We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book direct & Save 30%!
Ranked #83 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had to extend our trip to Miami due to flight cancellation. We lucked out by finding a room for a very reasonable price at the Congress. While waiting for our room to be ready we spent several at the amazing roof top pool where Christy the bartender took very good care of us. The view was amazing. Very impressed with the room and staff as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    292
    130
    105
    82
See reviews for
106
381
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We rented our apartment at the Congress Hotel through a 3rd party via Homeaway. The apartment was beautiful and the management company was very helpful and accommodating. We had an ocean front apartment with 2 balconies overlooking Ocean Drive.

Once we checked-in, the service went downhill. The hotel staff seemed to have no concern for the condo units. One morning the water wasn't running in the shower and the toilet. The front desk's response was that it was a condo unit and it was managed separately. Obviously the staff doesn't know that plumbing isn't confined to a particular unit. They told me that I needed to contact the management company since it was not their unit. Really? Through conversations I learned that the unit above, 501, was undergoing renovations. Since we were in 401, it was essentially a problem of contractors turning off the water in the tier. We solved that problem through persistent conversations with a hotel maintenance worker on site with no help from the front desk.

Now let's talk about the noise. We discovered that the unit was in the midst of party central; with most of it generated by the hotel itself from a nightclub at street level and a DJ at the pool on the roof. The first night I did not sleep at all. The music and revelers were so loud that it sounded like it was coming from the next room. We had to buy earplugs for the remainder of our stay.

If you want a relaxing Miami vacation, don't choose the Congress Hotel. The staff could care less about your comfort. The business model seems to be not from alcohol sales and not from hotel revenue. We were definitely expendable.

For the same price of our lovely apartment, you will be able to find a nicely appointed room in an upscale hotel in which you can actually sleep.

As for the apartment, it was very nice. It had all the comforts of home. Despite how nice the unit was, we could not recommend this hotel due to the service and the noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located at the prime area in south beach - in the middle of all the actions. The room is very clean and spacious! The roof top pool is small but it's worthy to go up there to check out the view. I will stay there again when i return to Miami for sure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bathroom has a rain drop shower which is AMAZING! I would stay here again. The free Happy Hour at the bar does not serve top shelf liquor and the daily resort fee is a pocket breaker, and at front desk they give out free Apples and a glass of Sangria ,Overall, i had a good time.

Room Tip: Ocean's 10 restaurant has Great Food and Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Kelvin and Giselle made our stay FABULOUS!! We stayed in a gorgeous room with a view of the ocean from both of our balconies. We had the best of both worlds at this hotel. There is always a party in this area with music, drinks and food. But the sweet atmosphere of our room was a wonderful retreat, as well
. Across the street is the gorgeous beach where we stayed most of the day time. My husband and I went for the 1/2 marathon and everything went perfectly.

Room Tip: If you put in a request and are patient you can get one of the rooms with a balcony if that's im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

myself and two friends stayed here for one night after getting off a cruise. the room was magnificent and the staff were amazing. We checked in on 1/31 and I wish I could have gotten the staff's names but they were all great from the young man that kept our bags and then later delivered them to our room to the young lady that couldn't check us in (our fault - we were early) but sent us up to the roof top pool (amazing views and a bar!!!) to the gentlemen on the evening shift that helped print out our boarding passes for our flights. And a big THANK YOU to Francisco who helped us get a cab to the airport at 4 a.m.!!!! I will never stay anywhere else in SOBE because the Congress Hotel will have my business every time I'm in town!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My friend and I stayed here from 1/23-1/27. We checked in and the guy at the front desk, Kelvin was very nice. He gave us a very large room on the third floor in the main building. The balcony was the biggest I had ever seen and overlooked the beach which was really cool. The room was clean and very spacious. The maid service was really good, they would clean but not move our stuff around. The location was perfect, it was close to everything.

The only things I didn't like was that the lock on our balcony door was broken and it would just swing open randomly, which was very annoying when it was so loud outside and we were sleeping. We finally had to tie it shut with a bag.
The room didn't have blackout curtains which made it hard to sleep when you were trying to recover from a long night out.
The elevator was excruciatingly slow.
It was always way too cold in the hallways and the room. We weren't able to adjust the temperature, only turn the unit off in our room.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. The staff was really friendly and the hotel was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.