We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Priority Club members” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Z Ocean Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value for Priority Club members”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After soaking up some sun the next morning and checking out of the Tides, we walked 2.5 blocks north to Priority Club‘s Z Ocean Hotel. I like this location a lot more because it’s JUST out of range of the craziness that is Ocean Avenue but that craziness is still only a few minutes walk away if you want it.

ROOM

The room was a suite, not necessarily more square footage than the Tides but definitely a better layout. As you entered the L shaped room, there was a small kitchenette and bar area, perfect for eating breakfast in the morning. The bed was separated from the living room by a shelving unit that had 2 TV’s, one facing each way. Interesting way of designing a room and a bit wasteful to us as we didn’t use the living room much. The entire wall along the bed and living room was floor to ceiling glass with a sliding door out to the L shaped patio. There were 2 chairs and a table along with 2 loungers, plenty of room on the balcony facing the pool on the inside part of the hotel.

The bathroom was HUGE. There were two vanities that were about seven feet apart, which gives you a feeling of how big the bathroom was. The toilet was in between the vanities, kind of an odd spot. The best part was the shower. It reminded me of the best shower ever, which was at The Halele’a Spa in the St. Regis Princeville on Kaua’i. It had a regular shower head, a rainfall shower head, and four jets on the wall that sprayed horizontally. I felt bad showering for more than five minutes because it was a waste of water but it was awesome after a hot day at the beach.

FACILITIES

The only amenity we really took advantage of was the free beach setup. Like the Tides, the Z Ocean has an agreement to give their guests “free” lounge chairs and umbrellas. Free really means it’s included in the $20 resort fee that guests have to pay but that is waived for any Priority Club members, even non-elite like myself. So if you stay here, be sure to at least sign up for Priority Club Rewards.

The Z Ocean features an open air bar which we didn’t visit because we decided to walk Espanola Way at night. There’s also a great restaurant right downstairs called The Front Porch Cafe where I ordered breakfast to go. Service was quick and the walk back to our room was less than five minutes.

Of the two hotels we stayed at, we both preferred the Z Ocean Hotel due to it’s combination of lower key location, large suite, and potential for redeeming points! Suites like that in South Beach would easily cost upwards of $250. Considering how easy it is to earn or buy Priority Club points, I’d say 25,000 points a night is a stellar deal. I think we found our go-to hotel in Miami.

For more details and photos, please visit my blog: http://thehustleblog.com/2012/06/26/another-birthday-back-south-beach-king-grove-tides-z-ocean-hotel/

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mike

Thank you so much for such a detailed review of our services and facilities and also thank you for being a loyal priority club member. The hotel you came from prior to your visit here is very beautiful and iconic, to say our hotel facilities and suite product was better is a great honor.

We feel that our location is perfect to the area, we are walking distance (seconds) from everywhere but away from some of the noisier attractions that South Beach area has to offer.

Mike, once again thank you for being a priority club member and we look forward to welcoming back soon.

Take care,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    257
    77
    35
    38
See reviews for
170
647
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a meeting at this wonderful hotel last month and I can not recommend it enough. The room was perfect, pool area great and the food at the pool and also restaurant were first class. I will stay at this hotel every time I go to South Beach and thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our team meeting and stay so perfect! Daniel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. You touched on several points and highlights from your stay.

I remember your group well, after the second day of meetings you all decided to bring the flip chart up to the pool and have your meeting poolside (which we loved) the third day I went up to check up on you guys and saw you in the hot tub and someone taking minutes that's what we call a "meeting south beach style!!!" We loved everyone from your group and thank you so much for deciding to stay with us.

We are centrally located and have convenient beach access as well as a beautiful property to boast proudly.. but all of this only provides a beautiful and convenient backdrop to deliver on the excellent service that you experienced.

Thank you for your review.. we'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best and happy holidays.

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed there over Thanksgiving (Thurs-Tues). We were welcomed with champagne and a very friendly front desk staff. We had 2 rooms and they were immediately ready when we checked in. When we got in the room we were really surprised. The put us on the 2nd floor one room over looked the pool..very nice and the other was a corner room on the backside overlooking ocean drive with a HUGE balcony, chaise lounges and table/chairsand wrap around windows. The room was large with tons of drawer space a rare thing in some hotels. Clean marble floors (no smelly carpet), 2 TV's a fantastic wetbar with dishes, flatware, cups, glasses (martini, champagne, wine) a single cup coffee maker and k-cups. Bathroom was huge with 2 sinks separated by the toilet with sliding glass doors on both sides. The shower was large with a rain showerhead and back/legs heads as well. There was even a sofa bed/sitting area which we didn't use.There was very little noise from the street unless you opened the balcony door. The bed was a bit uncomfortable but tolerable.The housekeeping was a bit slow but not a big deal. The only other thing I would say is if they are a charging an additional $21 daily resort fee include the wireless internet with that otherwise you will pay another extra charge. Overall excellent hotel. Stayed at many places including the Loews and the rooms here were far superior. It's a smaller boutique style hotel so you lose all the crowds and activity you would get at a larger hotel while still maintaining all the amenities.

