We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #81 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Winter Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was looking for a cozy stay that was not going to eat away at my pocket, but still provide great service and amenities. This modern Hotel was a peach. It was beautiful, clean and the staff was very professional. A bit surprising was the price for valet and the resort fee. I'm guessing anything on the beach would be similar.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to write us and are so pleased to hear you had a great experience with us! Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    315
    140
    109
    91
See reviews for
115
402
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Pros:First off the staff does a very good job at being at your service. Anytime you need something they are quick to respond. Louis was the guy in particular I remember being so helpful when we had a room issue that was resolved by the lady at the front desk. I wish I could remember her name as well.....she worked the early morning shift. She ended up giving us a better room option at no additional charge. They had a happy hour from 5-6 on the roof top bar with free well drinks and Miller Lite. They are located in the heart of So Be which also gives you direct access to the true experience. They also have a pool at the roof top bar which is nice to cool off in. Our room had a mini kitchen that was good for preparing some simple food items.

Cons:Hotel was very noisy in the early morning hours. We were there 3 nights and each night/morning we were awaken several times by other guest either outside or in the hall ways. I know most people are there to party, I guess we are the minority that traded in party shoes for sunrise running ones! They charge a resort fee per day, per person, on top of the room rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the tropical side of the hotel were louder because of the side street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate everything you mentioned and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

After reviewing different hotels, we decided to stay at the Congress Hotel. It's close to all the action of South Beach. If you don't like excitement, stay further north. This is exactly where we wanted to be (walking distance to Mangos, Wet Willies, Beach, Bike and Roll place on 10th, and so much more).
We stayed in room C503. It was similar to the pictures online. The room had a small kitchen area, connected to the living area, a separate bedroom, bathroom (with nice tub/shower combo), and a balcony. It wasn't on the beach side, however, you could see the beach (side view). We were by the ac units, but it wasn't loud. Housekeeping did have to give us new sheets/cover for the futon. I think they forgot to change that out. They also gave us plenty of towels/washcloths upon request.
The roof top pool was small and area was small, but it seemed relaxing. We didn't use it (just took pics). There's only one elevator and it's not real big, but I think it's normal size.

When we arrive, this younger lady assisted with check in. She didn't want to let us check in early. She messed up our payment and basically pissed me off. So, I asked the other lady to help us. Her name is Stephani. She was very accommodating. She let us check in almost 3 hrs. early (other girl said nothing was available and there was nothing she could do, but take our bags). Stephani also let us stay 2 hours after checkout (waiving the $50 fee for late checkout). She fixed our bill and was just plan friendly. If you go here, look for her name tag.

Lastly, it costs $25 to park, daily. Make sure you get the parking ticket, from the parking people behind the Congress. Weekend parking is like $ 50 daily. It was worth it. Valet is $35 daily plus tax. When you ride around, parking is like $10. So, you're going to pay to park.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here. I gave it 4 stars because of Stephani, the room, and it's SOUTH BEACH. It lost a star because of the young hotel check in girl, having to get new sheets, and lighting in the room (needs more).

Room Tip: Stay in Main Building (Contemporary).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much! We are happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and all of the wonderful things to do around our hotel! We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

First time in Miami half business/ half vacation by myself. I was blown away by how nice and helpful the staff was! In particular, Louis gave great recommendations and always made sure everything was handled professionally and efficiently.

Thank you so much for an awesome experience!! I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request a fan to drown out restaurant noise from Ocean Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review! We appreciate everything you said and are very pleased to hear you had a great experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Me and my boyfriend live in berlin and this was our sencond trip to miami. But the congress hotel is so much better then our last hotel! The service is really good and the bellmen are all so friendly! Louis was there on our first day and he help us with our bags and then everytime we needed a taxi he called one for us. :)
we really really like the hotel and enjoy our vacation a lot!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear you had a great experience and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent 1 night at the end of April that we had purchased via Priceline. We stayed here for a cruise out of Miami the next day. We love South Beach and visit each year. This hotel has a great location and the room was nice size and well appointed. However, the sleep quality was not good due to inadequate light control on the windows and noise (we had requested a quiet room).

Room Tip: Avoid room at back. It had windows on 2 walls that let in a lot of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us. Miami is a lively city, so we apologize about your sleep quality. We appreciate everything you said and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the congress hotel for two weeks and we liked it a lot! The pool was great and the beach is really close!
Louis the bellman was really friendly and help us with everything we needet. It was our first time in miami and he show us a lot of places were we can go, i wish more bellmen would be like him!
I'll stay there again for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We love hearing the great experiences our guests' have and we appreciate you taking the time to write yours! We look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.