We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service As Always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$15 Pool Bar Credit/Stay
Ranked #69 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service As Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After stumbling upon this cute hotel in February due to a slew of hotel debacles by an incompetent travel agency , we knew we had to come back. This time we enjoyed the most magnificent view of the ocean from the congress hotel rooftop pool.
The staff was friendly and the room was amazing.
Eleanor (manager) was extremely helpful with accommodating our needs.

Great location in the heart of south beach
Pool party with DJ most weekends
Beautiful balconies and views

We will definitely be coming back in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
The staff at the Congress Hotel South Beach wants to thank you for being a repeat guest and for sharing the details of your visit to our hotel on TripAdvisor. At the Congress Hotel South Beach, we pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are so glad that you were able to experience this first hand.

We hope to see you soon!!

Sincerely,

Eleonor C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    263
    122
    96
    76
See reviews for
95
360
44
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked and paid for a three night stay at this hotel 10 months in advance. On arrival (At night) we were told there was an issue with rooms and they could not accommodate us. We were moved to a different hotel which was nice enough but had no pool and no view from room.

I have no way of knowing if there was a genuine problem with the rooms or if they over booked.

I have to rate this hotel as terrible as trip adviser does not allow a review to be posted without a rating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at the Congress Hotel South Beach. During the month of September we did block several rooms due to maintenance issues and had to move reservations to another hotel. We ask that next time you are in Miami you stay at the Congress Hotel South Beach so that you can experience what we are about. Feel free to contact me at eceballos@congresshotelsouthbeach.com if you further wish to discuss your reservation.


Sincerely,
Eleonor Ceballos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came to South Beach to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and after seeing many reviews and pics of other hotels in SOBE, we selected the Congress Hotel. We loved the room, the location and the free drinks on the rooftop for guests during happy hour! The staff was great and attentive to three singles ladies who were in a town we didn't know much about. We had only heard how great SOBE was from word of mouth. In addition, I have to share how safe I felt after my encounter with the head of security, Mr. Velez. The girls and I went to a rooftop party at a neighboring hotel and returned back to the Congress pretty late on our first night there. There were a few guys near the elevator that takes guests directly to their residing floors. The guys appeared to either not have a key to their room, or, did not stay at the hotel at all. The guys attempted to "piggyback" on the elevator with us to get entry to guest floors. We didn't know it but Mr. Velez was watching them the whole time. It turns out, after Mr. Velez approached the guys, that one of them did indeed stay there, the others were his friends, and the one residing at the Congress was too embarrassed to admit he had misplaced his hotel access key. It's good to know that someone like Mr. Velez is making sure guests are not only satisfied with their stay but safe, secure and comfortable as well. Bravo to the staff at the Congress and V&V Protection Services, Mr. Velez’ Security Company! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
The entire staff at the Congress Hotel South Beach wants to thank you for your fantastic review. We take pride in providing excellent customer service and making sure all of our guests are safe and secure.

Thank you
Eleonor Ceballos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 as a girls holiday, 4 of us shared one room which was an excellent size. Hotel is in an excellent location.

Love the roof top pool and also the fact you receive complimentary beds and towels on the beach (saved us 20$ a day) staff in the hotel were lovely and extremely helpful.

Self catering amenities were good not that we used anything other than the fridge

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
The entire staff at the Congress Hotel South Beach is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the hotel. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service and after reading your review it seems that we are doing just that.

We can’t wait to have you back at the Congress Hotel South Beach, your home away from home...

Sincerely,

Eleonor Ceballos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to South Beach to celebrate our 20yr wedding anniversary. The Congress Hotel was definitely the right place to stay! There were so many wonderful aspects to this hotel I don't know where to start! Room: It did not disappoint. Equipped with a mini fridge/freezer, dishwasher, and small range we found it to be well worth the charge. The bed and pillows were nice and comfy...The bathroom was perfect! The entire room had a resort feel to it!! We had to remind ourselves we were still in the States!! After a trip to Whole Foods our fridge was stocked just like at home.. Location: The hotel is practically on top of the beach and located in the heart of the South Beach party atmosphere!! If you are traveling to SoBe for a fun-filled time, the Congress Hotel is perfect for you. Staff: Brandon, the bar manager, makes the best sangria on earth!! My husband is not a wine drinker but found himself returning for several cups of the complimentary sangria... Brandon was fun to hang out and chat with...It wasn't just because he was working either.. We saw him while we were out and about on Collins St and he was just as friendly.. Eleonor was absolutely incredible!! She made us feel like we were part of the family! She seemed to do everything within her power to make our anniversary stay one that we would never forget. She offered tips on fun things to do... We even booked a land and water tour through the hotel (recommended by Eleonor) where we sailed the yaht with the captain!! Thanks Eleonor!! The bartender Amy was also fun and friendly!! The GM, Julio, was always around and seemed genuinely concerned that we have a blast! Sarah: Housekeeping was great!! Sarah and the others were extremely friendly and always willing to wait until we were ready to leave before cleaning...Thanks for your patience Sarah!!! We also appreciate you running the dishwasher while we were out.. :-) Vegas was our spot until we met South Beach and the Congress Hotel! We were at the hotel July 11th-16th...It's now September but we're writing this review...That should speak volumes about this hotel and our stay!! We look forward to returning soon with our friends!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for recently being our guest and for the review!

I am so happy that you had such a wonderful time with us. Our staff works hard to consistently exceed our guest's expectations in the warmest and friendliest manner.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Sincerely,

Eleonor Ceballos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Congress is located in the middle of SOBE, right where all the action is. The minute you walk out of your room, you are in the middle of it all. They have separate properties and if you book the junior suite, you will be placed in another building. This is probably the only negative as when you are walking to the other building you feel you are missing out on something until you get to your room. The room is very spacious and has up to date furniture and everything really. All rooms seem to have a balcony, which i did not really expect. The bathroom is great and most of all the room is super clean and neat. Cant beat this place. This is first night with 5 to go. Looking forward to a good 5 nights in SOBE.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank You so much for your review! All of us here at The Congress Hotel have a great time taking care of our guests and making sure they have a wonderful hotel experience. We are also happy that you were able to take advantage of our prime location here in South Beach - it really makes it so easy to relax, party, explore, and enjoy yourself with ease! Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you

Eleonor Ceballos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can't say enough good stuff about the staff. They were attentive, helpful and super friendly. I was at the hotel with my 7 year old son, not their typical guests as this hotel is right in the heart of south beach. There was a mixup with our reservation and they had us down for the following weekend. They fixed it quickly and gave us an upgraded room with a kitchen away from the main building (perfect so we could sleep even when the roof pool party was happening.) The kitchen was great. The room itself was clean and spacious. The sliding doors to the bathroom would not close and lock easily. The furniture is very ikea which doesn't wear well over time. The sheets were clean though the blankets were more motel quality than hotel quality. Our bedroom didn't have blackout curtains - strange for a such a nightlife place where people might want to sleep in. I mentioned it on the way out and I'm sure it will be fixed by the time anyone reads this. Access to the beach is great and easy. The valet parking is a bit unpredictable. Not a big deal if it takes 20 minutes on weekends, the problem was it could take 5 minutes, 20 minutes or 30 minutes so you never quite knew how far in advance to call. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms not in main building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for recently being our guest and for the review!

We are happy to hear that you and your son had such a wonderful time with us. Our staff works hard to consistently exceed our guest's expectations in the warmest and friendliest manner.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Eleonor Ceballos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.