We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel and location right in the heart of south beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Morganville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“amazing hotel and location right in the heart of south beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights with some friends. The location can't be beat, great vibe, nice well furnished rooms. The staff was always available and willing to please. For the location , price .. would recommend.
NF-New Jersey

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    258
    120
    98
    77
See reviews for
92
347
39
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Was excited to visit based on internet pictures. Sorely disappoint. Checked and and had reserved "Ocean Front" room. New management had lost all reservations so gave me room overlooking air-conditions. I tried to explain and "new" management didn't care. They acted like I was aggravating them. The carpets were gross and the pillows and blinds torn. The tv was tiny and it looked like the 32" was removed and replaced with a 15" (see enclosed pix). There are only 2 rooms that are ocean front 401 and 501 even though they are scamming others as ocean front. By the way..those rooms are condos and we were told they are not rented out. Internet never worked either. Parking is $35 a night and the mohitos are $25 each. RUN AWAY!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience duirng your stay. The main reason for the management change on August 5th from The Strand to the Congress Hotel were to improve on all areas mentionned.

We have undergone refurbishment to include carpet and pool area. We recognize this was not our guest fault and encouraged everyone who stayed with us during this transition to provide their contact information so that we can invite them back to experience the true hopitality service that the Congress hotel provides.

Unfortunately, the Congress Hotel is not responsible for the 3rd party valet and/or drink prices.

Best Regards,

C. Bono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

#1 Tip Don't do it, DON'T book the Strand, you could end up staying in any of the 4 blocks they have. Which means you have to walk between your block and the block where the pool is, getting hassle from the workers at the bars to eat in their place very time you walk out. Room on first look was ok, but knowing 3 people were staying in the room the extra bed wasn't made up and had to go down to reception to ask for it to be made. Phones were down, internet never worked. Dont think they have every cleaned carpets or furniture, didn't clean bathroom floor, as things left from previuos occupants. Towels were limited, i think as the maid did't like to leave enough bath and hand towels for 3 people. Attitude of some staff on reception could have been more helpful, loads of room for improvement. Beach towels look like they have had them since the place was built, could possibly have used them to clean up after. Noise, if you don't like sleep then this is the place for you. NOISE from the bars until 4am them noise from the cleaners of the bars and roads just made it impossible to get any sleep. Wouldn't put my worst most hated enemy in The Strand.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We arrived at the airport and took the public airport shuttle that dropped us off only a few blocks from the hotel. Which bus gave us great directions and made it even easier to locate. The bellboy spotted us and directed us to the lobby; there we immediately were checked and then escorted to our suite. The room was very spacious and clean, it had everything we wanted and more... a full kitchen, nice dining area, balcony overlooking ocean drive and a perfect view of the beach. Wireless internet was very helpful when searching for local food stores, clubs, shops and attractions. The resort fee was worth every penny, providing us with a private section on the beach with beach towels, umbrellas and chairs. The beach was spectacular, clear, well maintained and the lifeguards were good at patrolling the water and safety. The pool on the roof was beautiful and it also had an amazing view of the ocean with plenty of lounging area.

Not much to complain about but the things that we would mention are... Hotel lobby location was hard distinguish due to the location on ocean drive amongst the numerous restaurants in front of the hotels. We were excited to have the iHome provided in our suite but may not be functional because of damage from excessive use or miss handling of others. We told to front desk about the problem and someone came and replaced the device with a working one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed at the strand at the end of June 2010. This was going to be our 3rd stay at the Strand. Upon entering the lobby we were greeted with the doors propped open. NOT A good sign. Then we notice there is work being down on the elevator. Great. We check in and ask which building will our room be located in. Great,...the contemporary building which is having elevator problems. We ask when would they be finished and we get a canned phrase of "we are having a meeting this evening and will share the information with everyone. Welll long story short...the elevator was not fixed for the entire week of our stay. We had to walk up 5 flights of stairs in a creepy stairwell everyday. The staff seemed not to care that we had to walk up several flights and the manager only could say...sorry i don't have any other rooms....blah!!!

Besides the fact of the elevator not working, the strand has seriously disappointed us this go round. The rooms are hardly cleaned...a simple changing of the sheets and towels and it seems thats all they do. It doesnt appear that they vacuum. The shower rods are really rusted. There were rust spots on the bathroom floor that looked like blood. There were rust spots on the living room carpet (at least I hope it was rust spots)

Overall it is time for the strand to UPGRADE itself! We will not stay here EVER again.
Very disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We booked this trip for New Year as a treat. Having suffered 3 bereavements in as many months, some recuperation was in order.
Upon booking, I emailed the hotel and asked for a quiet room and received a reply to say it would be taken care of.
On fist sight, our room appeared perfect. Huge king bed, all amenities, tiny balcony (faced by another building 5ft. away - oh well...), kitchenette, decent bathroom. A few carpet stains but we expected these having read other reviews.
Then. The noise got LOUDER and LOUDER until we could barely hold a conversation. It was NYE so we kind of expected it. But it didn't abate - not even at 5am.
The speaker to the restaurant below was about 10ft from the room. By morning I was in tears and my husband was enraged! The noise was still going!
We went to reception to complain and ask for a quiet room as booked.
The receptionist was extremely pleasant but explained that the other blocks were upgraded rooms (ours was a king suite) and they were all full. She told us to return at 3pm to see if she could do anything.
Lo and behold, at 3pm we were transferred to a junior suite with no extra fee for the 'upgrade'.
Here's what we got;
Suite had separate bedroom which had a Queen bed, a t.v hanging off the wall (I propped it up with a rolled up towel) and about 8 inches all the way around it. It was like sleeping in a cupboard.
The 'living area' had Cherrios in the carpet which were still there when we checked out.
No balcony.
No drawers (we had to live out of cases for 8 nights).
Mini bar which wasn't re-stocked if you used anything.
One bathrobe (which was taken on day 3 and not returned).
Shampoo not replaced, just more body lotion. Every day.
Here's the worst of all - the security door on this block was broken, so anyone could get to the rooms by just walking in from the street. On day 5, we returned to our room at about 4.30pm after a day out to see it had been left PROPPED OPEN.
We entered cautiously expecting to see robbers! I was both terrified and absolutely mortified! The maid had left the door open all afternoon. Not just unlocked but propped open!
My jewellery was in the safe but my shoes and accessories (which totalled over $5000 in value) were in the suitcase.
Thankfully, nothing had been taken but I hardly dared leave the room after that.
After some haggling on our part, we eventually received a credit for one night's stay from the duty manager, but this certainly wasn't forthcoming and I had the impression he thought we'd concocted the whole thing.
The stay cost us about £1800 and I dearly wish we'd stayed on Collins Ave instead.
So! If you actually want to sleep during your stay and don't want open access to your (grubby) room, I'd choose another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Located right across the beach, this hotel is a good place to stay. Their suite rooms are well equipped with all facilities including a fully equipped kitchen. Although their is no lobby and a very small front desk but since it is located in a nice nightlife area so the access is easy and you have quiet a few nice eating joints around the hotel. The hotel provides facilities at the beach and so it becomes easy for the family to enjoy the beach. A small pool is available on the terrace. Overall it is a good place to stay in case you are on a beach holiday.

Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach
Strand Ocean Drive
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.