatly helped with guests pre planning their visit to South Beach.

Sorry to hear about your initial inconvenience regarding our wi-fi fees have you ever been asked to join our Priority Club at check in? One of the membership perks is free wireless besides having thousands of hotels worldwide to redeem your points for stays when you travel.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My fourth stay at this wonderful hotel, always at the same time of year. Even though some of the furniture and decor in the rooms could do with a refurb I have to forgive my old friend because I love this hotel so much. The bed has to be one of the most comfy I have ever slept on and the hotel location is unbeatable. The staff are the friendliest in the world, so sweet and charming. Just keep on doing what you're doing Z Ocean and you'll always have my patronage.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on Ocean Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Richy,

Welcome back again and thank you so much for being a loyal customer all these years.

Very happy to read about your recent experience and how much you enjoyed the accommodations and especially the bedding... I receive more emails about how comfortable our beds are and where can people buy them, I'm thinking of selling them on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Take care,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For my 15th anniversary and the 60th birthday of my father I arranged a great visit to Florida. My wife and father weren’t aware that we would visit Florida. On big surprise trip !

Last time (2011) I also booked this hotel and I can say that it is really great. You should give the hotel a call before you go. They are very helpful and polite and they will arrange everything to satisfy your needs / demands. We got two great penthouses and we could enjoy some great breakfast in the morning!

Thanks all, you can be sure that I will always advise you to other people !

Sorry that I wrote this review this late but time really flies :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Gerrit,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review (it doesn't matter when you stayed with us) we really appreciate hearing our guest feedback.

We are delighted that your stay with your family went well and happy anniversary to you and happy belated 60th to your father. Being a small intimate boutique hotel we like to personalize the guest experience as much as possible so guests calling ahead and letting us know a little about their visit allows us to make it very personalized.

We hope you come back soon and not wait four more years to visit.

All the best

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Veeery near the beach, impecable, friendly staff
One day we forgot to push the button to have our room cleaned and they managed to do it while we were out to dinner!
The beach guys had our chairs ready in under 5 minutes
They had a cocktail happy-hour for the guests one night, very nice for meeting people and eating
We recomend eating at Ola, just a 10 minute walk away
Room was huge, complementary coffee
The shower is as good as all the reviews say
No late check-outs though

Room Tip: if you can afford it, get the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Milasbs,

Thank you so much for your genuine and sincere review of the Z Ocean and we are so happy that we lived up to our previous reviews.

The staff on the beach take great care of the guests and really have the best jobs in the entire hotel how many of us can see we have that fabulous view everyday at work!!!!

The managers cocktail is a weekly meet and great for the guests and staff to meet and socialize. I personally love to interact with our guests and get to know more about them.

Hopefully on your next visit you'll stay longer. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best.


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for just 1 night, and I wish it had been longer! We started our trip in Fort Lauderdale a couple of days before, which was OK, but this place was great!!
You would never know it is a Crowne Plaza, but if you are a priority club member, it is certainly worth booking with your membership - no resort fee and free wifi.
The reception area is small, but very nice, very Miami in its decor. The rooms are awesome. We had the standard suite, overlooking the pool, and if you looked hard enough, you could catch a glimpse of the ocean!
The resort / daily fee (if you are not priority club) gets you 2 beach loungers and an umbrella- great spot on the beach. We arrived at the hotel early and they had our names at the hut on the beach, so we spent a whole day catching some sun.
We chose to park in a garage at The Anchor Shops, 16th and Collins, for $16 a day. Well worth walking a couple of mins to save the money on parking!
I liked this location because it was in the area of high end hotels at South Beach, with a really nice vibe. Walk 10 mins South of this, and its alot louder! As a couple wanting to soak up the atmosphere, but not wanting to stay awake all night, we certainly appreciated this location, the room was really quiet at night.
The reasons I didnt rate this 5 out of 5.... price is high (but most places in this area are!), parking costs.
Next time I'm in South Beach, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Sunlover,

Thank you for your recent review of the Z Ocean Hotel and for being a loyal Priority Club member. Although your stay was short (one night only) I'm glad you were able to soak up the sun and take in the local scene.

Like you mentioned the Z Ocean is in the thick of things here on South Beach walk in any direction and your in the middle of everything.... yet quite enough for a peaceful nights rest.

We look forward to making this your home when visiting South Beach and welcoming you back real soon (must be cold in Chicago right now).

All the best.


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband surprised me with a long weekend here. He wouldn't tell me anything about the hotel or our room before we went, but I was sold on the place from the complimentary champagne at check-in to the cab they had waiting to whisk us to the airport when we left.

Our penthouse suite had a private hot tub on the roof. Allow me to repeat: private. hot tub. on a roof. There it was, up a spiral staircase and sitting on a dais overlooking the city with a privacy curtain and retractable rain roof and cushioned wicker bed thing next to it. Each time we asked to have it serviced, a guy would arrive quickly to fill it and give us towels and bath salts, and being able to hook our music up to the Bose speaker was a nice touch.

The room was luxurious, the bed and linens felt like sleeping on a cloud, and each time we needed something it was delivered promptly (with the exception of a razor. They forgot to bring us that). The location couldn't have been better - just across the street from the beach, near the action on Ocean Drive but not exactly IN it (so we could have a vacation, and not an episode of Jersey Shore). We didn't hit up the restaurant, but enjoyed a quiet afternoon by the pool.

A few minor notes to management: our room (PH18) must have been near housekeeping, and every time they opened the door we could hear it clearly. Also, we couldn't figure out how to get bubbles in our hot tub, and when we called to ask we were shown a button that created minor currents along the bottom. On our last night, we figured out on our own that turning a knob along the top makes it fizz. You may want to consider including a manual or instructions for the hot tub in the room. And finally, a privacy curtain along the side of our roof deck would have been nice. Our neighbors and I could see each other from our wicker beds, which is just kind of awkward when you're trying to be romantic.

Overall, our stay was pretty incredible, and I'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Gnomedepot,

Thank you for your recent review of the Z Ocean Hotel and this sounded like a wonderful surprise kudos to your husband!!! .

Very happy to read of your recent experience and how much you enjoyed the accommodations especially the "private hot tub", it's true the proximity of the hotel is in the heart of everything but in a quite little corner for the best nights sleep on South Beach.

Your recommendation on the hot tub cheat sheet is in the works (thank you) and it will be in place for your next visit. We hope to welcoming you back real soon.

Take care,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.