Room Tip: ask for room 209!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Shane,

WOW! Thank you so much for your awesome review! All of us here at the Z Ocean had such a fun time taking care of both of your rooms and making sure you had a fabulous stay. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff - they love what they do, and it really puts a smile on their face to see that they were mentioned.

Excellent notice on the sound proofing all our windows are triple pane glass and helps in reducing the noise from the street level.

We hope to be your new favorite hotel, and can't wait to welcome you back.

Take care,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

From the Concierge to bellman to housekeeping, the experience at the Z Ocean was excellent. Mickey the Concierge really helped make the trip! guiding us to just the right restaurants and experiences. I called a good month before going and he emailed me back answering all my questions (and i had a lot!!!) giving us honest answers that really helped us make the most of our 2 night stay on South Beach. We rented a rooftop suite! it was amazing! the private balcony was so relaxing and comfortable! the staff prepared the tub whenever we needed it done without us even knowing! Front desk called us by our name ! staying here really made our trip complete and will recommend to anyone going to south beach!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear 53213,

So nice to hear about your recent visit with us.

I will ensure to pass the comments along to the team, especially Mickey, housekeeping and front desk team. It's very rewarding to know that we were gracious, attentive and accountable during your short visit.

I always recommend guests call ahead if only staying a short time to ensure our team can make the most of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your rooftop terrace suite.

Come back soon!!!!'

Take care,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at the Z Ocean.The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish.After a long flight from the UK we were welcomed to the Hotel by Domingo.With none of the imperious drama that characterises many Valets at top hotels ,Domingo gave us a sincere and warm welcome .No fuss no drama just a consumate professional at work .His professionalism was typical of every single staff member we encountered.Check-in was smooth.We stayed in room 327 ; IT WAS CAPACIOUS AND LUXURIOUS.It overlooked the pool and had a huge balcony with full size table 4 chairs AND 2 loungers .The room had great mini kitchen with coffee machine ,microwave ,fridge and cutlery etc.The shower was in a league of its own with 6 heads !! The location was perfect. Steps from the beach ,at the top the Art Deco strip,yet very quiet.Theres a Starbuks on the doorstep too.We dinned in the Front Porch cafe several times . Breakfast was excellent and the half price Happy Hour in the evening was incredible value .The food and service were faultless.This boutique Crowne Plaza is 5 star all the way !!! We had a Ball . Thanks Domingo and Co!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sailorman,

Thank you so much for such a stellar and personal review. I will pass on the comments to the staff and to especially Domingo. All the staff at the Z really try and make the arrival experience as comfortable and quick (coming from the UK) as possible. Knowing that if you need anything during your stay you can always ask, our priority is to get you into Vacation Mode as quickly as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Z Ocean Hotel 4 times, and we always stay there whenever we visit South Beach. The rooms are chic, well appointed, and comfortable, all of the staff are warm and friendly, and the location is perfect -- you can walk everywhere. If you plan ahead, you can get a pretty reasonable rate.

The resort fee includes extremely comfortable chaise lounges, towels, and an umbrella on the beach across the street. On this part of the beach there are lunch trucks with good food, so you can get lunch without leaving the beach.

The Front Porch Cafe at the hotel serves good food, but there are lots of great restaurants in the area, so don't limit yourself to the hotel restaurant. We don't eat big breakfasts, so we usually just grab something at the Starbucks across the street.

On our most recent stay, we were put in a poolside lanai suite, even tough we had booked a standard balcony suite. The poolside room is convenient if you use the pool, but you give up some privacy since there's nothing between the pool and your lanai. They also pipe in techno music for much of the day and evening by the pool, which gets a little tiring (and one night the music was on until 1:30am) -- more relaxing music would be better. However, there weren't many people using the pool (even when the hotel was full), so it was fairly quiet other than the music. On our previous stay, we had a room facing Collins Ave, on the west side of the building, which was a bit noisy at night. The south-facing balcony suites we had on our first two stays were the quietest and most private.

We've stayed at two other hotels in South Beach, but the Z Ocean Hotel is our favorite, and that's where you'll find us on our next visit to South Beach.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear DeeEss,

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. Very nice to hear you had received our gracious and attentive service time over time. My apologies for the music on the pool deck, I've addressed with department to ensure music is turned off in the evenings.

Our Pool Lanai Suites are for individuals that want to be within feet of our pool or families traveling with children. What they lack in privacy they make up in convenience. Please on your next visit contact me and I will ensure you a room on Collins or a room on the third level overlooking pool but not on deck.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best.


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had to go on business and am always impressed at quality of rooms and staff.Great convenient and quiet location on South Beach.Easy to park and great lobby for meeting as well as good breakfast and lunch place in hotel

Room Tip: PH are the most fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Herman,

Thank you for your recent comments on your stay with us and thank your for being a loyal customer. Very happy to hear about your wonderful experience once again with us. I always tell corporate travelers that South Beach is a great alternative to Downtown. You can do your business during the day and relax on South Beach in the evening.

Hope to you back at the Z soon.

Take care,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.